125 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great toy!!!, October 10, 2006
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
I bought this house for my daughters six year old birthday. She loves it and has played with it for hours. The house comes with alot of extra things to play with in your new house(pots and pans, silverware, food, flowers, lamps, laundry basket) definatly worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hours of Fun, February 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
My four year old got for this dollhouse for Christmas. Both of my girls spend hours playing with it. It's cute, has lots of pieces that come with it (silverware, flowers in a vase, a rubber ducky for the bath) as well as cute touches like a ringing doorbell, a sound system for the house, a flushing toilet, sizzling stove, etc.

I found the price to be very reasonable and was pleased with the quality for the price. It took a little bit of time to assemble, and carrying it up from the basement on Christmas Eve was trucky to do alone, but the dollhouse folds up for transport. The top floor "media room" detaches, but not as easily as I'd like. Some of the exterior pieces fall off occasionally, but my kids can pop the balcony railing or the flowers in the window box back on by themselves. I have fun playing with the Dreamhouse, too! It's exactly what I would've wanted as a girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mom of 5 year old & 3 year old, December 2, 2006
By 
Kim (Virginia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
This is a very nice doll house and it is very very large. The reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is:

the intercom is very loud (with no volume control)

the top level does not lock into place (therefore my 3 yr old could pull this down very easily)

and there is nowhere to store the furniture when you close the house up.

Make sure you allow at least an hour for assembly and decorating. Also, I opened this item after 30 days and realized that the taps had broken off the bathtub and I can't return it. Other than that, this house is adorable and has tons of extra pieces. I know my daughter is going to love receiving this for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really a fun dollhouse, December 30, 2006
By 
D. Dryburgh (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
Assembly can be time-consuming and some of the decorative trim pieces require a light touch. However, once I got it together, I haven't had any problem with it staying together. My 5 year old daughter LOVES it. She's been cranking the stairs constantly and they still work fine.

All in all, definitely worth the money. No complaints here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter LOVES this dreamhouse..., June 7, 2007
By 
LA Mama (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
I decided to get the Barbie Dreamhouse for my 5 year old daughter after researching and reading all the reviews of the various different "Barbie" houses out there. After comparing features, this one just seemed like the one that I would have wanted when I was a kid (and desperately wanted a Barbie Dreamhouse!), so I ordered it.

Setting it up was not at all difficult, but took maybe around an hour. It was not a chore though-- it was actually kind of fun.

There are sooo many great fun features to this house: the entertainment center folds down into a murphy bed, the doorbell rings, there's a stereo that plays music, the fridge opens, the toilet flushes, the dryer spins, and there are a zillion little fun accessories-- too name just a few of the great features. It's also much bigger than it seems from looking at the picture but because of the pale pink color, it's not an eyesore at all.

Yes, the windows do pop out sometimes but it's really not that big of a nuisance (and I suppose, as some reviewers have suggested, you could easily krazy glue them shut). But as for the overall quality, I was pretty impressed. It's much more sturdy than the particle board houses-- and far prettier. Plus, instead of having appliances and furniture painted on the back walls(like many of the other houses), the Dreamhouse has actual appliances and furniture. So much more fun for a child to play with!

My daughter has already spent endless hours playing with this toy. She always had a ton of Barbie dolls but she never played with them as consistently as she has until getting the Dreamhouse. She tells me all the time how much she loves it. It really is a terrific toy. And the Amazon price is amazing-- at Toys R Us they are selling it for $129.99! Plus Amazon offers free shipping!

You can't go wrong with this house. I am so beyond thrilled that I got it for my daughter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money..., November 29, 2007
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
We purchased this last year for my 5 year old daughter for Christmas-from Santa. My husband and I found it difficult to piece together as the pieces would just pop apart. We felt it was very cheaply made and not worth the $100 we spent. It is big and bulky and a little hard to move because it's all plastic and not sturdy. The elevator would get hung up when trying to move it up and down. The furniture pieces would also pop apart very easily. It has since moved over to Grandma's house to play with when she is over there. I would recommend going with the Loving Family house. It is made of heavy plastic, folds up nicely and does not at all seem cheap and it's about 1/2 the price of the Barbie House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but pops apart, November 2, 2007
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
My daughter loves this house. She does play with it for hours. However, the bed and dresser pop apart way too easily. The window frames fall off constantly. The louvers fall out of the doors. I have wondered if Mattel made the furniture pop apart easily so it won't break?

I'd definitely buy it again but I think Mattel needs to work on the "fit" part of the design. I'd also recommend some super glue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fun but definietly not durable, January 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
My daughter received this for christmas. The stand that holds the barbie as she supposidly glides up the stairs broke as soon as my daughter tried to put her barbie in it. The windows and doors also pop off easily. My daughter still likes to play with the toy but the tears on Christmas morning from her breaking her new toy really put a damper on things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 3 story dream house - poorly manufactured, January 9, 2007
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
Kids love it but it is not worth the money. Several pieces were broke and it is poorly made. I have a friend who purchased one as well and she states the same.

I wanted it replaced but Amazon could only take the order not make good by replaceing it. I had no choice but to keep it damaged or I would have broken my childs heart. She wanted it so bad, we took it in pieces.

Do not buy it! Spend the money on something else worth buying!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WATCH OUT! SHIPPED IN MANUF. BOX, November 22, 2007
By 
R. Sanborn (Huntingtown, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mattel Barbie 3-Story Dream House Playset (Toy)
I haven't opened this present yet, but wanted everyone to know that it ships in the manuf. box so be careful. We drove up in my driveway yesterday and saw it sitting beside the garage. This was our Christmas present from Santa and my oldest daughter saw it before I could get her to look the other way. Now I have nothing to give them from Santa and Amazon compensated with a $20 credit. I have never received anything from Amazon in the manuf box so I wasn't expecting this to happen. Just beware if you're ordering for Christmas. -Disappointed Buyer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No