20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing "fishy" about it, February 26, 2006
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
I caught this today with my 4-year-old daughter on the Nick premier, and she loved it. And honestly, it wasn't too difficult for me to sit through either. Having seen, and owning, every Barbie movie that has come down the chute, I can say that this was by far the best of them, and will be picking it up on release day for myself.. er, my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, a follow on from Fairtytopia but more about marketing, July 6, 2006
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
I should have known when I saw this was a follow on from Fairytopia that I would be disappointed. This is the story of Elina, who in the movie Fairytopia saved her country of Fairytopia and gained her wings. In this she is sent an urgent message from the Prince of Mermaidia (who briefly appeared in Fairytopia) who asks for her to help him. The movie is full of the trials and tribulations she goes through for him, along with his girlfriend Nori. I expect it is deliberate they have named the Mermaid heroine after Japanese Edible seaweed but it seems ill-considered.

Anyway - the good things about the movie, it is brightly coloured, and the costumes for the characters are gorgeous, when Elina becomes a mermaid she looks just stunning. There are really nice messages in this - about overcoming jealousy, selflessness, sharing and the power of team work. Some of these messages are laid on with a trowel, but on the other hand it is for young children and I think the message needs to be strong. And lets get real here, the movies aren't aimed at adults. However I thinksome of hte best movies are those that can easily be watched by Adults and children together - and the best Barbie movie (I think) was Princess and the Pauper where I still find it easy to sit down with my kids and watch it. I wish Barbie movies would get back to that sort of good, singing fun.

the things I found difficult is that although there was a strong basic story (getting the immunity berry) the whole thing was quite confusing for my under 5 year olds. There is so much going on that they quickly lost track of what was happening and who was who. There were too many characters and they all seemed to have marketing tie-ins - lots of mer-ferry's, snails, mermaids, turtles, dolphins - the list went on and on. The overall story which seemed to start it all seemed a weak concept from the start. Some of the characters faces were too animated. In the early Barbie movies there still seemed to be a semblance of reality, but the merferries and so on did seem oddly characterised, almost like Japanese Anime. Perhaps it is something children like, but I prefer the traditional animation, certainly the mix of the two was unsettling at times. Lastly, there is a moment when Elina and Nori get marks of courage which look like tatoos - call me conservative, but I don't want my under 5 year old even thinking a tatoo is cool - no matter what form it takes.

There were some genuinely good moments in this film and despite its faults my children have watched it a couple of times, but it doesn't really interest them in the way that the early dancing ones (swan lake for instance or Princess and the Pauper) I really hope the next movie planned is one of these sort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favorite, September 28, 2006
By 
toyaholic "toyaholic" (Midlothian, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
After having seen most of the other Barbie movies before I saw this one, I was disappointed. I didn't care for the Fungi characters and all of the Mer-fairies and similar characters were just overboard and cheesy. Some of the voices of these characters were annoying.

My daughter does seem to like this movie, but not nearly as much as the other Barbie movies. This is one that I wouldn't pay full price for if I were to buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't bother me as an adult to watch over and over, April 22, 2006
By 
Amber Bedford (Central Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
After my 6 yr old saw it for the first time she ran upstairs to tell me it was the best movie she's ever seen. That's actually the first time I've heard her say that. Then she went into detail about the story. When I saw it (I was expecting a cheap, thrown together film just to move product) I was impressed with the underwater movements. It had a very relaxing effect. Some children's movies we watch bother me to see again because I could hardly stand them the first time. We rented it first and now I'm buying it. Both my 6 yr old and 3 yr old ask for it first thing when we get home each day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A movie even my 11 year old son likes, May 1, 2006
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
My 8 year old daughter has every Barbie movie made and Mermaidia has been the one most entertaining. The real star of the movie for my 11 year old son and 3 year old daughter is Bibble. Hilarious. My son normally would not be caught dead watching a Barbie movie but he'll sit through any scene with Bibble in it. My 3 year old will bring me the movie, "Mommy, I wanna watch Bibble." Overall, this is a good movie for girls and boys alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie gets us every time!, February 27, 2006
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
I caught the advance showing of Mermaidia yesterday on Nick. I watched it with my 2-1/2 yr. old (girl) and my 4-1/2 yr. old (boy) and we all enjoyed it! My Son, who is not really a tv/video watcher seems to stay glued to the set whenever a Barbie video comes on .... they must be doing something right! We will definitely buy this one on March 14th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Pretty...But So SHALLOW!, July 15, 2007
By 
Lost Lenore (Orlando, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
This movie is like a chocolate bar wrapper.
On the outside (i.e. the designs/animation) is is adorable, bright colored, and pretty.
However, like a chocolate bar wrapper, it conceals something that is brown, dismal and genuinely unpleasant to look at when you really think about it.
While the message of the film (overall) may be self-sacrifice and teamwork, I really have trouble seeing that.
The two main characters fight with each other...a lot. They are extremely catty in their remarks and base their dislike for each other on their mutual interest in a boy. Nori, the commonere Mermaid is in love with the Prince, but she thinks said prince loves Elina and vice versa. Thus, she uses this as an excuse to be, frankly, a real bitch for the remainder of the film.
Okay. I really don't want any child to think this is acceptable.
Depsite being pretty and well animated, this little movie is a huge disappointment.
A lot of the other Barbie fairy tale movies are better.
But this one...blech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Warned..., April 28, 2006
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
Your daughter will want to watch this over and over and over and over again. My 2y/o dd really likes this movie (although it's no Cinderella)and the puff ball Bibble. Id be happy to buy her a couple mermaids for the bathtub, but they don't make one of Nalu the MerPrince. The whole point of this movie is that they are going to rescue him. What's the point of buying Elina and/or Nori when there is no one to rescue? Atleast the girls are rescuing the boys for once. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, April 11, 2006
By 
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
I loved this movie and I am an adult. I bought it for my daughter, but also secretly couldn't wait to see it myself. Barbie comes back to save the day in Mermaida. She has to decide what is more important keeping her wings or saving her friend. Well you should know what she decides, but all turns out great in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, March 15, 2006
By 
ZJ (San Mateo, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia (DVD)
I bought this DVD on its release day. My daughters and I enjoyed it very much. The scenery is extremely beautiful and the story is very touching. Bible adds a lot of fun to the movie. Overall, it is an excellent movie for young girls and their parents to watch together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No