15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet addition to Barbie movie line-up, November 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
First of all, I want to start my review by saying that we have ALL the Barbie movies and my daughter has loved and enjoyed each and every one. From an adult perspective, I think some are better than others, and that includes this movie. I am not sure what the pull is with this movie, I think it's ok, but my daughter AND my son are nuts over this movie, and have watched it over and over and over, and so on. The music is nice and catchy and my kids dance alot to the music.

The movie is about Barbie and her 3 sisters making it to NY for Christmas and they get snowed in at an inn that is getting ready for Christmas. The girls begin to wonder if the owner and the workers are Santa's helpers. While stranded, the girls discover what really makes a perfect Christmas.

These movies are made for children, so, from my children's perspective I will give this movie 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good clean fun with no scary villains, November 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
We own nearly every Barbie movie. Some we love, some not so much. My preschool daughter often gets scared of some of the villains that are in the other Barbie movies. She loves this movie because it doesn't have any mean people or scary parts. She gets up and dances to some of the songs. Is it going to win any awards for best picture? Absolutely not. But it's good clean fun that my barbie-loving preschooler can enjoy, and that alone, earns it 5 stars for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down..., November 12, 2011
By 
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
First, I really wish they would bring back the previous voice of Barbie...it just hasn't been the same since they changed after Mermaid Tale. The songs in this movie seemed odd and out of place. The older Barbie movies with songs just made more sense & the singing was MUCH better than in this film. Every time they would start a song in this movie, my daughters (5 & 8) were frustrated because it took so long for the song to end. The story was ok - had potential to be a really special story but just fell flat. I'm not sure what direction they are trying to take the brand - but it isn't really appealing to the target market of little girls that I know. A good start would be bringing back the other Barbie voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay but not as good as other movies, November 9, 2011
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
My daughters were excited for this movie coming out so I bought it the same day. We watched it I have to say I wasnot impressed the singing is not great the storyline is a little bleh it culd have been made a little more exciting and magical we have the latest movies charm school, fairy secret fashion fairytale mermaid etc and we love all these movies but I have to honestly say I wish I had waited to rent it instead of buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kids Will Love It, Grown Ups Maybe Not, November 11, 2011
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
As an adult, I've seen a lot of kids movies...that goes with the territory when you are a parent. Some of them I find I enjoy every bit as much as movies targeted towards grown ups. In fact, I feel that way about some of the older Barbie Movies. This one, not quite so much.

To be fair, my daughter likes it a lot (if she were doing this review she might even give it more stars), and I can see how it would appeal to younger kids, and fact, this movie seems to be really targeted towards a younger age than the last few. With Santa as an invisible cast member in this flick, I think that is to be expected. I think there are some nice messages about how spending time with family is important and can be better than anything else in life. I even think some of the songs are catchy, though definitely there is a strong pop influence.

For anybody who wants a plot breakdown, Barbie and her sisters are planning their "perfect" Christmas in New York City, where each one will be doing an activity by themselves that they really enjoy. But nasty snow storms ground their flight and leave them seeking shelter seemingly in the middle of nowhere at the Tannenbaum Inn, where they are welcomed by the every-jolly Christie Clausen and the Elif family. With a heaping dose of magic from a frequently mentioned, but never shown Santa Claus (Christie's Uncle), the sisters learn for themselves that spending time together is what really makes their Christmas perfect.

When seen from the eyes of a child, this is a cute movie...and since it is for the children, their perspective matters in determining if this movie is worth buying. I don't regret it...I may not watch it when she grows up, but for now it is good for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clean and sweet!, November 12, 2011
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
Thought this movie was very clean and sweet. I guard everything my little girls watch. This one has no romance, no rude language or indecent clothes which I truly appreciate in this generation movies... The story teaches us that the unplanned may be better, and to have an open heart to accept help and be united in the middle of the unexpected. It's very sweet and fun too! My girls and I Love it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugliest Barbie film EVER!, January 17, 2012
By 
L. A. Baker (Westchester, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
This is hands down the most poorly executed Barbie film yet. Evidently, hundreds of millions in profit a year are not enough for a corporation like Mattel, because now they've yanked production from Rainmaker in Vancouver and shipped it off to Technicolor in India. It's a pretty telling sign of how little respect Mattel must have for us when they assume that we'll buy off on this visually ugly movie, because, "What the heck, it's Barbie, so they'll buy anything right?" Wrong.

"Barbie in the Nutcracker" was made 11 years ago and the characters looked more alive than in this drek. In this movie, Barbie and her sisters are lifeless automatons with robotic motions, plastic faces, and dead staring eyes. The toy dolls have more personality! Mattel has always cut costs by using motion capture (recording people in suits like Avatar) rather than using actual animators, but I honestly didn't think you could make animated characters look this stiff and dead in 2012.

As for the movie itself, it is vanilla bland and harmless. The message is fine,if not somewhat overstated. There are so many songs jammed in to help pad out the thin story that even my daughter grew tired of them after a while. I'm so happy that she is growing out of Barbie, because I honestly wouldn't want to reward Mattel with any more of my hard-earned money for such sub-par offerings.

Their last, best movie was "A Mermaid's Tale". It was well done and was the last to star Kelly Sheridan as Barbie's voice. Unfortunately, she must been cost reduced as well, but she will always be THE voice of Barbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't meet expectations for a Barbie movie, January 5, 2012
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
We have seen every Barbie movie (I have three girls ages 3-10)and own our favorites. This has got the be the worst one I have seen in terms of quality. The music and singing is awful. The younger girls are not even singing on pitch and the older girls singing voices are below average. My older girls even said that the singing is really bad and they should bring back the old Barbie speaking and singing voice. The actual plot is ok, but not great. At least it does encourage a pro-family message at Christmas. My 3 yr old has watched it twice and then told me to take it back. You dropped the ball on this one, Barbie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horable Music, December 9, 2011
This review is from: Barbie: A Perfect Christmas (DVD)
Ok the story of a perfect Christmas was good but the songs were really bad. My 5 year old daughter said something about it. Can they not get good singers for these characters? Even barbie was not even that good. this is why we think it is a 3 out of a 5. other than that it was ok. it seams like the movies are just getting worse as they go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have to give it 5 stars because my granddaughter loved it. She has watched it at least 4 times in the last week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No