38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wings fall off all the time, February 18, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
Think twice before buying this Barbie. I bought two for my girls on Valentine's Day. On one barbie, the plastic clip broke the second I tried to snap the wing on. On the other barbie, the wings haven't broken (yet), but they fall off all the time. With three children under the age of five, I don't have time to stop every seven seconds to refasten the wings. And it's not easy. It takes concerted effort and thought to snap those suckers in! I'd return the darn things, but I had to rip the box apart just to get the doll and her enormous wings out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glued on the wings-my daughter LOVES it!, September 28, 2008
By 
A. Azcuy "Happy Mom" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
After a few days of snapping the wings back on every 5 minutes my husband decided to glue them on permanently. I was skeptical but my daughter agreed to it. It has worked out beautifully. My 6 year old daughter LOVES this doll and walks around with it everywhere. In spite of the wing problem I'm glad we bought it for her. Her enjoyment was worth the 20 bucks. He used some super duper glue but they have stayed on- heaven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wings fall off, March 16, 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
My 4 yr old daughter got this Barbie today as a gift. I, too, spent the afternoon snapping the wings back on until finally I had to tell her to play with just the Barbie doll so I could get dinner done! I will say that she loves the feature that makes them unfold with the button push on the back.

She left this Barbie on the floor and went back to her Barbie as the Island Princess playset, which she loves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fancy wings, March 5, 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
My five year old daughter has been playing with this doll for a few days now and the wings have fallen off a few times, but they're easy enough to snap back on. They're huge, so can't really expect them to stay on forever. Have not had problems with breakage, but design could be done a little better to keep them on longer.

Pretty neat feature with the wings, where they snap together to form a smaller "wing" and then when you press a button on the back, it snaps to the full larger size.

My daughter got this purely based on watching the video on cable... marketing at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a piece of junk!?!?, June 22, 2008
By 
P. Anschel (Asheville, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
Yes, as all the other reviews say, the wings fall off constantly. I've designed plastic retention clips for automotive applications and can safely say that they designed the clips incorrectly. Mattel should be embarassed with how badly their designers blew this design and recall the doll - it is junk. Within the first 30 minutes of play, I put the wings back on 10 times and finally told my daughter not to try to play with the wings. What a disaster of a toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I should have never bought this thing!!!, July 19, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
I purchased this doll for my daughter's 5th birthday. She loves Barbie and wanted this "beautiful fairy doll" for her collection. One of her biggest attraction's to this doll were the wings... but they have become MY biggest headache. They are continuously falling off, regardless of what she is doing with the doll. I feel like I am putting them back on every other minute when she is playing with this doll. It frustrates me that Mattel has put out a doll that is not up to their usual par. I would have returned this doll, but my daughter loves it so much that I couldn't do that to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars annoying, April 3, 2008
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
Again, the wings fall off all the time. It's really annoying. If my daughter puts it down on its back, at least one wing falls off every time she picks it up. She loves the darn thing, but can't put the wings on by herself, so more than once has ended up crying because it keeps falling apart. I know it's only a matter of time before a wing gets lost - why would we ever want the wings to come off? Why couldn't they just fuse the wings to the doll in the first place?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice doll, but I'd pick the one with smaller wings, June 6, 2008
By 
JG (CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
My daughter has never seen the Mariposa movie, but fell in love with this doll because it's a fairy and a Barbie--the best of both worlds as far as she's concerned. We've had the doll about a month now and haven't had any problems with the wings just "falling off." They do come off if the doll bumps hard enough against something or if they're twisted just so, but definitely no falling off the doll with the slightest movement. They seem to snap onto the back of the doll quite snugly, but perhaps they will wear over time?

I do have to say though, that if I had it to do over again I wouldn't have bought this doll--I would have bought the Barbie Fairytopia Mariposa Doll which has much, much smaller wings. Unfortunately I didn't realize a version with smaller wings was available until I already bought the Magic Wings one. The only reason I'd buy the one with smaller wings is that even my daughter finds the size of the large wings annoying sometimes. Often she'll leave the wings at home or in the car when we go out, because although she wants to take her pretty doll with her, she doesn't want to deal with those huge wings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The wings don't stay in place!, September 3, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
My daughter loved the Barbie, it is really a beautiful doll. However the wings don't stay in place, they keep falling, and it looks like it's a fabrication deffect. Did you have the same problem?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The wings constantly come off he doll., November 28, 2008
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Mariposa Magic Wings Mariposa Doll (Toy)
I would not recommend his Mariposa Barbie. The wings constantly come off the doll and it is not easy for a child to put them back on, requiring parent intervention every couple of minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No