44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the non-light up version!, November 6, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
First week this was out it was on my daughter's wish list and was received as a gift - in intial descriptions of the toy there was no mention of the body of the doll (hips/leg) being unlike your traditional Barbie. The torso of the doll under the long skirt (not mentioned in descriptions nor pictured on the box) are one solid piece - holding the bulky sound/light box which were the selling feature of this toy to my tot. Upon opening we were soon disappointed to learn this Barbie would never be able to be interchangable into other Barbie outfits that were not loose flowing on the legs like the dress she comes in and the legs are not flexible. Her bodice, as seen in box, is painted on so even removing the skirt for another Barbie would mean finding another top to wear with it. She can bend to sit but will fall over backwards as her legs are a very lightweight plastic and the top is more top-heavy. Weeks after this was released we began seeing the version that does not light up but has an almost identical dress which is removable and has the traditional Barbie body with all it's versatility and flexible joints.

Overall a beautiful idea - stunning gown and facepaint. But if this was the final model that would accept the lights/sound features going for it should have been clearly stated by Mattel that it was not underneath a traditional Barbie. She is only good in this one outfit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, September 21, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
My three year old BEGGED for this Barbie. She received it last night and has already managed to loose the little buckle that makes the barbie play and light up. Other disappointing features include the fact that the dress is essentially attached to the doll. The body of the barbie is rather bulky (with a large soundbox built into the bottom and "plastic skirt" portion of the doll. As a result of the construction the legs do not move, nor do the knees bend. Personally, for the price, this doll is poorly made, lacking basic expected "Barbie" function, and is easily broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MAJOR DESIGN FLAW, November 26, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
IF YOUR CHILD WILL ACTUALLY PLAY WITH THIS DOLL- DO NOT GET IT. THE BELT BUCKLE FALLS OFF REALLY EASILY AND ONCE IT DOES, THE DRESS WILL NOT LIGHT UP ANYMORE. It is a very pretty doll and would look good as part of a collection but if you have a younger child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange Barbie, but my daughter loves her!, May 23, 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
Barbie Fashion Fairytale was much hoped-for at our house during the Christmas season, but it really fell short in my expectations of how a Barbie should be. While the light-up features of the dress' bodice are cute, the actual Barbie cannot do much of what you would expect from a Barbie: change clothes, move legs to dance/ride horses, try on shoes, etc. The legs do not move and are attached together in the thigh area by a speaker box so that Barbie can play "hip" music. The hot pink sparkle dress is beautiful, but the bodies is painted onto the top of Barbie and cannot be removed. The dress turns and reverses to light pink satin, which is not as cute. There is a silver buckle that you can push to have Barbie light up and play music. Our buckle fell off within 2 minutes of the doll being used, and now it always falls off unless it is being held on tightly...very much at risk of being lost and losing the ability to then play the music on the doll. Overall, a novelty Barbie: fun, but lacking the play-value of other Barbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loves this doll, April 2, 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
Very pretty doll. My daughter loves it. It has held up well. She has had it for about 2 years and it still works perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter loved it., March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
Ordered this as a Christmas gift for my granddaughter and she was very happy with it. I was pleased with the quality of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT WORTH THE PRICE, December 14, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
JUST LIKE SOMEONE ELSE MENTIONED IF YOU LOSE THAT BELT THING YOU CAN'T MAKE THE BARBIE LIGHT UP AGAIN AND MY DAUGHTER WHO IS 6 LOST IT THE FIRST DAY SHE PLAYED WITH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Cool, May 7, 2014
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
My daughter has this doll. The dress transformation is lots of fun. The belt buckle for the light up torso and music fell off easily but my daughter instead uses a toothpick to click the button then hides the pick in the dolls hair, as she put a second rubber band halfway down her ponytail so that it stays in. Very pretty and great to play with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Fashion Fairtale Doll for my Granddaughter's Christmas, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
I got the doll for my granddaughter for Christmas. It looked beautiful but the batteries did not work.
I ordered another doll. It came the same way. I sent back one but it was so close to Christmas that I gave her the other doll that makes no sound either or lights up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, July 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie A Fashion Fairytale Transforming Fashion Doll (Toy)
These must be so much fun for little girls. My granddaughter will be very pleased with hers. There a great addition to the books and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No