13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Entry In The Series, September 17, 2011
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The 2011 Holiday Barbie has all the Hallmarks of the series: a lovely Barbie in special collector packaging and fantastic gown.

This year's Barbie comes in a rare slim gold underskirt (rather than the usual large hemmed ball gown) with flowing green silk-like overskirt. The overskirt is decorated with gold embroidery and jewel details. Her hazel eyes with their sparkly gold eyeshadow make a nice match with the golden chandelier earrings. She wears matching gold open toed shoes under the skirt. This is definitely one of the most sophisticated looking of all the Holiday Barbies.

As with all of the recent Collector Holiday Barbies, she really isn't intended to be deboxed or played with. The doll doesn't come with a stand and her hair is heavily gelled to keep the curls in place (not really suitable for brushing or you destroy the style). As well, the back of the dress lacks the details of the front and doesn't have any of the volume when removed (recebt year Holiday Barbies (like this one) have cardboard inserts under the dresses to keep them 'fluffed out' and full in the hemline). Her dress is sewn into the box to keep a perfect display - it isn't quite as lovely when removed and without the restraints to keep it in place. She also has the model muse body - which means she isn't pivotal and can't hold any other pose. There were two very slight, barely visible pulls in the gold part of the dress on my doll. Her hair is a mess in the back.

Since the box is heavily decorated with the "arriving at the Christmas Ball" theme to match the dress, I'd recommend this for those who enjoy the entire display without wanting to debox. If you are giving this as a present for a younger child to display out of the box, you'll need to get a Barbie-sized doll stand separately.

In all, a lovely addition to the series (though I do wish they would include display stands for those of us who like to remove our Barbies from the box).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Collector's Piece, October 7, 2011
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The 2011 Holiday Barbie is stunning. Her green and gold gown is elegant and sophisticated. I especially like her earrings. The box provides a lovely background and her body is enchantingly posed. As a collector's piece she is a fabulous addition to the holiday series and would be lovely on any display shelf.

I, however, am not a collector. When I look at a doll (or any toy) I want to know if it will make a child's eyes light up with wonder. I think that this barbie has the beauty and elegance to appeal to any little girl and her dreams of being the belle of the ball. The doll's hair isn't meant to be played with, it will quickly lose it's perfect style, and her body is molded with one arm bent so that her position is fixed, but for any girl who loves dolls this barbie has all the beauty and sparkle to bring joy and delight to the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Addition to Holiday Series, September 26, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I get these dolls for my seven-year old niece to play with, not for display. I've been getting them every year so she'd have something to play with at my house.

This is one of the best yet. Normally I hold on to them until Christmas, but when she saw a picture of this year's doll, she begged me to let her have it early. The hair, makeup, dress...are beautiful & there's a retro feel to the overall look. The attention to detail is impecable. A must-have, whether you're a collector or looking for a Barbie for a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Collectors, December 15, 2011
By 
Aretae (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I'd originally purchased this as a gift for my now-8 year old daughter, not being aware of the Collector nature of the doll.
Now that we've had it for a few weeks, our thoughts.
The barbie is beautiful. The attention to detail is marvelous. If you are a collector, it is one to add to the collection. On the other hand, getting it as a toy for kids is a bit more painful. I worry about the doll, she is just so pretty that I would hate for her to get damaged. Of course my 8 year-old-daughter just wants to play with the new, beautiful, barbie. I love the attention to detail and the gown that Barbie is wearing, but my daughter does not like the gown. It is too much for her. I would recommend this for a collector, as it was intended, but if you were looking for a barbie to play with then I would probably pick something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collectors Doll, November 17, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
So i have to admit first that I honestly didnt know this was a collectors doll and NOT an actual toy, even though it clearly says so in the product title...so dont be like me and be careful with that.
Its certainly very pretty and i like the classic look that it has going on. I dont like the dress personally, the material feels cheap. Of course, it probably isnt meant to be taken out of the box.
You might want to get it as a toy anyways since its so beautiful but i wouldnt recommend that as none of her limbs move( except legs slighly); thus kids stop playing and caring about it after the 'new-toy glow' goes away... which is about a couple days. If your looking at it as a collector, than its fine. Unless you take it out of the box... which i dont recommend as it doesnt stand upright by itself and its not durable and will show signs of handling (such as the hair getting out of whack)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Stresses the Glamor in this Holiday Collector Doll, November 5, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I have two girly- girls in my home and they love dolls. They like dolls of all types, but due to their obsession with fashion and style, they prefer dolls such as Barbie and they have taken a quick liking to the Barbie Collector Doll. They have added this to their Barbie stockpile and continue to play with it and display it to this day.

Barbie Collector Holiday Doll is a glamorous doll that features Barbie in a green and gold gown. Barbie is glamorized further with her make- up and accessories, which include earrings, gold slippers, and other items. She is a sight to behold, and that is why many will likely place this Barbie on display and not do anything else with it. She even comes in her own display box for this very purpose.

My girls like the Barbie Collector Holiday Doll, but they don't play with her the way they do other Barbie's and I am pretty sure this is due to the collector nature of this doll. With the flowing gown and accessories, she is more of a display item and even though my girls are too young to consider themselves Barbie collectors (or to even know what that means), they tend to place this Barbie off by herself, on a bedroom shelf, while they play with their more casual Barbie dolls. They still like her- just in a different way. The manufacturer released this as a collector's item, so I suppose this reaction should be expected.

Barbie Collector Holiday Doll is a glamorous doll and she follows in the footsteps of other Barbie collector holiday dolls released over the past few years. She may not induce the level of play like other Barbie dolls, but she is a nice collector's doll and most girly- girls will love her regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A toy? Not really. Gorgeous Collectible? Yes!, September 23, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I really don't like that Amazon is adding "toy" features for me to critique with this product. This is NOT a toy doll by any means of the imagination. At least it isn't a toy doll in my home. It is a collectible. It is a GORGEOUS collectible.

I originally bought this for my 2-year old. Yes..it's meant for 6 and up. However, I've been wanting a Barbie doll for her and I thought "What a great (free) way to get her one!" WRONG! There is no way I'll let her touch this doll. The dress is finely detailed and Barbie's earrings, well, they're nicer than what I have. Her hair is immaculate. It makes me wonder if I want to begin collecting them for my daughter. Rather smart of Mattel if you ask me.

Unless you don't mind spending a LOT of money on a doll and letting your child (possibly) destroy it, don't think of this as a hands on toy. Think of it as what it's called, a collector doll. It's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful doll, but no stand included!, December 13, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
This doll is beautiful as the Holiday Barbies always are, but for the past two years, Mattel has NOT included a stand for this doll. Unlike very serious collectors, my daughters like to take their "Collector" dolls out and display them on a stand on a shelf. With no stand and no option to buy a stand, there is no good way to display this doll. Very disappointed..for the price and beauty of this doll, it should come with a stand as they always have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Barbie With Ties to the Past, September 25, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This is my first Holiday Barbie. And I'm *not* disappointed. The doll herself is lovely and the display box is in itself a grand entrance.

From her deep blonde hair and hazel eyes to the tip of her toes, the Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll is the embodiment of 1940s' elegance. Her hair is parted on the side and styled in a loosely curled pageboy a la Veronica Lake. And she's wearing long gold-tone earrings that draw the eye to her face. This Barbie's dress looks like it came right out of a vintage MGM musical. The bodice and over-skirt of her ball gown are deep green with golden embroidered trim. The slim underskirt is of shimmering gold. The colors compliment each other beautifully. The details are wonderful.

Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll's presentation box is made to look like a long hall-way -- an entrance to the grand ballroom. It's printed in gold and deep red with Christmas trees on tables. This frames Barbie's green and gold gown perfectly. This Barbie is a dream. She's meant to be cherished and handed down from mother to daughter.

Also, I think this Holiday Doll is a good value for the money. Things are tight at my house this year. I can't afford most collector-dolls; but this Barbie is within my price range. I chose her as a present for myself -- and she'll be decorating my little Christmas Corner for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For collectors, September 24, 2011
By 
Jeffrey J.Park (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector 2011 Holiday Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Unfortunately, while this doll may be great for collectors, it is not appropriate for play. In fact, the doll has not left the box - our toddlers would tear Barbie apart. As a collectible item, however, it is beautiful.

Our favorite thing about this Barbie doll is the packaging, which is designed to display the doll - in fact, even our young daughter loved the backdrop, which features an elegant ballroom. Of course, the doll is quite nice too, and features a stunning green/gold dress and highly detailed makeup and hair. My wife also loved the other details on the doll such as the painted fingernails.

All in all, this is a fine collectible that is better suited to being on display than being played with. We will definitely save the doll for our daughter though - she will certainly appreciate "Barbie in a box" more when she is older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No