115 of 124 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., December 16, 2009
By 
T. Hough (Carlisle, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I bought this KidKraft dollhouse based upon reviews of the other KidKraft dollhouses (the Annabelle had no reviews then) and because we own the KidKraft Bright & Bold kitchen play set, which my daughters really enjoy and I find to be well-made and sturdy. I bought this particular dollhouse because it had an elevator and a set of stairs, and all 3 floor have "realistic" access (not like the Savannah dollhouse which has no stairway access to the 3rd floor or attic).

That said, I am really disappointed with the quality of this house, particularly in comparison to the kitchen set. The two side wall are made of MDF and the pitched-roof and elevator sidewalls are also thick MDF. The floors and the back wall are all flimsy, cardboard-y type material (super-thin MDF?) that has a sheet of "wallpaper" on them to represent the inside scenes. The floor "boards" have wood runners on the side edges to allow for the back "boards" to be slid in (and to give the dollhouse a more finished look from the front). I will say that the design and materials used for the pitch-roof are excellent. Real wood support pieces, and just an overall nice looking effect. I truly wish KidKraft would have put as much thought into the interior construction elements/materials. I would have certainly been willing to pay more money for thick MDF to have been used throughout the dollhouse, now, however, I will never buy another KidKraft dollhouse, assuming this one does not last nearly as long as I hoped it would when I bought it. I would also beg all dollhouse creators to give-up the gaudy interior sticker/wallpaper designs that they insist on using. What good is it to put a picture of a sofa on the back wall, when the dollhouse comes with an actual sofa? The wall decals can really, and unnecessarily, limit the imagination.

Assembly took a little time--I had some difficulty assembling the elevator and found the diagrams in the instructions very unhelpful--I ultimately had to consult the picture on the box to figure out how to assemble it. As usual, KidKraft did have every piece nicely labeled and everything lined-up precisely. I would also like to note that this dollhouse is designed to be placed up against the wall. They include a kit to secure it to a wall, which people who place this dollhouse on carpet may want to use--I can see the dollhouse being very easy to tip over, and not sturdy enough to survive the crash. The backside is completely white, and there are no window or door cut-outs on the back wall. This too was a big disappointment for me. The girls still play with their Fisher Price Loving Family dollhouse, and their Barbie My House, which has 360-play--doors that open and close, window, etc.--and even though the KidKraft accommodates Barbie dolls, the quality of the Loving Family dollhouse is much superior, as is the My House.

I specifically avoided buying Barbie's 3-story dollhouse with the lights and sounds this Christmas because I was so happy with the quality of the KidKraft kitchen, and really thought their dollhouses would be on par. I don't think they are, and I hope I don't have to turn around and buy the Barbie townhouse because this one doesn't make it past 6-months.

Lastly, I would also say don't let the "manufacturer's retail price" fool you here. There is no way the MRP here is meant to be truthful or accurate, and I believe it is used to manipulate the consumer into thinking they are getting a higher-quality item at a more reasonable rate. This dollhouse should not be priced into the triple-dollar-digits. The quality is just not there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough For My Daughter Is Good Enough For Me!, December 18, 2009
By 
C. Balleza (CHICAGO, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I read the review by T. Hough and I agree and disagree with many points made about the house. The house is not completely made out of wood but once I finished building the house it will not wooble and it's very sturdy and heavy about 40 pounds and since I have flooring and not carpet the house will not tip over. The wallpaper designs are kind of weird but I'm a guy so what do I know about decor and if they desings weren't there the house will look cheap besides my daughter doesn't care. The building instructions could be better written, I built the house by following the instructions and looking at the picture of the house which will be included in the box and it's poster size. I was also considering buying the Barbie Townhouse but I decided not to get it because it's smaller then this house, more expensive, not house realistic and unstable plastic. I bought this kidkraft house for $110 and I believe it's worth it. If you really want a wooden sturdy doll house go to menards and buy wood and build one from scratch. Bottom line: I recommend buying this house. I will give it 4 stars because my daughter is happy with it and that's what really matters to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Barbie House!!, November 8, 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
My daughter has had this almost a year. I'm surprised by the reviews about it not being sturdy. My thoughts are that maybe they didn't put it together right. The directions are a pain, but it's so worth it. My daughter couldn't love it more. I debated on this vs the plastic barbie one and I'm so happy I got this one. It's beautiful, really sturdy, and my daughter loves all the furniture that comes with it. She is 6 now and seriously plays with it everyday! It was the best gift I ever got her, hands down!! I got it from Amazon last year for x-mas and delivery was easy and quick. But be warned it comes in the original package, so your kid will see it if your not careful. I had to make sure I intercepted it or else she would have known what it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it no problem to assemble, December 2, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Got this for my girls for Christmas. I was nervous about putting together since I had read the reviews so we started early. My husband and I did it In one hour tens minutes it was a breeze pieces were labeled and everything was there. Very pleased and highly recommend. We even took our time and read the directions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars annabelle review, October 2, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
it is a very nice dollhouse, the only downfall is that it is not very durable, the elevator has broken off already (it is repairable) however slightly disappointing. plus not so easy to put together, my fiance spent x4 consecutive hours putting it together. but all and all our daughter loves it, it is worth the purchase/work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was a hit last Christmas!, October 8, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
We have a little girl (now 5), and we got this for her last Christmas. She plays with it constantly. Standard Barbie dolls and Bratz dolls can stand in the house, which is great. I left the man with the instructions, and he did not complain about it being hard to assemble, which means the PICTURES told the story accurately. =P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!, December 25, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I LOOOOOOVE my daughter's dollhouse and so does she...so amazing and worth every penny. The durable woodwork is beautiful and we know that this dollhouse will become a family heirloom! I highly recommend for that special young lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great doll house for barbies. Sturdy., November 19, 2013
By 
Quirkymama23 (Mountlake Terrace, WA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Assembly was easy enough, about what I expected. Took 1.5 hours. LOVE this doll house. The furniture is high quality and my 7 year old loves it. Great size for barbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, November 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
My daughter has been using this for years and it has held up. It is very sturdy and has provided many hours of fun for her. It will be able to be passed on after she grows out of it for many more years of fun. Well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Doll House for the Value, February 27, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Annabelle Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Length:: 0:55 Mins

I bought this KidKraft dollhouse based upon reviews. I have read plenty of reviews on this dollhouse and some people stated that it is not sturdy and the material used in the doll house is cheap...I disagree. The directions to the doll house are not greatly written and it is about an Hour Build Time but since there are many parts to assemble it is sort of expected. I just took my time putting the House together and made sure everything was properly assembled, if you do so you'll surely have a sturdy Doll house. It is a much better product than most plastic doll houses and the Barbie's, Moxie Dolls, and Bratz Dolls also fit very well on the doll house furniture's. I uploaded a small video to show case the Doll house up close and you can see it for yourself that the dollhouse over all has great quality for the $$

Pros: Stands well over 3 ft tall, Sturdy construction and made of wood but(not entirely out of wood) Accommodates all fashion dolls up to 12'' tall. Great buy for the $$

Cons: Expect at least an hour build time and take special care in following the directions since it is not greatly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No