88 of 100 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shameless price gouging, November 13, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
Even if you grind up this doll and smoke the resulting powder, you will not get close to high enough to pay over $100 for a hunk of plastic that normally retails for $16-20. Mattel has created fake scarcity that benefits hoarders and scalpers at the cost of holiday tears from sad children.

Don't give these scum the time of day, much less 500% markup on a child's toy.

For shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toralei is a great doll!, December 31, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
I got lucky and snagged this one for $22.99 on Amazon, just barely over retail price. I've noticed the ridiculous prices she is going for on here right now, but if you wait it out you'll find her for the right price. Check your local Walmart, Target, Toys'R'Us, Gordman's, Kohl's, Sears, KMart, JCPenney, and Justice as well. I know it's a lot of driving around and online searching to do, but you will find her. As far as the doll itself, she's awesome! I think Mattel stepped it up just a notch on the way Toralei looks compared to some of the others. She's brighter, and her outfit and accessories are bright and bold as well. Her body is a bright orange color, brighter than the pictures indicate even. Her hair is a darker orange than her skin, but also nice and bright, with black stripes in the front. It's hard against her head so there really is no need for the brush she comes with. One of the things I like best about her is the way her eyes have been painted. They are bright green cat eyes, much more noticeable and more well thought out than some of the other dolls' eyes. It's also a change from the other dolls that her hands have little studded gloves painted on them. Very cute! She has a long removable tail. I've read on other reviews that her tail pops out easily, but I have had no such problem. The tail on my doll is sturdy and just adds that much more to the look of her. The only thing I've really noticed different about the Toralei doll and the cartoon is that her nose isn't painted like a cat nose, and she doesn't have fangs painted on, but has both of these in her cartoon version. However, even these things being said, I still give the doll 5 stars. The pictures that are featured of the doll online just don't do it justice, and when you see her up front you will understand. Good luck to all who are still searching, and I hope you enjoy her as much as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toralei Stripe, Monster High's Catgirl, November 17, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
Toralei Stripe is the latest in the long, popular line of Monster High dolls.

Toralei is the daughter of the werecat, though she never really changes forms, she is always as she appears.

It's worth noting there are some visual differences between the doll and the cartoon character. The animated version of Toralei has visible fangs, and a cat-like nose, and no tail. The doll actually has a tail, but has no painted on fangs, and has a normal human nose. Toralei, like all the other dolls in this line, has her own unique face mold, including the fact her ears are nothing like Clawdeen's or Clawd's. In fact, I suspect a lot of the little changes they made to the Toralei doll from her webisode appearance was to help establish that she is not the same kind of creature that Clawd and Clawdeen are.

Toralei comes with a short bob hairstyle that is firmly held in place by thick styling gel. While it is feasible to rinse this gel out, be forewarned that doing so will result in a more "fluffy" hairstyle, and the stripes painted onto her hair will likely fade, and potentially lose some of their cohesion. However, some people prefer the look with the gel washed out, so your mileage may vary.

As noted, she has a tail, and this pops in and out of an anchor in the small of her back for easier dressing. This also means if you find an outfit you really like on another doll in the line, you can just pop Toralei's tail out and she can wear it as normal. (Toralei's unique outfits have holes or velcro available to accommodate her tail.) She has unique hand molds; they have her gloves molded and painted on, but her gloves also have metal studs on them, which makes them different from previous "molded on glove" style hands we've seen.

Toralei's accents all involve stripes, or cat toys in theme. Her purse is especially adorable to me, because it has what is clearly a cat toy (fuzzball with two feathers attached) charm attached to it. She does a good job of standing out and being unique among a whole line of unique dolls. As the other reviewer notes, she is bright orange (her face is actually two tones of orange, though this doesn't always show up well in pics of her), and most of the other dolls in this line are cool colors, like greys, blues, greens, browns, whites, etc. Toralei is definitely one of the brighter dolls, and this isn't a bad thing.

All in all, if you are a fan of the show, or this line, you will probably be really thrilled with her, even if she is a "bad guy", her doll is simply lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous pricing, January 12, 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
Toralei is pretty much the only other basic Monster high doll I want but really? Why would anyone pay over $200 for a doll? Why would anyone make a doll at average worth around $20 ten times that amount? Needless to say while I do really want this doll, I will never want a doll THAT much. Most I'll spend is probably $40. MAYBE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toralei Stripe - Better bought in 2011, October 23, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
Santa brought Toralei to our house last yaer (2011). I happen to know that at the time Santa paid appx $24 for her. She's beautiful with detailed make up, cute bob haircut, nice outfit and comes with a pet - Fang. My daughter loves Toralei but I have to say that these days she's going for $90. No way I would pay that much. She's nice but not that nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars monster doll, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
good doll, but way too expensive. couldn't find it anywhere else. my niece had to have it and then didn't even thank me or really care she got it. way over price and too advantage of the holiday need for it. very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OMG - Got one for under $80, December 4, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
My girls will love these for Christmas. We got lucky and found them for $20 on Amazon before somebody (Scrooge) bought them all and put them for sale for $50+ . I think that is an outrage and I am very upset about it. I hope those people get nothing for Christmas but coal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculously overpriced ,thanks to hoarders and scalpers and of course Mattel, June 30, 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
Not sure why this cheap plastic doll is so expensive other than people buying up all the stock and hoarding them for sale on websites like amazon and ebay.I wouldn't pay 188 for any doll unless its made out of gold. What a complete rip off.Price gouging at its finest,absolutely DISGUSTING.I hope other parents realize what a scam this is and avoid buying this overpriced piece of junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars expensive doll, February 24, 2013
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
This doll is usually 19.99 but instead it's a fortune no regard Will ever purchase this price either put this doll at 19.99 or your never going to get satisfaction kpeesh. This doll is outrageously expensive this is a problem and you should fix it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Toralei!, December 10, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Toralei Stripe Doll with Pet Sweet Fang (Toy)
Toralei was always my favorite monster high, even before she was a doll. She is very wild and cat like. My favorite part is her tail. No other monster high ever had a tail. I love her and play with her every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No