61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy This Toy, September 25, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
We paid $26.99 for this at Target, because we couldn't find it at Toys R Us. I wonder if it is because this is a toy guaranteed to be returned as soon as it's taken out of the box. In fact, we had more fun trying to take it out of the box than we actually did playing with it.

First, it looks ok, but you'll soon see that Barbie isn't able to bend very well into the sink, so you'll wind up holding her at a ninety degree angle in order to lean her back.

As another reviewer said, you can't open the container where you're supposed to put in the soap fully, so that's cumbersome, which would be ok, I guess, if this toy was intended for 40 year old moms to play with. Then, exactly like another reviewer said, the lines were kinked, so the cheap pump that you use to pump the water/soap combo barely dribbled the soap out and then stopped completely. You wind up with a handful of Barbie bent into the sink with about six drops of suds muddying up the color in her hair. You know what IS fun? The fact that you then take Barbie over to your kitchen sink and accidentally but enjoyably douse her face with the shampoo you squirted into her hair so you could finally wash out the stripes you painstakingly tried to color on with a marker. Then you waterboard her under the tap. And voila, Barbie is clean. And wet. And messy. And all ready to return to Target.

This toy doesn't work. It's cheaply made and too expensive. Save your money by spending 4 bucks on a cheap Barbie at the drugstore, wash her hair under the faucet with some shampoo, and buy yourself a pizza instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great toy to make your daughter cry... Bad Mattel, September 18, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
The idea of this toy is great for a little girl..

The issues is that you must mix shampoo which is easy however the water barely dribbles out of the tap the soap does not come out.

The pump to get the water and soap is a finger pump which is a poorly made and just lets the water dribble..

The hair color makers are a great idea and that part gets a 8/10 not a 10 as they are a little hard to control as the colors run on other hair...

So you can easily color the hair but do not think that you can actually wash the hair we can not even get the soap to come out when it is replaced with water...

basically the barbie and hair color is OK, the Salon that you are paying the money for will not work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 6 year old niece loves this!, September 25, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
My niece got this for her birthday today, and she's having a blast. The part with the mirror is flimsy, but the sink and chair, the parts that actually get played with, are sturdy enough. Barbie fits well in the chair, almost snaps in, and her head and the chair bend back so that when my niece rinsed her hair the water went in the sink. And the knees bend way better than the Barbie knees of my childhood!

It took a few tries for my niece to be able to get the hair where she needed it to be, pump the water pump, and hold the sprayer, but she figured it out.

The markers worked much better on wet hair, but they worked ok on dry hair if she went over it a few times.

I didn't have any trouble with the shampoo, but in the directions it said to mix it 1 part shampoo to two parts water. Because of the other reviewers that had trouble with the shampoo, I diluted it to the consistency of water. It still sudsed a little, and my niece was happy. The hoses come kind of kinked, but were fairly easily unkinked. I do wish it were packed better so this wouldn't happen.

One thing that isn't in the instructions is that the containers for the soap and clean water are not made to come all the way out. Only the container for the dirty water comes all the way out. I had to make sure my niece didn't pull them out, because I think that would have broken it.

The markers do seem to stain, so I'd wear a paint shirt and cover your surface with an old towel before you play, inevitably the water spills.

It comes with two elastics (hair pretties in our world), but you might want to have more on hand, they were tricky to get on there. Also, my niece wanted 6 braids because she just turned six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shampoo Pump Didn't Work -- Here's how to fix it..., November 4, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
So like the other reviewers, my daughter got this as a gift - and she was so excited. The water pump worked, but the shampoo didn't. I read the instructions, and they were not helpful in the least. So I looked online, and read about the foaming handsoap (which is great by the way), but that didn't fix my problem.

But here's the solution for mine.

Symptom: I could feel resistance when I pushed down on the "water" pump, but there was no resistance when it was turned to the "shampoo." So it was either a hose completely undone, or something else. I filled the "shampoo" bucket with water, and there was no leak. I took out the "purple" bucket (sink water catch) and looked inside -- you need to pull the shampoo bucket out as much as you can. If you look inside, the front left corner near the "finger pump" has two cylinders (like a car). When you twist the finger pump, the plastic piece goes over (on top) of the cylinder...

In my case, the shampoo cylinder was too high, and the plastic piece couldn't get on top. Therefore, there was no resistance, yet no water leak.

Solution: With the purple bucket out, work your finger into the front left corner, and just push the shampoo cylinder down a bit. Then twist the finger pump, and it worked. It's now working fine.

Hope that helps everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Eagle, January 29, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
This toy is terrible - does not work at all! Very very disappointing....not worth the money at all! Do not waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Barbie!, January 7, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
My daughter and I have soo much fun playing with this Barbie! Being a hairstylist my little girl is always wanting to be like me so this barbie is perfect for that! We absolutely love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves it, January 2, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
My daughter got this for Christmas and I had my doubts if it would really work but, it does!!! The shampoo and water comes out like it's supposed to and the water drains down the sink. The color looks great in the doll's hair. My daughter is really enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foaming Soap saved the day, December 25, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
My 6 yr old received this as a Christmas present today. She was very excited to play with it, but disappointed when her Mom couldn't figure out how the shampoo works. Like others, I had trouble with the shampoo coming out. Until I tried using foaming hand soap. It worked perfectly!! It took a while to get it going, but once it did, it was a lot of fun to shampoo and wash her hair. Hopefully my foaming soap tip will help others with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible barbie product, December 29, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
What a disappointment this toy was. One of the markers was dried out, and the water for the rinse side would not come out. The design of this plastic piece of junk is awful. You cannot remove the containers that hold the soap and water to even try and troubleshoot what is going wrong (not that you should have to on a brand new toy) My daughter did not want to part with the barbie, so we basically came away with one extremely overpriced barbie doll and the rest will go in the trash. Barbie will not be getting our business for anything other than the plain barbie without all the junk that only disappoints young girls. Shame on you Mattel...did anyone in your company even try and see if this would work before you sold it? I rarely write reviews, but felt if I could keep one little girl from the major disappointment she will feel, it was my obligation. I should have checked the reviews myself before purchasing. Do yourself and your little one a favor and pass on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, December 29, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Hairtastic Color And Wash Salon Playset (Toy)
My soon-to-be 7 yr old really wanted this for Xmas. I was hesitant to purchase due to the other negative reviews, but was pleasantly surprised when my daughter played with it the 1st time with no problems whatsoever. We used her bubble bath for the shampoo and followed the directions to a tee: 1 part bubble bath/shampoo to 2 parts tap water. We stirred it up and added to the toy shampoo bin. Then we added tap water for the toy water bin. I will admit that both bins are hard to open and pull all the way out since the tubes are connected from the bins to the respective spray nozzles. One nozzle for shampoo; the other for water to rinse. We had no problem putting the Barbie's head under the nozzles to shampoo and rinse. I did need to assist in holding the Barbie on the chair, but my daughter really enjoyed coloring the hair and then shampooing and rinsing the colors away. A lot of fun! The chair also swivels 360 degrees from the basin to the mirror so that was neat. Beware though that you will need to frequently pour out the dirty water (the middle bin) so that it does not overflow and leak all over the playset. Overall, both mommy and daughter loved it. A cute purchase. Daughter also cited that she loved it and how much fun it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No