15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty and Fun, but not Somewhat Limited, September 29, 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I was kind of surprised by this Barbie when I took it out of the box. Based on the photos and description it's kind of hard to tell that this is not a normal Barbie...meaning you can't change her dress or outfit. While fun, and her dress does transform into a short skirt and you can pop on the other top that comes with it you can't put her in anything else, which is a drawback for me.

You can't really see it in the photos but the top of the dress is actually hard plastic that is shaped and faceted like a jewel, which is why you need the hard pop on interchangeable top that comes with the doll. You shorten the dress with a turn knob on her back that you twist to shorten the dress. It's fun and for some people not being able to change the dress might actually be preferable, but for my little one, one of her favorite things about playing Barbies is changing their outfits. Charm School Princess Blair is pretty, pink and sparkly, but is not really what I thought I was going to get based on the limited description and the photos, which is why I gave it only 4 stars instead of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for a sale!, September 27, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
I took my 6 year old to TRU as an early bday treat, and she picked this Barbie Princess Charm School doll over every single other toy in the entire store - I actually took her aisle by aisle to make sure she wouldn't regret her choice. She loves this Barbie Princess doll and has played with her faithfully everyday since we brought Blair home a week ago. This is a very pretty, surprisingly lightweight doll with articulated legs (for sitting, walking, etc.) and a neat "transforming" skirt function.

The problems I see with this doll are NOT shared with my 6 year old. The long underskirt is made of a metallic material which is obviously meant to be durable, but it also suffers ugly wrinkles and I'm already anticipating that this will actually rip soon. The twist knob on the back of the doll is very easy to use, but I can also see this breaking from repeated use. This Barbie came with VERY few accessories: a tiara, a flimsy neckless, the snap-on school shirt (which will actually be put to good use when our other princess Barbie loses her painted on glitter shirt), and a pair of heels. A few more, better quality accessories would have been the way to go, especially at this premium price (the other dolls in the Charm School line also have these similar accessories, but are packaged with more personal accessories like a 'soccer ball' purse as well)... at the very least a brush and 'princess' textbook would have been a nice touch! Speaking of brushes, Barbie's hair is falling out!!!! My daughter begged me to cut the threads holding the tiara in place, which I reluctantly did. Sure enough, Barbie's hair became one ugly, uneven, straw mess (makes me think of Ken's hair!) and the "hairline dots" in the doll are very difficult to hide. Even during very gentle play, Barbie's hair still sheds; how I wish this was a Fashionista doll so I could swap her head! Another surprising issue I had was with the 'easy open packaging.' The cardboard opening in the back ripped all over the place and I still had to cut into the plastic cover to get the doll out. Really would have liked nicer packaging like Mattel did for the 'Fashion Fairytale' dolls.

As a parent, I do NOT think this particular doll is worth the extra money for the transforming feature. But my daughter sure as heck does, and is more than happy with her choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ... a Barbie Doll With A Rubber Shirt, September 22, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Speaking as a dad, I freely admit that all Barbie dolls begin to look the same to me after awhile. This one is supposedly "Blair," but it's a blonde doll so it looks like Barbie to me. This doll comes with a transforming dress that can be made short or long, plus a plastic/rubber shell of a "shirt" that can be put over the top of the dress to make 3 different outfits. This seems an unnecessarily complex way of doing things. Why not make three outfits? Plus, the rubber top is annoying to get on, and my daughter is always asking for help with it (or she was, before she just abandoned it after a day or two).

Still, it's a pink princess doll, and my daughter was excited about that. I'm not sure, for the price, that it's really worth it though. I just don't see what the "transforming clothes" brings to the doll that it wouldn't have if they were just clothes that you changed her in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like, Not Love, October 20, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My daughter reports that she likes, not loves, this doll.

7 Year Old Likes:
Comes with a crown
She's pretty & looks like a real person
Looks like she does in the movie, except for her hair
Her shoes come off and on
Her plastic top can come on and off easily
It's easy to make the skirt go up and down
She comes along with a necklace
She has bendable knees

7 Year Old Dislikes:
*Her hair isn't curly like in the movie
Too many ads in the packaging
The thing you turn to make the dress go up and down is huge and looks silly
Her clothes can never ever come off
Her skirt gets too short

*I, the mom, disliked this as well. If a doll is going to cost $20, can't her hair be curly like it is in the ads? This was a real disappointment for me. Her hair is pretty boring and isn't curly at all. It still even has some creases in it from the strings used in the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre; Difficult to Use., July 22, 2012
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 1:03 Mins

In my opinion, part of the fun of playing with Barbie is changing their clothes. This Barbie doll is a deviation from the norm in that to change outfits, you pop the a hard plastic top off and on and twist a knob to shorten and lengthen her dress.

I am including a short clip of our 4-year-old using it. The twist mechanism that shortens the dress is hard for her to turn and she frequently requests help with it when she plays with it. The plastic shirt only covers the front of the Barbie and I rarely see that on her. Our daughter plays with her occasionally but prefers playing with her other Barbies.

Overall, our experience with this doll has been mediocre. We do not recommend it, and certainly not at a premium price over other less-featured Barbie dolls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One happy girl, November 15, 2011
By 
Angie (Eastern NC United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
My daughter wanted this Barbie for her birthday after seeing the movie. The price was fairly good. Her Grandma paid $19.97 at Walmart. Lately I have been disappointed with the way the newer barbies are made. This one was excellent but the legs seemed to be made of a thinner plastic. My daughter didn't notice and loves the way the dress goes up and down. It is very easy to operate and durable. Over all, a happy kid equals a happy mom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Student... Party Girl... Princess!, September 27, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This Barbie won't be for everyone, but it's certainly special and fun and I expect to see tons of these at upcoming birthday parties because of the glamorous appearance of the shiny dress, the cool 'gimmick' and the reasonable price.

As far as Barbies go, this one has a fairly hard plastic body with blond-blond hair that is not super long, posable legs, but not arms. Besides the layered pink confection of a dress that you can see in the picture, the wardrobe also includes a tiara, pink heels, a snap-on blouse thingie, and a necklace.

These things are important because there is a button and winder in back so that this Barbie won't be able to enjoy her predecessor's vast wardrobe. At least not without looking like the hunchback of Notre Dame's sister. It's this dress in it's various forms, with or without the school girl shirt and tie, or nada.

Now given that giving Barbie a make-over is what most girls long to do, this might be a drawback. However, that drawback is overcome by the fact you can twist the winder in the back and shorten the dress from Princess long to school girl short and everything in between. And who can then resist pushing the release button and watch the doll's garb fly around like a helicopter as it goes back to it's longest length. Certainly not I.

THE SKINNY:::
This is a Barbie with a gimmick. The gimmick is great fun for those that like to endless toy with skirt lengths.

The one drawback is that this Barbie is limited as to what she can wear. The winding mechanism in the back prohibits using other outfits. Or at least, most other outfits, which might frustrate the desire of all those little people who can't resist removing all of the poor thing's clothing the moment she is free of all those wire ties. [Note: not too many ties for this one! My daughter managed to get it free herself.][

Misc: If you clip off the tiara there are threads that are left that can't be pulled. So get out those tiny scissors. [I was told it was ridiculous for a school girl to wear a tiara, so off it came. Mother's, of course, know that once the tiara comes off, it will shortly go missing.]

My daughter has tons of Barbies so I don't know that I would buy this for her. BUT I wouldn't hesitate to purchase for a special gift for the daughters of friends for birthday parties or holidays.

Pam T~
mom/blogger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty barbie with clothes that don't come off., September 22, 2011
By 
BOOKFreak! (Spanish Fork Ut.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I like that the top doesn't come off. It has a second school girl top you can pop on or what my girls have already done dress her in some thing else entirely. My biggest complaint about barbies in general is the accessories are so little and are lost so quickly. No one knows where her shoe is already. But that is not the company's fault. She is a very pretty doll and as long as you don't pull too hard all her body parts stay attached pretty well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great first Barbie, September 22, 2011
By 
N. Cousino (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My 3 and 1/2 year old is just getting into the phase of wanting to play with Barbies and dolls and dress them up, ect. She is still learning how to coordinate her little fingers to work with little accessories and parts that are very tiny (some of the Barbie clothes, shoes and the like), but this Barbie is perfect for her and does not require a lot of work to change her outfit.

You raise the hot-pink foil skirt by turning a small crank on the back of the doll, and you release it by pushing a small button under the crank - my daughter was able to do this easily on her own once I showed her. The extra shirt-top that is included is different for a Barbie - it simply snaps on over the upper half of the doll, it's a hard plastic piece-it really only covers the front of the doll, and then when you want it off you pull it off. Again my daughter was easily able to do this on her own once I showed her what to do.

For the price and styles available and accessories included, I think this is a good buy - I do think it's a good first Barbie for younger kids who will enjoy something a bit simpler than some of the other options out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blair is having a bad hair day!, October 2, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Princess Charm School Princess Blair Transforming Doll (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
My four-year-old daughter absolutely loves the whole Princess Charm School line so of course she was excited to get Blair. I love that Blair's clothes do not come off since my daughter tends to undress her dolls and then neglects to redress them. She is really into pink these days so that just made this Barbie all the more coveted. Blair's skirt is easy to shorten and lengthen with the knob on her back. This Barbie is surprisingly lightweight considering this feature. The accessories are the usual cheap plastic pieces but that is just how Barbie rolls. However, I have been pretty disappointed with the hair on this particular Barbie in that it arrived looking straight and ratty when it is rather fluffy and curly in the picture. My daughter commented on this fact first thing and I have to say that the quality of the hair is really lacking as it looks worse as time goes on. It really took away from the doll's over all appeal right out of the box. Maybe Blair needed an adjustable hair knob as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No