128 of 140 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., December 16, 2009
By 
T. Hough (Carlisle, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I bought this KidKraft dollhouse based upon reviews of the other KidKraft dollhouses (the Annabelle had no reviews then) and because we own the KidKraft Bright & Bold kitchen play set, which my daughters really enjoy and I find to be well-made and sturdy. I bought this particular dollhouse because it had an elevator and a set of stairs, and all 3 floor have "realistic" access (not like the Savannah dollhouse which has no stairway access to the 3rd floor or attic).

That said, I am really disappointed with the quality of this house, particularly in comparison to the kitchen set. The two side wall are made of MDF and the pitched-roof and elevator sidewalls are also thick MDF. The floors and the back wall are all flimsy, cardboard-y type material (super-thin MDF?) that has a sheet of "wallpaper" on them to represent the inside scenes. The floor "boards" have wood runners on the side edges to allow for the back "boards" to be slid in (and to give the dollhouse a more finished look from the front). I will say that the design and materials used for the pitch-roof are excellent. Real wood support pieces, and just an overall nice looking effect. I truly wish KidKraft would have put as much thought into the interior construction elements/materials. I would have certainly been willing to pay more money for thick MDF to have been used throughout the dollhouse, now, however, I will never buy another KidKraft dollhouse, assuming this one does not last nearly as long as I hoped it would when I bought it. I would also beg all dollhouse creators to give-up the gaudy interior sticker/wallpaper designs that they insist on using. What good is it to put a picture of a sofa on the back wall, when the dollhouse comes with an actual sofa? The wall decals can really, and unnecessarily, limit the imagination.

Assembly took a little time--I had some difficulty assembling the elevator and found the diagrams in the instructions very unhelpful--I ultimately had to consult the picture on the box to figure out how to assemble it. As usual, KidKraft did have every piece nicely labeled and everything lined-up precisely. I would also like to note that this dollhouse is designed to be placed up against the wall. They include a kit to secure it to a wall, which people who place this dollhouse on carpet may want to use--I can see the dollhouse being very easy to tip over, and not sturdy enough to survive the crash. The backside is completely white, and there are no window or door cut-outs on the back wall. This too was a big disappointment for me. The girls still play with their Fisher Price Loving Family dollhouse, and their Barbie My House, which has 360-play--doors that open and close, window, etc.--and even though the KidKraft accommodates Barbie dolls, the quality of the Loving Family dollhouse is much superior, as is the My House.

I specifically avoided buying Barbie's 3-story dollhouse with the lights and sounds this Christmas because I was so happy with the quality of the KidKraft kitchen, and really thought their dollhouses would be on par. I don't think they are, and I hope I don't have to turn around and buy the Barbie townhouse because this one doesn't make it past 6-months.

Lastly, I would also say don't let the "manufacturer's retail price" fool you here. There is no way the MRP here is meant to be truthful or accurate, and I believe it is used to manipulate the consumer into thinking they are getting a higher-quality item at a more reasonable rate. This dollhouse should not be priced into the triple-dollar-digits. The quality is just not there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough For My Daughter Is Good Enough For Me!, December 18, 2009
By 
C. Balleza (CHICAGO, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I read the review by T. Hough and I agree and disagree with many points made about the house. The house is not completely made out of wood but once I finished building the house it will not wooble and it's very sturdy and heavy about 40 pounds and since I have flooring and not carpet the house will not tip over. The wallpaper designs are kind of weird but I'm a guy so what do I know about decor and if they desings weren't there the house will look cheap besides my daughter doesn't care. The building instructions could be better written, I built the house by following the instructions and looking at the picture of the house which will be included in the box and it's poster size. I was also considering buying the Barbie Townhouse but I decided not to get it because it's smaller then this house, more expensive, not house realistic and unstable plastic. I bought this kidkraft house for $110 and I believe it's worth it. If you really want a wooden sturdy doll house go to menards and buy wood and build one from scratch. Bottom line: I recommend buying this house. I will give it 4 stars because my daughter is happy with it and that's what really matters to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Doll House for the Value, February 27, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Length:: 0:55 Mins

I bought this KidKraft dollhouse based upon reviews. I have read plenty of reviews on this dollhouse and some people stated that it is not sturdy and the material used in the doll house is cheap...I disagree. The directions to the doll house are not greatly written and it is about an Hour Build Time but since there are many parts to assemble it is sort of expected. I just took my time putting the House together and made sure everything was properly assembled, if you do so you'll surely have a sturdy Doll house. It is a much better product than most plastic doll houses and the Barbie's, Moxie Dolls, and Bratz Dolls also fit very well on the doll house furniture's. I uploaded a small video to show case the Doll house up close and you can see it for yourself that the dollhouse over all has great quality for the $$

Pros: Stands well over 3 ft tall, Sturdy construction and made of wood but(not entirely out of wood) Accommodates all fashion dolls up to 12'' tall. Great buy for the $$

Cons: Expect at least an hour build time and take special care in following the directions since it is not greatly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Barbie House!!, November 8, 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
My daughter has had this almost a year. I'm surprised by the reviews about it not being sturdy. My thoughts are that maybe they didn't put it together right. The directions are a pain, but it's so worth it. My daughter couldn't love it more. I debated on this vs the plastic barbie one and I'm so happy I got this one. It's beautiful, really sturdy, and my daughter loves all the furniture that comes with it. She is 6 now and seriously plays with it everyday! It was the best gift I ever got her, hands down!! I got it from Amazon last year for x-mas and delivery was easy and quick. But be warned it comes in the original package, so your kid will see it if your not careful. I had to make sure I intercepted it or else she would have known what it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great Dollhouse, January 7, 2010
By 
B. Barnes (Baton Rouge, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I love this dollhouse. Easy to assemble, very sturdy, very good quality, great price, and my 4 year old wants to play with it every waking hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful dollhouse!, January 12, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
At first I considered buying a kit and building it for my daughter but then decided I might not have the time to finish it in time for Christmas so I decided to go with this one after comparing it to all the others I could find. Considering price and quality this one is the best I have seen. Several of my daughter's friends have similar houses, however, this one is much prettier and seems overall nicer than the others. It does seem well made. We also have the kidkraft kitchen from last Christmas and that is more durable than the dollhouse, however, my daughter is not very rought with her toys and this one is holding up just fine. The furniture that is included is very nice and the stickers on the wall are cute. It took my husband about two hours to assemble it but everything went together very nicely and all the pieces were labeled and fit perfectly. My daugher plays with it everyday and loves it so it was definately a good choice. Everyone that comes over to play is thrilled to see and play with it and it keeps all the kids busy when they are here. I could not imagine any little girl not being thrilled to have this toy to play with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it no problem to assemble, December 2, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Got this for my girls for Christmas. I was nervous about putting together since I had read the reviews so we started early. My husband and I did it In one hour tens minutes it was a breeze pieces were labeled and everything was there. Very pleased and highly recommend. We even took our time and read the directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lot's of fun!, March 7, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
We bought this as a Christmas gift from Santa for my 4 year old daughter. It was a magical Christmas morning with this huge doll house standing by the tree! It's gigantic but pretty to look at, in my opinion. The colors are girly and the furniture has held up well so far. Regular size barbie dolls definitley can play in the house, however the smaller size child barbie dolls fit better in the furniture. Complaint: The elevator is already ripping off of the wall. It is probably fixable with some super glue... but we've only had it a couple of months, so I am a bit nervous as to how the product will hold up over time.
Also as other reviewers have stated, it does take a very long time to put together!
I would still recommend this doll house as it does get daily play from both my 2 year old son and 4 year old daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars annabelle doll house, January 10, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I bought this doll house for my 6 year old grand daughter . I was very pleased with it. Very well made and nice to look at (a little much decor to the walls) But the wooden funrnture is very nice and its large enough for her barbies . Took awhile to assemble but thats understandable with the 3 floors) I would recommend it to others .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars annabelle review, October 2, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
it is a very nice dollhouse, the only downfall is that it is not very durable, the elevator has broken off already (it is repairable) however slightly disappointing. plus not so easy to put together, my fiance spent x4 consecutive hours putting it together. but all and all our daughter loves it, it is worth the purchase/work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No