34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not perfect, reproduction of the original, January 20, 2009
By 
This review is from: Barbie My Favorite Barbie: The Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll (Toy)
1959 Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll is the best repro of the #1 Barbie to date--but, it's still not a perfect repro. I've deboxed the doll, and so I'm evaluating it from the perspective of a deboxed display doll. The doll is very nice in appearance, and the reproduction of the Solo In The Spotlight fashion is excellent.

The quibbles: The arm molds for the vintage repro dolls are not accurate to the original dolls. The original dolls had divided fingers (index and pinky on the right hand, pinky only on the left hand) and the shapes were different from the reproduction body molds. Also, the #1 Barbie doll (as well as the #2, #3, and #4) reproductions should be manufactured differently from dolls meant to duplicate later dolls. The 'heft' of the doll should be weightier, as the original dolls had solid vinyl torsos and limbs. The skin tone is slightly too pink to be 100% accurate in my opinion as well. The original doll had copper tubing lining the holes in her feet. Obviously the repro doll should not include this feature due to metal oxidation issues, but some sort of metal lining would be a better match than no lining at all. The hair is also not a perfect match to the original, as the #1 Barbie doll had an extremely fine gauge saran hair material, in a distinctive yellow-orange color. This doll's hair is too glossy and too 'ash blonde' in color, and the doll doesn't appear to have the flocking underneath the ponytail that the original doll featured. Also, the hairline is placed too low on the doll's forehead, the original doll had a very high forehead. The face paint is a good likeness, but not 100% perfect. The brows should be slightly darker, and the paint colors are good but not perfect.

No collector is ever going to mistake this doll for the original, but it's still a great doll in its own right. Definitely worth the very reasonable price, and I would encourage anyone interested in vintage Barbie to pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Display!, February 6, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie My Favorite Barbie: The Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll (Toy)
This is not a perfect reproduction, it is however, a perfect display model for your vintage fashions. I wouldn't recommend this to collector's (It's being mass produced with the Barbie Pink Label, not worth much to "collect".) but I do recommend it to anyone who wants a decent reproduction to display early clothes.

The only real problem I have with this doll is the super low forehead. The hair should be up super high. The eyes aren't the same either, but I don't own an original #1 Barbie so I'm happy with this one.

In short, if you want a beautiful doll to display vintage fashions, she's your gal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mattel Lacking in Product Presentation - Holes in Fabric, February 8, 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie My Favorite Barbie: The Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll (Toy)
Mattel Lacking in Product Presentation - Holes in Fabric

Why does Mattel insist on poking a hole through every fine fabric costume on collectible dolls with a needle and thread or plastic t-tie?

After the millions of dolls they have sold, could their staff devise a way to keep the doll in the box without having to sew the dress to the box?

If the collector wishes to display the doll outside the box, they must try to carefully remove the thread - which still leaves the hole poked through the fabric in front of gown.

Why would someone pay this much money for a doll with a with holes punched through the fabric of the gloves and the pink hankie?

Also, buyers should be aware that the swimsuit top has adhesive underneath to keep it from falling off. Surely after all the years of manufacturing goofs like melt marks and stains, Mattel would have learned not to place an adhesive on the body and surely not next to the fabric.

Madame Alexander - a premier doll manufacturer - has for years securely fastened their dolls with a simple ribbon or rigid plastic forms. Why can't Mattel do the same?

Mattel is lacking in Quality Control on this issue, and the same with the Elvis and Priscilla Presley Giftset. Three holes are punched through the fabric of Priscilla's dress! Plus, the 1962 Bubblecut Anniversary doll has holes puched through the gown and gloves. Quality Control at Mattel? It is missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the 50s Barbie, July 20, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This beautiful doll arrived in new condition and is just wonderful. I am starting a small collection of Barbies and thought this was an affordable doll to add to my grouping. It is very difficult not to take her out and play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE HER!, December 24, 2009
By 
Deborah A. Mcdonald (Athens County, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie My Favorite Barbie: The Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll (Toy)
I did not buy this "toy" for fun, or for educational value, or durability. I bought it to replace my original Barbie doll I had when I was 9 (in 1959) that disappeared when my mother started letting the grandkids play with it. I absolutely love it. This is the Barbie I remember.

Much as I would love to change her clothes and build the wardrobe I had for my original Barbie, I think I will just keep her in the box as she is and no one else will touch her.

Absolutely LOVE this doll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprise, April 5, 2013
By 
Linedancer "Bobbi" (Johnson City, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have a funny family story where my twin sister and I talked our parents into giving us the Barbie dolls that were meant for my younger sisters in the 50's. Somehow they overheard us doing this and have never forgiven us LOL. Whenever we all get together this is a story that we laugh about until we cry. One of my sisters is turning 60 and I thought this would be a great gift to surprise her with. Since I couldn't just give it to her and not my other sister, I bought two. I cannot wait to see their reactions!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down Memory Lane w/ an old friend..., February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Arrived promptly and was just as desribed. Bought 1 for a friend and 1 for myself. We were both seperated from our original 1959 Barbies and the 50th Anniversary Edition is as close to the original as you can find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1959 Barbie, December 17, 2012
By 
Amy122 "Ami-chan" (Statesville, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even tho I'm 26 years old, I now collect barbie's instead of playing with them. Not only do I collect the Holiday Dolls, Play Dolls, but I also collect the older verison of Barbie.

This one she looks exactly the same way she did when she was realese back in the 50's. Even tho I was born in '86. She's beautiful, one not to be played with if you know what I mean. Comes with everything is shown and said. Again, she's a beautiful doll and one not to be played with if you want her to look good forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Boss Barbie From 1959!, October 13, 2009
By 
Mr Doug Gordon (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie My Favorite Barbie: The Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll (Toy)
This is the first of 9 Barbies in the My Favorite Doll series. It's a nice repro of the Barbie that started it all. As a previous reviewer mentioned, her zebra stripe bathing suit is taped onto her chest. I removed this tape, and her bathing suit stays on fine. Some Isopropanol 99% works great to get rid of the goo left behind. One thing you have to watch out for on this Barbie, is her face paint and hair. This is where the quality control at Mattel is lacking. The ones I have seen, just have the elastic showing on her ponytail, and not wrapped with a strand of hair to give it a finished look and cover up the elastic. The other thing, is the make-up job on her. Some have messed up eye-shadow. The line between the blue eye-shadow and her eye-lashes is not straight, and on some of them blotchy in some places, like they didn't have enough paint to finish up the eye detail. The other point is the pupils of her eyes, some of them have the paint that has bled and looks blurry looking. Other than this, if you can find one that has proper hair and face paint, she looks really good. A lot better than the 35th Anniversary Barbie from '94. Back in '94, they didn't seem to spare on her hair. On the 2009 repro, Mattel has sewn hair around the perimeter of her hairline, so if you take out her elastic-which I don't recommend, she is completely bald inside her hairline. Other than this, the 1959 Barbie is a nice addition to anyone's Barbie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Barbie Doll, July 20, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie My Favorite Barbie: The Original Teenage Fashion Model Barbie Doll (Toy)
The Barbie was for my sister's 50th birthday. She was shipped to me in great shape and the price was very reasonable. I had seen it in other stores for much more. I can't wait until she sees it! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No