19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kids love this movie - I think it is really for under 6 year olds, October 4, 2005
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
My under 5 year olds LOVE this movie. They find it spell binding and on rainy days they like this or just about any of the Barbie movies to go on. As an adult I find it one of the less entertaining Barbie movies, but it has some really good points to it.

It is one of the first of the Barbie movies and is set in the 'fantasy' world of the sevententh century, a time of magic and dragons. It is very very loosely based around the story of Rapunzel although the only real reference to Rapunzel is that she lives in a tower, has long hair and has a Rapunzel style dream sequence.

It is very fairy tale beginning - beautiful girl forced to do chores for a step-mother character - (who is ably voiced by Angelica Houston). I really like the animal sidekicks here - Penelope the dragon and Hobie the Hare who are her friends and allies in all things.

Rapunzel lives in isolation, working for Gottel, her stepmother, until one day by accident she discovers that not only are her parents not dead, but she can escape from the castle - which she does - ending up in a nearby village. There she meets a Prince and finds out that the prince and his father the king have been in constant battle with the neighbouring kingdom. She asks the simple question why - but it is answerable. Gottel finds out where she has been and imprisons her in a tower - but through goodness and friendship Rapunzel prevails.

What I really liked about this movie is the importance of friendship and love - which wins through in the end. This values honesty and good values in all things, including believing in yourself and your children, and being able to admit when you are wrong.

What I really like best is that Rapunzel wins through in the end - she saves herself, with some help from her friends, but she is the prime mover in her own fate and I think that is so nice.

There are some genuinely funny moments and I love some of the animation - the bit where Rapnuzel's dress is changed by Magic is brilliant, and then watching it from outside the tower is a really stunning scene.

Overall I would have rated this movie as a 3- 3.5 simply because I find it repetitive and boring - the dancing barbie movies I enjoy much more like swan lake and Princess and the Pauper (which I love). However my Children adore this, and this movie is written for them - so 5 stars it is - we have had it about a year and the novelty hasn't worn off yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU MUST SEE THIS FANTASTIC MOVIE!!!, January 22, 2003
I am not a big Barbie fan so it took alot to get me to see this movie. I couldn't believe how wonderful it was. The story line was captivating, the graphics were fantastic and Angelica Huston was superb.The music to this film is by the London Symphony Orchestra!! You MUST see this movie!! WOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This one took me like a storm in the night., August 19, 2003
By 
Selena Esparza (Durham, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
I remember last year before christmas I wanted a movie something different and this was it.I sat until after twelve midnight I had to view this movie twice, back to back then literally had a panicattack cause I had to have the dolls to display at home for myself It was like becoming a lil girl all over again.Once you see the movie you'll absolutely fall in love with your favorite barbie doll again or maybe Barbie as Rapunzel will become become your new Barbie ir 1st,either way you can't go wrong,After a long day and a long bubble bath sit back relax and watch Barbie as Rapunzel you'll be glad you did.I did and will cherish it Forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great movie from Barbie, October 5, 2002
By 
Chialing Hsu (Plainsboro, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
I love watching this movie with my 5 and 3-year-old kids. This is truely a fun and enjoyable movie for kids of all ages and even adults. Also this movie is very child-friendly with very little frightening scenes compared to Barbie's first movie "Barbie in the Nutcracker". Even the evil Gothel wasn't that scary compared to the evil Mouse King. The picture quaility is very good, and the music is delightful. I'll recommend this movie to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasure To Watch, January 21, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
This was the first of the three Barbie movies I watched. I loved this little family film, and it inspired me to watch the other two, although, Rapunzel still remains my favorite (and the only one I own the dvd of).
Honestly, I never liked the original Rapunzel story (a bit silly)and when I sat down to watch this with my niece and nephew, I was not looking forward to another cornball children's show. The changes made to the story were definate improvements
I think.
I was very happy with it and the kids love it too!
My nephew (4 years old) likes the movie eventhough he is a boy, I would probably not expect this dvd to be in a single man's collection, but to everyone else with kids, you'll enjoy it. Nothing not to like really, just a simple, clean, fun movie for the young and the young at heart.
I hope they continue to make barbie movies that are more fantasy story oriented (like Rapunzel) rather than the other two ballet based films in which I found the long dancing scenes to be a bit nausiating, takes away from the film I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a review from a 5 and a half year old, November 17, 2002
By A Customer
we rented this video for our little girl and she loved it! Even her father and I actually watched it to see what would happen in the end. Our daughter liked Barbie's magic paintbrush the best. She also liked it because it showed the consequences between a lying heart and a true heart - you have to watch it to find out! We're sure you and your family will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspires Children's Imaginations!, September 1, 2004
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
I was so surprised to see the lukewarm reviews about this video. My 4 1/2 yr. old son and 2 1/2 yr. old daughter watched it repeatedly when we rented it from the video store, so now we are buying it.

I watched it with them several times and was completely enchanted with the original twist on the familiar Rapunzel tale. This version is full of interesting characters, including dragons, dueling kings, and even children. I loved the entire concept of the magic paintbrush as a portal into the village. How unique!

Sure, the animation wasn't exactly as well-done as, say, "Finding Nemo," and the story line was less than perfect, but it was certainly exciting and interesting, even to an adult who was watching it repeatedly with her preschoolers.

I was hesitant to introduce my daughter to the world of Barbie, so to speak, but now that there are such fun new fairy tale characters and ideas to explore, I am much more of a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully entertaining!, August 31, 2005
By 
K. Hoffman (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
My 3-year-old niece and I love to watch this movie. The story is an imaginative, highly entertaining variation on the classic Rapunzel fairy tale. The characters are vivid and believable and the graphics are beautiful (though the animation in all Barbie movies is fairly primitive). Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Beautiful Barbie Tale, July 2, 2003
By 
M. Skinger (Southbury, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
The animation is beautiful, the music pretty. My girls, ages 6 and 4, adore this movie - they especially like the 'dressup Rapunzel' game on the DVD. The extra's are interesting, too and worth watching.
This is one movie that any young (or old)barbie fan will enjoy many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Charming, November 2, 2005
By 
meowwwwwww (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie as Rapunzel (DVD)
This is a very imaginative retelling of the fairytale Rapunzel. With likable characters, a love-to-hate villan, bright colors, lots of magic, and a hauntingly beautiful score plus a very lovely lullaby, Barbie as Rapunzel is a feast for all fairytale lovers young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No