80 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, November 14, 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
This camper is so cute! My daughter received it for her birthday and hasn't stopped playing with it yet. She has the Glamour camper and we actually like this one better. The wheels actually roll so you can "drive it around", the hammock system is really cute and the whole idea of the sisters camping together is wonderful. Very pleased with this latest addition to the Barbie line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biggest piece of crap we've ever had, January 5, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
We received this as a gift for our 5 year old (and 6 year old by association). This is the biggest piece of crap we've ever had in our house and that's saying a lot considering all the crap toys out there (and in our house).

It seems you touch this thing and something falls off or breaks. My 5 year old really wants to play with it and has tried to on numerous occasions but after a while she gives up because it's always coming apart. It reminds me of the board game Mouse Trap--touch one little thing and it sets destruction in motion.

5 will take it for a spin around the house then have to stop and try to fix whatever broke.

The instructions to set it up aren't exactly helpful either and some of the furniture and the hide a bed are just plain flimsy.

Can't wait to take this thing to the range for target practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, January 12, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
I agree with all negative reviews posted thus far. This camper is poorly made, which makes it almost useless for my twin 5 year old daughters. It took my husband over 2 hours to put these toys together (yes, unfortunately we have two of these pieces of junk). One would think that with that amount of time vested the campers would stay together. That is not the case. The side panels come apart when the girls try to "drive" the campers. The side door becomes unhinged if the girls attempt to shut it without help from us. The what-appears-to-be-such-cute-accessories that are supposed to stay in place when the campers are in motion do not, in fact, stay in place, so the girls get frustrated when everything has shifted after the campers have been moved around. We have issues with the front seat of both campers; it does not even lock in place so whichever Barbie (or Ken) is driving usually ends up sideways. This does not go over well with my daughters. The hammock feature often jams when the girls try to open it, and getting it back into its little storage compartment on the top of the camper is no easy task.

Having been around toys now for the last almost 6 years, I give the thumbs-up to the ones that can withstand typical "playing" from the age of the child(ren) recommended by the manufacturer. This toy gets a big thumbs-down. Do not waste your money or your time on it. What is the most telling of all is when the girls say to me that the toymakers of this camper needs to go back to school and learn more so "they can fix" the multitude of problems and annoyances associated with this camper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dog door broke before first use!, December 25, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
The dog door broke before I even got all the stickers on it. Nice engineering Mattel - two super thin plastic hinges aren't going to hold up to any type of play.

Update

Now that's it's finished, it's worse than I thought. The revolving back door is terribly sub-par. When the shower and toilet face the outside of the camper, the curtain rod will hit the exterior "C -pillar" when you attempt to spin it back. You have to manually pull the rod inwards towards the center of rotation. NOTE: the vertical panel which divides the shower and toilet appears to be the issue. This panel has an upper plastic snap which frequently dislodges from the center "hinge". This makes it hard to spin the door, which flexes the plastic enough that the shower rod pops out. I think I'll try some clear silicone to keep the panel attached to the hinge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed & Bummed, December 28, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
My daughter was really looking forward to playing with this but lost interest in it after only a few minutes because it kept falling apart. It took a surprisingly long time to put together -maybe because it keeps falling apart; therefore you are reassembling the same sections over and over again. As soon as you snap a piece of flimsy plastic together, another piece falls off. The back of the camper is especially bad. The piece is supposed to swivel, but even with the most delicate and careful touch, it caves in or just falls off. The camper does not roll well (drags the ground), so I would suggest just playing with it in the "open" position only.

I had the 1970's Barbie motorhome and loved it! It was yellow (I didn't say it was perfect), huge, durable and provided countless hours of fun! It can still be found on auction sites for a couple of hundred dollars. Should have just gotten it for my daughter rather than this pink disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money., December 27, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
I'm so glad I got this for half price on Black Friday, because this is total junk. This was our first Barbie purchase, and it will be our last. These pieces will snap in half the first time my daughter looks at them the wrong way. I can't believe how flimsy this is, and the directions were horrible.... They don't tell you a thing about how to put it together. It even came with pieces already broken off. Horrible. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very durable, January 23, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
I bought 2 of these for my daughters for Christmas. The first day, the camper wouldn't close. Since then, the plastics pieces that attach keep breaking. This item is not made very well. Both campers are doing the same thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS!!!, January 9, 2012
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
We purchased this for our daughter this Christmas. She loves the idea of it, however any time it's moved (from one room to another or even 5 feet over during pick up time) it completely FALLS APART! This is the cheapest made piece of Chinese plastic trash I have ever seen and those who feel that this junk to be fairly priced at anything over perhaps $25 needs to seriously check their moral compass. It's pop-together junk with paper-thin plastic...hardly durable enough even for the most gentle play. After this experience, we will no longer be purchasing ANYTHING with the Barbie label on it and we will be seriously reconsidering our toy purchasing from Amazon as they don't take these back very easily (it's defective, yet we're told physical damage took place).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but cheaply made, March 11, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
Bought this for my granddaughters who are 7 and 8 years old. I was very disappointed in the quality of this toy. The pieces broke within the first hour they played with it, and it was the manufacturer's fault. The girls keep their toys in excellent shape. The doors fell off and the piece that made a table was missing. It was still fun for them and they still enjoy it. I would be really mad if I had paid over $4o.for this toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bummer, January 7, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Family Camper (Toy)
I was excited to get this for my 6 year old daughter. It's a great idea, but the quality of the toy is not what one would expect. It's very clunky and pieces keep falling off when you convert the camper. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No