4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dad's perspective, September 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As far as kid's songs go, and especially "direct to DVD" movie soundtracks, this is pretty good. Great melodies and harmonies and the artists have wonderful voices. Only problem I have with it is how often my little girl listens to it, and how the songs get STUCK IN MY HEAD ALL DAY!!! :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not the best of the Barbie musical offerings, November 24, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
I'm an adult fan of the Barbie movie and music genre, and have collected Barbie and other fashion dolls for many years, so I'm probably biased where these movies and soundtracks are concerned. However, I have to say that this CD is a letdown, especially after Barbie Sings!: The Princess Movie Song Collection. After a CD with 22 tracks from 4 movies, Diamond Castle follows up with half the tracks and half the appeal for the same price.

Don't get me wrong-- kids will love this music just as much as the other Barbie movie soundtrack albums, and that's why I rated it as high as I did. If as an adult you know you'll be trapped listening to these over and over, be aware that these are pop-like tunes that leave something to be desired when compared to previous Barbie movie music. I like the sugary pop genre, and have enjoyed the other pop tunes that came out of the Barbie movies, but these are just plain lacking. "Double Vision," sung by the two guys in the movie, is downright irritating.

My other criticism was that when they didn't have enough music to make a decent album, they went with 2 repeats from previous films instead of combining it with a future soundtrack or including more original music. Of the 9 Diamond Castle tracks, only 2 are movie versions. The Tinkerbell movie soundtrack is a much better choice if you're looking for those feelgood pop tunes. Buy it for the kids; adult collectors and Barbie film aficionados will be just as happy without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful!!!, September 7, 2008
By 
Kat's Treasures (Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
Barbie is back with another wonderful fairy tale musical! Best friends Liana and Alexa fight against evil to rescue their new friend Melody found trapped in a mirror. If you loved Barbie's Princess and the Pauper...you'll love this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music for a 6 year old, October 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My six year old and 4 year old had already memorized a lot of the words to the songs in this movie, so I bought the MP3s here on Amazon.

The purchase process:
The download process is good, and I like how I can use them in the ipod, in my car, and on my cell phone (which is not a iphone) because its just mp3s. Much better than buying on iTunes.

2 songs did not download because my computer shut down unexpectedly. This was because it downloaded some update from Microsoft. Amazon quickly made them available for me to re-download.

The music themselves:
The songs themselves are good, with good values. Yes, they are sub-average pop songs, there isn't anything really stellar or unique about them. But they are easy to learn to sings and have a decent tune, and the girls really like them, so I'm happy about it.

We listen to A LOT Of kids music and this was a good way to refresh our collection with something new. I really prefer it to Hannah Montana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't like Barbie, September 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
This cd is perfect! My daughter sing and sing. The other day I found myself listening to it without them. My oldest daughter even likes to use this music to pratice her ballet moves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie and the Diamond Castle CD, September 16, 2008
By 
Reinaldo Quiros "Rey" (Guayanilla, Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
Barbie & The Diamond Castle Soundtrack features 12 songs, 10 new tracks from the sure-fire mega-hit DVD and two favorites from previously released DVDs. This is the first Barbie fantasy movie with contemporary music and is sure to have little girls singing and dancing along. Includes the hit song, Connected, performed by Katharine McPhee. Track Listing: 1. Two Voices, One Song -Pop Version, 2. Connected -Katharine McPhee Pop Version, 3. We're Gonna Find It -Pop Version, 4. Believe -Pop Version, 5. Two Voices, One Song -Movie Version, 6. Connected -Movie Version - Meet Melody edit, 7. Wonderful Me, 8. We're Gonna Find It -Movie Version, 9. Double Vision, 10. Believe -Acoustic Version, 11. I Need To Know, 12. Shine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Never not be a fan., July 1, 2012
Okay, I'm 13. I should be a little bit too old, but I swear, some of these movies will NEVER get old. Not to say that some of them weren't flops, but Princess and the Pauper, Swan Lake, 12 dancing princesses, and this one are by far my favorites, and the music has a large say in that. This music helps the story flow a whole lot better than if there wasn't any. It helps you feel for your characters to a point of feeling what they feel. It's great, and i hope they never stop the musical business of barbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The love that suprised me., January 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
I have never been a mother that would introduce her daughter to Barbie or her products, but as my daughter grew up, she introduced me to this character and I found out how much beautiful and insightful she is. I am a very practical and down to earth person and always had this view of Barbie as being too dreamy or "out there", without any particular lessons for girls, not in touch with life and its demands. But when I and my daughter first saw the movie premier on TV "Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper" I just found myself back in my childhood years and loved Barbie just there and then.
My daughter has all Barbie movies, many of her dolls and has learned so much about character, perseverance, faith, friendship, love, compassion, attitude, behavior - and so many attributes that form a good human being. I like the songs, the books and find them inspiring. Introducing my daughter to Barbie has been a blessing. She enjoys beauty and understands that it is in fact something that lives inside a person, not just the fascia of a doll.
Thank you to the creators who have taken the classic tales and presented them to this generation in such modern, yet simple and understandable way, that it educates them and nourishes them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful harmonies and lovely melodies, November 18, 2008
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
The music from this Barbie movie is just beautiful. I really have enjoyed listening to it. What I find disappointing is that the real musicians - the real singers, are not referenced except to say "Barbie and the Cast". I believe singers that are this talented should have a tag and get credit for their singing. According to some research I did - the singers are Melissa Lyons, Cassidy Ladden, Lara Janine, Jeremy From and Noel Johansen. This is the only complaint I have - the singers themselves should be acknowledged with their names for their talents.

these are wonderful folk rock songs and very enjoyable. and they will stick with you after you have heard them.

jane/NJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sing Along, October 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie & The Diamond Castle (Audio CD)
My Daughter loves Barbie, happy to hear the songs , in the car or anywhere she goes with her iPod
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No