57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Greedy Mattel, December 15, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
Mattel either missed the point with this toy, or they are very, very greedy. The two basic Create-A-Monster kits only come with one doll torso--the main body, and one wig. But there are enough other body parts for two dolls. The add on kits are missing both a torso and the upper arms and thighs. If you were thrilling at the chance to create your own versions of some of those neat background characters that are shown in the cute Monster High cartoons, this kit will be a big disappointment. You are going to have to shell out for a basic kit for every permanent doll you want to create. Greedy, greedy Mattel! This kit pretty much can be viewed as a temporary monster Tinkertoy set.

As for the parts themselves, they are easy to stick together, but fit rather loosely, making it hard to get the doll to hold a pose. This makes me wonder how these connections will hold up over time and reuse. I would expect them to become looser and looser. The wigs have a band around the hairline that tends to show unless you brush the hair out very carefully. Also, please note that the cute werewolf ears that come with this kit are essentially barrettes that you fasten onto the hair. Be aware that you are not going to be able to use the thigh and upper arm parts with regular Monster High dolls because they have the arms and legs attached with elastic, not the pegs used in the kits. I have not experimented with trying to put the heads, lower arms or lower legs on the standard dolls. Since there is only one torso in each basic kit, and only one of the sets of limbs match it in color, you are going to have to accept the 'chimera' looks of dolls with two-tone body parts. I didn't find this aesthetically pleasing.

I am holding out hope that Mattel will get enough negative feedback about this product that they will start providing more torsos and wigs for these kits. As I said, greedy, greedy Mattel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really Mattel?, December 17, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
Just bought this item grossly overpriced so my daughter may have it for christmas and now Im peeved. It only includes ONE torso! so you think your going to make two very different looking dolls, but thats not the case. The same thing goes for expansion packs. NO TORSO! and the one torso you get will only match one dolls coloring. Seriously mattel couldnt spring for the extra torso? WTH? I would have loved this item if it came with the extra part its cute, creative, and very cool I love the concept but that really annoyed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dragon/Werewolf CAM set, December 25, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
I bought this set for my daughter for Christmas. I was really nervous after reading the bad reviews that the doll would be of terrible quality. I was pleasantly surprised. My daughter is nine and had a lot of fun putting her monster together. She was only interested in the dragon so didn't want to take them apart and rebuild. As soon as she opened the pack and looked at the parts she said, "Oh no, there is no pink body!" so for all those saying that children will not mind the mismatched colors, I do think that some of them do mind. She got over it pretty quickly though because putting the monster together was so much fun. She needed help with the wig, but once it was in properly it felt secure. Overall, I give this 4 stars because the pieces came together nice and securely and my daughter really enjoyed the product. I've taken a star off due to only one torso, mismatched colors, and the lack of extra parts that would allow for more creativity in making a one of a kind monster. I would buy this product again, and will probably get the vampire/sea monster set now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Call BS, March 21, 2012
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
One torso? Really?

I'm all for capitalism, but this is just an intentional rip-off. The packaging in stores is created so you can't tell that there's just one torso. At least the picture here shows it clearly.

Here's what happened to us: someone bought my daughter an add-on pack without realizing that it didn't come with a body. My daughter was so excited about it that I had to go out and get the starter kit so we'd have a body for her add-on pack. And now I have the complete body parts for three dolls... but only one torso. So for nearly 50 bucks, she can create one plastic doll. What, exactly, is she supposed to do with this one doll once it's created? Everyone knows that kids want to act out scenes with their dolls-- which you can't do very well with one doll. So if I want her to be able to have a "doll friend," then I need to buy another entire starter kit.

LAME. Bad faith. Makes me look down on Mattel as a brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea... but Poorly Executed, December 26, 2011
By 
Astral "Astral" (Magnolia, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
This seems like a perfect idea: create your own monsters in the Monster High universe, using a variety of parts and clothing. Unfortunately these kits are pricey ($20 and up for the starter pack). Which wouldn't be a bad deal, except for the fact there are only enough parts to create ONE doll. There is ONE torso, ONE pair of shoes and ONE wig, but enough other parts to make you think you can make two dolls. The dolls you can make look like cheap Monster High knockoffs, even their clothes are not as nicely designed as the "normal" dolls. The wings for the dragon keep falling out, the wig keeps popping off the head, the knee joint pops out if you try to make the dolls "sit", it is difficult to keep the ears clipped on (they clip like a hair clip... really couldn't they have just put holes in the head to push them down into?). The hair was tangled, matted and stuck together, like it wasn't manufactured right, that no amount of brushing could fix. Overall, a very COOL idea, but very POORLY done...
The only real plus to this, is if your kids already have several of one doll (like a Gloom Beach, etc) and want to change her into something different so there aren't multiple Cleo De Niles and Clawdeens populating their Monster High world. For that kind of transformation, this is nice to have, but if you expect to cobble together two dolls out of this set, you will be greatly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but lacks the quality I expected., January 31, 2012
By 
Kindle Customer "Nemi" (Oro Valley, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
I know when I was young, I often wished I could change my dolls - Used to be all I could do was cut the hair! This kit does give you the opportunity to customize your own monster, though in a somewhat limited way. As pointed out by other reviewers, the kit comes with one torso. I however, think makes sense, as it is a kit for one doll with optional parts. The torso is one color, and does not match the pink parts of the dragon. (Simple painting and blending probably could have solved this on Mattel's part.) It also comes with one wig - so you only get fuchsia hair.

The option parts are smooth lavender gray (werewolf) and pink scaled (dragon.) They all fit so you can create any mishmash of the two you like. They connect at the joints much like the original Monster High Dolls, but they are made of a cheaper feeling plastic. While assembling the doll, I nearly broke a knee joint - just from pushing the peg where it was supposed to go! Unfortunately, it makes the toy somewhat flimsy.

The wig is not very durable either. When brushed, the hair starts to come out. The wig that came in my kit was very frizzy looking, the fibers were all tangled, unpleasant to brush and style. The ears of the werewolf are actually hair clips. I personally don't like this idea, as they're sure to get lost, but this is a simple way of attaching them without having to make a special wig.

Pros:
-Kids can have fun customizing their very own doll.
-The addition of a dragon to the MH lineup - wings!
-Unique way of marketing a fashion doll ("Create your own")

Cons:
-The plastic does not feel up to a lot of play.
-The wig cannot be styled certain ways without bald spots.
-Hair is chain-stitched to the wig cap, and pulls out easily when brushed.
-Clothing is tight, and will require the removal of parts.

Overall, the toy is fun to customize, but don't expect any durability. If it sits on a shelf, it will be fine - but if it sees any regular play, be prepared for disappointment when the new monster in school looses a few limbs, and winds up bald (a werewolf with mange, I suppose?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is how Monsters should have been in the first place!, December 17, 2011
By 
K. Reed (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
Would have been 5 stars if there were enough torsos to go around, that is a major bummer. Seriously, Mattel, this is how all the Monsters should have been in the first place because assembling your own creation ala Dr Frankenstien is fun.

I'm speaking as an older buyer and customizer of dolls who doesn't let kids near them, I love the assemble your own Monster idea, and I think a creative and imaginative child old enough for small pieces will too. The parts go together and come apart easily, the heads are soft and can be rooted if you wish but there is a hole about the size of a square pencil eraser for the peg on the wig to fit in to.

Color wise the vampire is just lighter, less pink, than Draculara and the sea monster a rich bluish purple just darker than Abbey, it makes me think of something called blueberry muffin color. The vampire's parts look like any other Monster's, the sea monster has fins built in to her lower arms and legs which you'll need to take off to dress her. The parts, outside of the wrists, feel more sturdy than the average Monster. Both outfits are 2 pieces and fit other Monsters, so do the shoes.

The packaging is a bear, a complicated blister pack, and you'll want very tiny scissors to cut the tiny tags. Would have been nice if it was more of a box to store the pieces, unless they plan to release one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Careful - the box is misleading and you get ONE complete doll not two, November 11, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
My girls are big Monster High fans; so we purchased this one rainy day thinking it would be a fun thing to do. Big mistake - when you have two girls and one toy on a cold, rainy day - this is not an great idea!

Now to be frank - I take some of the responsibility! I did not study the box, nor read the list of contents; had I done so, we would have moved on to another idea. The main issue with this item is the box shows two Monster High dolls on the front, and yes you can make these two dolls, only not at the same time! They very name -"Create a Werewolf AND Dragon" implies you can create two dolls. So ideally they would redo the packaging to make it obvious about the contents of the kit!

The price is close to $20 - for a little more than this you can purchase 2 Monster High Dolls that are remarkably more durable and this works well when there are two kids. To make this kit work, you have to purchase add on kids which raises the price to the point it would just make more sense to buy two dolls - especially as then , you will not run into the issue with finding random hands, legs etc around the house as they do tend to drop off! The dolls are a poor second to the actual complete dolls you purchase. The pieces are small, do not always stay put and the end result is a bit cheap feeling.

Now this has its merits if you go into it knowing that the end product is in no way comparable to the actual dolls - and you have a child that likes to be creative and mix up the looks; but please buy knowing that this is good to make ONE doll at a time and appeals to a creative side rather than being something one would use for play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get Creative!, August 16, 2012
By 
Arashi (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
Alright, so only giving you one set of shoes is an obvious marketing ploy - buy the fashion packs! No biggy. If you're a collector you'll probably do that anyway. If you're a kid playing, you'll also probably do that anyway and if you don't, just switch shoes on the doll. That there's only one wig and (my personal pet peeve with the line) one stand is more mysterious because no matter how many dolls and sets you buy, you will never have enough. People are screaming greed, but personally I suspect it's simply a matter of cost effectiveness there - the CYOM starter packs cost the same as one regular doll, and even in this set you are basically getting two, plus accessories, so cutting back makes sense, especially since a child playing with the dolls is going to be - theoretically - less concerned with the stands. Since this is the only CYOM pack that doesn't have two torsos, I'm not even going to start whining because at the end of the day:

This is a children's toy that is supposed to have mix and match parts!

Yes, there are children who will be deeply dismayed at the miss-matched parts (I was that kind of kid). Mattel goofed there, flat out, but that's a draw back of the entire concept - especially with the expansion packs. It doesn't stop the toys from being fun and effective. Most kids aren't going to let it stop them having a ball.

Yes, it's irritating to the collectors and customizers, but we aren't the target audience. Customizers in particular tend to act like these were made for us, but they weren't, and really, if you're going to rehair the doll anyway who cares if you only have one wig? I've bought all of the starter packs except the Vampire/Gargoyle one, have several near complete customs, and haven't used a single Mattel wig. It's more irritating to figure out what I'm going to do with the ones I have then the fact I don't have twice as many. My only one, real issue is, again, the lack of stands, and even there - I can buy more at my local craft store. Or online. Or any number of places.

I have had no issues with the durability of these dolls. They snap together and come apart quite nicely. Also, this pack had some of my favorite clothing. The black and purple outfit is really lovely and while the green outfit is not as "scaly" as Mattel was probably going for, it's still a neat design and fun to play with.

While it's not my favorite of the packs (that would be the Vampire/Sea Monster - love the Sea Monster head sculpt!), I do not regret buying it in the least, would buy it again, and if I stay in the community, I probably will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves this..., January 6, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Create-a-Monster Werewolf & Dragon (Toy)
Bought this for my 5 year old, who already owns about 15 MH dolls. She liked the idea of creating her own doll. Got it at Target, so I looked at the product and could see that only one torso was included. That means that the doll is interchangeable and that you can make your doll either a dragon or a werewolf or a mix of both, but clearly not two dolls at the same time. So far, joints not loose, wig stays on, outfits are cute. My favorite detail on the dolls are the faces. Clearly, Mattel is not going to give you a torso with the extra packs, then why would you ever buy the "starter pack"? And yes, the body parts are not all going to match in color, but that's part of creating their uniqueness too, a pink body, with blue arms, etc. Yes, Mattel could've been more generous, but that's just how these toy companies are- greedy giving us $2 of plastic parts, for $20, but if you do buy one, your kid will likely be happy like mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No