164 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, even if you are a manly man., October 22, 2004
By 
Tommy Jeffers (Pana, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When my wife called me to ask if I minded her getting this video for my three-year-old daughter, I of course told her that it was fine. I knew I would be stuck watching it over and over because my little girl loves to watch things with her daddy. We sat down before bedtime and popped it in the VCR, and I committed myself to being a good daddy and to spending some quality time with my little one. The movie opened with a rip-roaring musical number, and the quality of the computer animation was very impressive. Being a Mark Twain scholar (I did my thesis on Twain), I was expecting a goofy, silly movie adaptation of the story. After all, Barbie is about as interesting to me as fly vomit. However, what I found was a wonder. The story was excellent, but the songs were the best part of the film. The quality of the musical numbers rivals that of any Disney production. The VHS tape came with a CD with all of the major songs on it. My little girl sits and sings them to me and even asks her dad to join in on the "boy parts" of the song. What struck me about the movie most was the excellent character development in this short film. It was, I have to reluctantly admit, wonderful. Princess Annaliese, Erika, King Dominick, Julian, and the two cats are wonderfully portrayed. However, the stand out character is most definitely Preminger. This is a top-notch villain because he dosen't fit the established mold. He is prissy, vain, and feminine. However, he is also sly, conniving, and cruel hearted. His musical number "How can I refuse?" is among the best "villain songs," I have ever heard...bar none. There is also a great subplot involving the cats. Even the minor characters stand out. I've watched the film over and over with my little girl, and I have to admit that I enjoyed it every time. And I don't feel a bit unmanly at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Done, September 28, 2004
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
I just saw this one and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I knew my daughter would love it, but I didn't expect to like it as well. The story was sweet and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My daughter was particularly delighted with the singing. She loves to sing, and musicals lend themselves for repeated encores by my daughter who learns songs faster than I ever could. If you have never watched a Barbie movie, I would recommend you give them a try, especially if you have a little girl in your home. They are much better than what most people who have not watched them think they are. The messages in the movies are positive, and the movies themselves are captivating and well made. As a parent I can say that I do not get as tired of the Barbie movies as I do of most other cartoon movies when forced to watch them repeatedly by my child. That is a big plus in my book. Barbie Princess and the Pauper is a nice follow up film to the other Barbie movies. We look forward to the next installment in the series.

Also recommended: Barbie and the Nutcracker, Barbie as Rapunzel, and Barbie in Swan Lake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 27yr old Barbie Fan, October 10, 2005
By 
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
I am 27 yrs old and i dont have any kids, i am still a kid at heart and I loved Barbie Growing up, in 2001 when the Nutcracker came out i thought wow that looks so cute and the animation looks adorable, and since i grew up w/ Barbie I had to have it. I was hooked after watching it and have been collecting all of the movies. Its so nice to sit in bed and watch a really cute animated barbie movie and it makes u feel like a kid again. I feel so happy at the end of the movies just like i did as a kid. The Princess and the Pauper has a GREAT story to it the characters are adorable, I just loved it. Young or Old everyone can enjoy these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love watching it!, October 11, 2005
A Kid's Review
It is simply fabulous! I like the cool graphics and animations! Barbie is in a dual role as Princess and a pauper. I have brown hair and brown eyes like Erika the pauper but I think that Annelise is prettiest! I think King Dominick is the most handsome and romantic, though. Annelise wants to be free and she doesn't like doing her daily lessons but she gets BREAKFAST IN BED!!! Erika wants to be like Annalise and be a princess. Barbie is very pretty in both roles. Here is some more helpful information:

Special features:

You can choose a chapter that you were up to last time and you can 'sing with barbie'. You can have a preview look at the songs, too! The special features were better with 'Barbie in the Nutcracker', but this is still COOL!!!

Clothes:

Mainly pretty dresses. Erika is poor but I adore her aqua blue dress, but not as much as Annelise's sparkly baby pink dress! (I ADORE pink!) They are covered with frilly bits and roses and all kinds of pretty stuff!

Make-up:

Hardly any! Just a dab of blusher and a sprinkle of eye-shadow here and there! But Barbie is spotless! (she must use moisterising cream!)

Time:

Over an hour, and thats an hour of watching a VERY enjoyable and relaxing film, with songs that simply stick into your mind!

The time it is SET IN is not too modern, because you don't get too much princesses nowadays and not a huge palace. They speak modern, though! But the houses aren't too modern either, and the dress shop that Erika works in doesn't have any modern machines in.

Brightness:

Nice and colourful, as with all Barbie films, but not too dark so you stare, or too bright so you squint!

Compactness:

Well, the DVD is small, so it is easier to carry around than a video, but it is still rather large.

Goodies:

You get a little magazine tucked inside the case! It is small but it tells you good Princess & the pauper toys and magical pink blurbs about the toys and BEAUTIFUL animated pictures on CGI! I like that little mag!

Durability:

So far, my disk hasn't a single scratch! It can't be handled by toddlers, though, because they would smudge it with greasy small fingers or snap it!

So, I say, GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Has Outdone Herself - Superb DVD - And that Music!!, November 4, 2004
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
Having two daughters ages 5-1/2 and 7, we have all the previous Barbie movies and love them all - they are quality products, beautifully crafted and artistically gorgeous - and the music is always delightful (I mean, how can you go wrong with Swan Lake and the Nutcracker, but the original music from Rapunzel is hauntingly beautiful and extremely moving as well). So there was no question we would purchase Barbie As The Princess and the Pauper.

WOW! Barbie has outdone herself with this new DVD. As her first "Animated Musical," I must admit I was slightly skeptical, especially following the outstanding music that came before in the other Barbie DVDs. Imagine my surprise when I found myself completely blown away by the music and lyrics in every song of this DVD. Simply a first-rate job: Clever, singable (addictively so) and emotionally moving songs, one after another. And kudos to the songwriters for bringing back the beauty of the simple duet: The songs sung by Princess Anneliese and Erika together are just gorgeous and lovely.

Oh, and don't worry - after getting over the beauty and richness of the music and songs, you will not be disappointed in any way by the story and animation, which is once again captivating, interesting, and intelligent. I am most impressed with all of the Barbie DVDs in that they always give Barbie's character a mature, strong, assertive, intelligent persona - so opposite of what so many people used to believe (and probably still do) the Barbie dolls conveyed to impressionable young girls. The dolls may be all about fashion and perfect figures and shopping and boyfriends, but in the DVDs, Barbie is kick-ass smart, strong, decisive and compassionate (and, of course, still beautiful and perfectly-figured).

As the plot is well-written, fast-moving, and action-packed, even Daddies and older brothers will find themselves drawn to the story and animation in spite of themselves! (And get a load of Martin Short as the voice of the bad guy, the "evil Preminger" - this may be one of his best roles to date!)

All in all, we are just pleased as punch with this DVD, and have watched it again and again. We also have the CD of the songs in the car, and I have actually listened to it a few times when my daughters were not even in the car! The songs just make you feel good inside. As long as Barbie continues starring in DVDs of this quality and caliber, we will certainly be purchasing them as soon as they hit the store shelves. And make sure not to miss the "outtakes" at the end of the film - funniest animated outtakes I've seen since Toy Story and Monsters Inc.!

Unequivocally 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Princess and the Pauper!, October 28, 2004
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
I am 13 years old and I love the movie!I have seen all the other three Barbie movies as well. I have seen this one 15 times already! It has a very good plot in it. Being an "older" barbie fan I loved the movie. I am currently in a broadway play and I thought the music in Princess and the Pauper was very good. I love running around the house and using my "head voice" to sing the songs, just like Erika and Annaleise! my favorite song is "The Cat's Meow" ,and I might even sing that for my next audition. My younger sister who is 6 loved the movie too ,but didn't really seem to understand it. All she wanted to see was the part when the Kelly dolls came. But, they never really came in.She was very dissapointed. I truley love this movie ,but I think next time they should put the Kelly dolls in it more. I can't wait to see "Fairytopia",but my favorite Barbie movie is still Barbie as Rapunzel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, January 14, 2005
I was really dreading this but thanks to the ads, my 3 year-old was smitten.

I was expecting something dire but the music was pretty good. I love the bad guy Preminger. He dances great and he's so over the top. The women are good role models. They both escape vs. being "rescued" by the men, who are, by the way, real people. Dominik likes music and Julian is well-read. The princess likes science and ends up running the royal mines and Erika insists on having her singing career before marrying the king. I know, it's streching things but they're trying!

I wouldn't want fairy tales to get too politically correct though they've firmed up the hansome prince and "damsel in distress" image a bit.

The only reason I gave it only 4 stars is that I found the computer models a bit creepy. Since I didn't grow up with them, I'm a little weirded out but that wont bother a little girl at all.

My 3 year old is glued to the TV (great punishment, "Want to watch princess Barbie today? Then stop doing X") and after my brain has been fried over so many of these kids' shows, this is welcome relief, again and again and again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb Barbie dvd!, October 15, 2004
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
My daughter received this lovely dvd for her 4th birthday and we have already watched it three times in one week! The folks at Mattel have truly outdone themselves again with this engaging musical/fantasy story based on "The Prince and the Pauper" story.

Princess Anneliese wants nothing more than to be free of the constraints of being 'royal' while commoner Erika wishes to be free of her poverty and position as an indentured servant for the mean Madame Kamp. Their wishes are granted when Preminger (voiced by Martin Short) kidnaps Princess Anneliese so that he can assert his influence on the queen and become king. Erika steps in to take the princess' place so that Julian (Anneliese's tutor and secret admirer) can bide his time and find out who took Anneliese. In the meantime, Erika (as Anneliese) meets the handsome King Dominic and they fall in love.

The story is resolved in true G/PG Barbie/Disney style and our heroes and heroines live happily ever after. However, what makes this film a real treat is its catchy songs (my daughter has been singing "I'm Just Like You" non-stop since the day she first saw this movie), memorable characters and engaging plot. Add to this the beautiful CGI work that transports you into colorful and magical fairytale.

Like its Barbie dvd predecessors, "The Princess and the Pauper" is a great addition to our family film library and I highly recommend it to young Barbie fans and their parents for its wholesomeness and entertainment value. Here's looking forward to the next Barbie venture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised By This One, November 29, 2004
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
I was definitely surprised by Barbie's take on "The Prince And The Pauper" tale. The title was conveniently changed to "Princess" so that our beloved heroine could tackle the role wholeheartedly. Anyway, this is definitely the best of all of the Barbie movies out there.

When I first popped this one into the DVD player for my daughter, I expected something similar to the other Barbie flicks: great choreography, decent animation, bland story with a happy ending, and one modestly popular voice. Well, Martin Short provided the modestly popular voice, the animation was pretty good, and, as usual, the choreography was brilliant. However, the story was nowhere near bland.

The story has been told time and again. The princess, played by Barbie, wants to get away from her royal responsibilities and live life like a normal person. The pauper, also played by Barbie in a great dual performance(ha, ha), on the other hand, struggles to get by and would do anything to get a shot at the easy life. Well, the princess and the pauper swap places by way of the princess being captured in a maniacal scheme for Short's character to become king. The pauper pretends to be the princess long enough to thwart Short's plans and to give time for the the princess' aid(played by a dashing Ken, also in a dual role) to figure out exactly what is going on. From there, we are treated to some light humor, romance, truth and lies. It all ends happily, as expected, but I won't give anymore details.

Granted, this movie is definitely geared towards the kids and it is a great marketing tool for the Barbie toyline, but it is a fun film to watch. I never got bored with it. It kept my attention for the complete running time and I was amazed at how well the story was actually played out.

Recommended to folks with little girls who love Barbie(obviously), but if you don't have children, you might want to stay away. I like it and give it four stars, but those four stars are based on the comparison to the existing Barbie films, so don't let the rating fool you. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally love this movie, March 21, 2006
By 
This review is from: Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper (DVD)
This movie was a huge hit in our home. We have a 2 1/2 year old daughter and she just can't get enough of anything princess related. She loves to get dressed up and dance and sing with the characters in the movie. I would not ordinarily have been okay with Barbie, but this movie is very tasteful and shows the independence and strength that the women characters possess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No