94 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 8-year-old loves it., November 28, 2008
By 
A. Bengel "abengel" (Harrisville, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
My daughter received this house for her eighth birthday and loves it. I've seen a lot of reviews from people who bought it for a 2-year-old, which I don't understand, because all of the play pieces that go with it would present a choking hazard for such a young child. That said, the only limitation I see is that the rooms could be a little bigger, but that's my observation, not my daughter's. She has no complaints whatsoever. She doesn't do much playing inside the house. Her play mostly involves deciding where everything should go, setting it all up, and shuffling it around until it's just right.

People with limited storage/play space will appreciate the manageable size of this piece. My friend's daughter has a gigantic Barbie castle that looms over any room he puts it in and take up all the space in the room when it's open and being played with. This is a more reasonable size and just as much fun.

The house seems sturdy enough for normal play, and the lights that really light up are very cool. Some people have dogged this product in their reviews, but I think it's a neat little house. More importantly, my daughter really likes it and uses it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality, Timeless Fun, July 2, 2006
By 
Debra K "Mom" (Webster Groves, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
The Town Home is a fine addition to your Calico Critters collection. My daughter got this when she was 2 to go with the mouse family and kitchen set. She then got the baby bedroom and twins...although all of the furniture will not fit in each room, she has always had a fun and easy time playing with it. She puts some of the furniture in the rooms and then plays with a lot of it out in front...the lights are great, it's been very durable and easy for her to open/close and set up herself. Although it's smaller (there are bigger homes if you're purely concerned about space), it's a great option at this price point. She's about to turn 3 and will be getting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 140 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SO SMALL!!!, December 11, 2006
By 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
I bought this townhouse for my daughter last Christmas with high expectations. Man, was i disappointed!!!! Okay, it IS incredibly cute. The pictures on the box make it look perfect, and if that's all you were gonna do with it--look at it--this house would be great. But if you actually want to PLAY with it, which, i'm assuming, is essentially the purpose, then you're just outta luck with this house. There is just NO WAY to fit anything in this house....it's just too small! It's too small in 2 ways: 1) not enough rooms in the house and 2) not enough room in each room--you can't fit all your furniture in there--much less little hands. We mostly just use our Calico furniture out on our dining room table. I'd recommend purchasing a REALLY BIG doll house if you actually want to play with the Critters IN the house. Of course, Calico Critters company doesn't make ANY of their houses big enough, so you'd have to go with a completely different brand of house. That's what i plan to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars snug and cozy, July 13, 2012
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
First, the negatives: You're going to be underwhelmed by the house after seeing the pictures on the box (watch the video in customer images though and it will show you exactly what you're actually getting). We lucked out and found this house at Toys R Us bundled together with 2 critters and some furniture for only $10 more dollars than this house being sold alone. Since they were having a "buy one get one %50 off" we also bought two furniture sets (a living room and a kitchen). With all that, we had plenty of things to put in the house right away. I was annoyed that there is no wallpaper -just an option to "download" wallpaper online. There are complaints about the size, but I find it to be only a *little* too small. It is true that except for the living room, none of the rooms are large enough to hold an entire set of furniture (so we made the living room into the kitchen, since it's busier and needs the space). I haven't had any trouble with the stairs falling off, but I do agree with the reviewer that said using the stairs inside the house will completely block off being able to use whatever room they're next to.

The positives: It's adorable and it's sturdy (we've had no problem with anything breaking or snapping off). It's been wonderful for her vocabulary and attention span; she will play with this for long stretches and I love listening to her narrate her play. And the lights! These amp up the charm significantly. My 3 year old loves to announce that "a storm is coming," close up the house, and then peep through the warm, glowing windows at everyone so snug and cozy. It was very easy to put together and runs on easy-to-find batteries (2 AA's). She also finds it enormously appealing to turn off the lights as she's putting everyone to bed and then turn them back on when it's time to wake up and "make oatmeal." I do wish all 4 rooms had lights; there is 1 light for upstairs and 1 light for downstairs and that lights the whole house when it is closed but not, of course, when it is open and in use. I also wish the lights were LEDs. They seem to be miniature old-school light bulbs and my goodness do they eat batteries (I'm going to follow the suggestion of another reviewer and devote a pair of rechargeables to this thing). But if they could one day sell a pair of replacement LED fixtures that would be fantastic.

Other favorites for your critter world:
Calico Critters Deluxe Kitchen Set This is the cutest of the kitchen sets by far.
Calico Critters Deluxe Bathroom Set A lot happens here as far as my toddler is concerned, so this set gets a lot of use.
Sylvanian Families (Calico Critters) Country Living Room Can't really recommend any living room furniture sets (couches and chairs are just too small to be functional), but these accessories are fun and this set has -to me- the most attractive fireplace.
You can find some amazing stuff by searching for Sylvanian instead of Calico Critters (they're the same company):
Like this beekeeper: Sylvanian Families Beekeeper and Beehive
A mom and baby on a bicycle: Sylvanian Families Cycling with Mother
This reading chair (even adult critters fit in it!): Sylvanian Families Luxury Armchair
Grandmother and her knitting: Sylvanian Families Grandmother at Home Set
Farmers market: Sylvanian Families Farm Shop
So cozy! Sylvanian Families Farm House Accessories Set
And this is probably my favorite house, as outward appearances go (just wish it had a better floor plan) Sylvanian Families Highfields Farm

Last, OXO makes this thing called "tot battery screwdriver" that is awesome; one end is just the right size for changing the house battery and the other end is just right for changing the battery in the fireplace. I can find it on Amazon UK but not US (though I've seen it at brick and mortar stores in the US, which is how I got one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Deluxe Village House Instead, September 10, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
I love the Calico Critters and Sylvanian Families lines and I have since I myself was a child. I think this is a nice house for a collector, but the rooms are too small for a lot of play. The lights are kind of fun, but it's a bit gimmicky. It's a pretty house and it looks great, but the rooms are small.

For a child especially, I would recommend the Deluxe Village House instead of this Townhome because the rooms are much larger and there's easier access for play.Calico Critters: Deluxe Village House
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be prepared to add your own details!, December 8, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
Just wanted to write this as a heads up to other parents out there - I knew the house wouldn't come with furniture or Critters - no problem for us, as my daughter's small carry case is overflowing with the families and accessories she does have. However, I did not realize that the walls were blank! This is not the end of the world if you have a little bit of time and a few extra dollars for scrapbook paper to dress it up yourself, but straight out of the box it is not ready for play or gifting to a young child, IMO. I know we're closing in on the holidays, so if you're short on time, I would definitely recommend you try to choose a house that is ready to go. Otherwise, however, I like the product. It's got some cute detailing, the little lights are sweet, it's compact but the extra floor provides a good amount of room to play. For my younger child, who desperately wanted a dollhouse but is liable to snap right through delicately crafted wooden bannisters, the plastic construction is a nice compromise. If you buy a furniture set or two - the living room, for example - you will get pictures and sconces that can stick on the walls to dress them up as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice play house, August 9, 2010
By 
James (Caldwell, NJ) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
This is very nice place house and can divided into many different rooms. This is small house as they shown in pictures and descriptions "Townhome". There are other bigger houses for people who need more rooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in the details, December 1, 2008
By 
madmax "hill" (Salt Lake City, UT) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
My 3 & 5 year old love this toy! The lights turn off and on in two of the rooms and the accessories and Calico Critters are super cute. It is a little small to fit all the accessories (like the bathroom fits the tub, toilet and small wall sink), but my kids enjoy trading them out and re-decorating any way. There is a bigger version of this one if you prefer more room. They enjoy plaing with all the little rooms and it is better if we elevate it so they can both play. It doesn't open to a 180 flat front, which does sometimes make it difficult for both to play at the same time, but it is very durable and withstands a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super cute Calico Critters townhome!, January 7, 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
We got this Calico Critters Townhome for my 3 yr old daughter....She super love it!!!
She can fit all the Disney mini princess in to the living room and best of all is the living room and upstair bedroom light... it really light up!! Super cool.
But the only problem is the bathroom is too small, but over all the townhome is easy store and good structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not worth the money, December 18, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Calico Critters Townhome (Toy)
we love calico critters, however this house is not worth the money. the house itself is made well. however, the photos lead you to believe that it is this cozy house with wall paper, framed pictures on the walls, and other cute homey details. This is not what you are getting! what you will get is a plastic house, that I will say is made well, with nice detailing on the outside, but absolutely nothing in the inside. It is just blank canvas walls. not one critter included, not one accessory or piece of furniture for $80. So basically you are buying a little plastic empty house. it is very dissappointing when you see the above photos and the critters and the house look so cozy. so, buyer beware. The staircase does not attach well, and doesn't allow the house to close. So if you want to close and store the house, you have to keep the staircase seperately. My eight year old says "when you open the house it looks dull and unwelcoming". The house is made well, but for the amount of money, and the pictures on the box it is very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No