535 of 545 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military wives, single moms, etc... Here's a review for YOU!, March 1, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
As it always seems to work out, my husband is deployed for my daughter's third birthday. I'd like to call myself a "pro" at putting together children's toys and furniture at this point. So I'm going to break this review down for all you military wives, single moms, wives whose husbands travel for business, and the ladies who just want to do it themselves!

Why I love Amazon.com -
They almost always have the best price! They offer free super saver shipping on many items. They ship things out very quickly and offer tracking on all of your packages!

Why I love KidKraft -
Almost every big item we have for our daughters is made by Kidkraft (kitchen set, various kitchen accessories, table and chairs, bookshelves, toy box, train set and table, wall shelves, and now the dollhouse!) The packaging of the hardware is excellent and easy to find pieces. Everything is always VERY sturdy. It's a much more eco-friendly option than the big plastic pieces you can find by other companies. The price is right for the quality item you recieve. The customer service is one of the best I've ever come across. They even have a place on their website where you can order missing or broken parts without the hassle of having to call. (I've only ever needed a part once out of all of our items! They shipped it quick, even around Christmas time.) I suggest ordering ahead of time if you can, just in case you are missing a part or something is broken. That way you're not disappointed! And remember.. mistakes happen, we're all human!

Why I love this dollhouse -
It IS HUGE! The children in the display photo are not scaled down. Some people may not like this, but I however; love it! We have two toddler girls, and needed something that would be big enough for both of them to play with to avoid future temper tantrums. For the price, you get double the dollhouse you get from other models that are just a small amount cheaper. It will accomodate Barbie dolls once my girls start playing with them instead of their other dolls. This is something we will have for a long time, and I am confidant that the girls will be able to grow into it, and that the construction will last!

Some tips for construction by yourself, ladies! -
1. You will need a big (+) screwdriver and a little (+) screwdriver. You may need a (-) screwdriver to hold in some pieces at points. Kidkraft supplies the allen key. If you need a glass of wine, I suggest white, just in case it spills ;)
2. You will need a large space to build this, since there are points when the house will need to be on its side.
3. Unwrap all of your pieces. Read through all instructions before beginning as well as check and count all of your parts. I personally go through step by step and place the parts I will need in bunches.
4. Make sure you have the time to do this all. You will only get frustrated if the kids are awake, or you set a time limit to get this all done by! I did this during naptime and once the girls were in bed. All in all I think it took me about 2.5 hours to get it done, but this is also coming from a woman who can do this stuff with her eyes closed at this point.
5. Take your time to really look at the photos in the instruction manual. Plan it all out in your head first, then do it.
6. If the screw's paint doesn't match the spot it's in.. it's in the wrong place.
7. If something needs to be forced, it's probably in the wrong place or you need a new part. Kidkraft's items usually go together seamlessly. This is another reason I am a huge fan.
8. The wall makes a good "partner." If you need to hold something up, just put it against the wall.
9. Take your time, and don't get frustrated. You'll be SO proud when it's all done!

Some more fun facts -
I am 5'1", and the house is almost as tall as I am. If you are short.. get a step stool to screw the roof on! The box is 70lbs. when shipped. If you can, get your delivery man to place it right where you are going to set it up.. especially if you're a pregnant momma!

I hope this helped!
Overall I would recommend this dollhouse to all of my friends and family. My daughter has not yet played with it, but I just know that from the moment she wakes up on her birthday that this house will be played with daily for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 80 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It IS really big. But SO great!, December 6, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I ordered this last week with no reviews to go off of. I was a little bit nervous to see if it would live up to expectation. I think it is really fabulous!! I am about 5'8" and the top of the house comes up to my collar bone. It is really big with more than enough room for my 3 daughters to play Barbie dolls and such. The furniture pieces are really sturdy, and I am really excited to give it to them from Santa. Yes, the box comes unwrapped unless you change the gift option. It is a LARGE cardboard box, but no color picture on the side. Just a printed drawing. I was concerned about the elevator not moving easily, so when I built the house, I didn't tighten the screws on the elevator all the way. It slides up and down pretty well. It's not really smooth, but better than tightening them so tight that it has to be forced up and down. I wasn't too sure about this house before I bought it, and I was fully prepared to send it back, but I am really pleased. If you are on the fence about this, I would say GET IT! Fantastic price for how big the house really is. It really does take a while to put together, and I would recommend two people, but no other problems to report.......except that now I find to find a place to put it after Christmas. It is really that big! Good luck all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS REVIEW WILL SAVE YOU TIME AND HELP YOU DECIDE PLEASE READ!, November 29, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
THIS ITEM IS AMAZING!!!! FOR STARTERS I PRICE WATCHED FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE PURCHASING IN EARLY NOVEMBER 2011 AND LUCKY ME I GOT THIS DOLLHOUSE FOR 165.00 WITH TAX AND FREE SHIPPING WITH THE AMAZON PRIME TRIAL SUBSCRIPTION (SO WORTH IT). THIS IS USUALLY SOLD FOR $250- TO UPWARDS OF $300 DEPENDING ON INVENTORY AND SELLER

SHIPPING- THIS IS QUITE HEAVY ESPECIALLY WHEN TRYING TO GO UP A FLIGHT OF STAIRS- SHIPPING WEIGHT IS OVER 60 LBS IT IS PACKAGED NICELY BUT MAKE SURE IT DOESNT RAIN WHEN YOUR EXPECTING THE SHIPMENT---ALSO KEEP IN MIND IT IS SOUROUNDED BY STYROFOAM SO CLEAN UP IS NECCESSARY WHEN DONE AFTER ASSEMBLY

PACKAGING-CONSISTS OF FLAT BOARDS SEPERATED BY STYROFOAM A CARDBOARD AND PLASTIC SEPERATER LABELED BY LETTERS FOR THE SCREWS& ALLEN WRENCHES- ALSO HAS SOME SMALL ADDITIONAL BOXES WITH ACCESSORIES (SET THESE UP ON A TABLE OFF TO THE SIDE)

DURABILITY- WHEN PUTTING IT TOGETHER YOU WILL HAVE MIXED FEELINGS...KIND OF FEELS FLIMSY AND CHEAPLY MADE UNTIL IT IS ASSEMBLED COMPLETELY...THIS IS THE TYPE OF ITEM WERE EVERY ADDITIONAL ITEM YOU ADD ON HELPS REINFORCE THE STRUCTURE MORE AND MORE...DON'T BE WORRIED THE BEGINNING MAY SEEM LIKE A FRAGILE STAGE

ASSEMBLY---THIS PART IS CRUCIAL!! I DID IT BY MYSELF...I AM A DO IT MYSELF TYPE OF WOMAN BUT AM VERY IRRITABLE AT TIMES AND I MANAGED JUST FINE. THE MOST IMPORTANT THING TO DO IS ASSESS THE PROJECT SIZE AND TO GET THE RIGHT TOOLS ....PHILLPS HEAD SCREW DRIVER (REGULAR SIZE) WOOD GLUE (TO HELP REINFORCE IF YOU FEEL THE NEED TO) PETROLEUM JELLY (I'LL EXPLAIN LATER = )
SOME KEY THINGS TO KEEP IN MIND ARE THAT THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL HAS NO WORDS..(PICTURES ONLY ) THE SCREWS FOR 80% OF THE PROJECT ARE COLOR CODED- MEANING THAT WHILE THEY DON'T REFER TO THEM USING COLOR, IF YOU ARE FOR INSTANCE SCREWING TO WALL PANELS TOGETHER ON THE OUTSIDE AND WHERE THE HOLE IS , THE WALL IS YELLOW MOST LIKELY THE SCREW IS GOING TO BE YELLOW
PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO WHICH LETTER SCREWS YOU ARE POPPING OUT AS TO NOW MIX THEM TOGETHER ON ACCIDENT (THIS WOULD BE A PAIN).

THE ELEVATOR- THIS IS THE FIRST THING YOU WILL PUT TOGETHER. WHERE IT SLIDES UP AND DOWN GREASE HEAVILY WITH PETROLEUM JELLY...IF NOT YOU WILL REGRET IT...CAN BE VERY HARD IF NOT DONE TO MOVE IT UP AND DOWN

***IMPORTANT***
WHEN YOU GET TO THE STEP WHEN SLIDING THE PANELS IN THAT END UP BEING THE BACK WALL OF THE DOLLHOUSE BE GENTLEEEEEEEEEE AT THIS POINT THE OTHER SIDE OF THE HOUSE HAS NOT BEEN ATTACHED IF YOU MOVE THIS THE WRONG WAY THE WOOD WILL CRACK! I USED STOOLS TO HELP KEEP THE FLOORS IN PLACED WHILE I SCREWED THEM IN..THIS WORKED WELL

MAKE SURE YOU ARE ALWAYS USING THE RIGHT SCREWS! IF YOU PUT THE WRONG SCREW IN AND IT IS TO BIG YOU WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE PART OR PURCHASE WOOD FILLER TO HELP FILL THE HOLE AGAIN FOR A SNUG FIT

THIS WAS NOT OVERWHELMING UNTIL I GOT THE WHOLE HOUSE COMPLETED AND REALIZED I STILL HAD TO ATTACH THE LEFT SIDE WITH THE DOORS...AT THIS POINT A BREAK WAS NEEDED

SUPRISES-----THE FURNITURE WAS HUGE COMPARED TO THE PICTURES ON THE NET...TO GET A REAL FEEL LOOK AT THE SIZE OF YOUR PALM..ONE OF THE TABLES INCLUDED MAYBE SLIGHTLY BIGGER THAN THIS...THE FURNITURE MAKES IT ALLLLLLLLLLLLLL WORTH IT!

THIS DOLLHOUSE IS HUGE COMES UP TO MY SHOULDER AND I AM 5' 5'' ! A GOOD IDEA WOULD BE TO USE A LATCH SYSTEM TO ATTATCH IT TO A WALL OR TO DRILL IT (WILL DAMAGE LOOK) FROM THE INSIDE TO A WALL.

ALSO IF YOU NEED ANY REPLACEMENT PARTS (WITHIN 90 DAYS OF RECEIPT) DUE TO DAMAGED, BROKEN,CRACKED, CHIPPED PAINT CONTACT KIDKRAFT DIRECTLY THEY ARE GREAT ABOUT NO HASSLE REPLACEMENTS YOU DONT EVEN HAVE TO SPEAK TO A LIVE PERSON! HOW GREAT

CONCERNS: THAT IT WILL FALL ON MY DAUGHTER DUE TO ROUGH PLAY...IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR NEED HELP EMAIL ME AT RUSSELL.DANIELLEM@GMAIL.COM

FINAL THOUGHTS---THIS WILL BE THE BEST GIFT YOUR PRINCESS HAS EVER RECEIVED NEXT TO A PUPPY...I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MUCH OF JOY THIS IS!
THANKS FOR READING,

DIY GURU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificant!, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
We purchased the KidKraft Majestic Dollhouse for my 3.5 year old daughter for Christmas. She loves another doll house she has, and using her imagination, so we thought this would be a great fit. So far she loves it! The size is just right for Barbie sized dolls, and also some random ponies and other things she puts in there. There is a lot of space for her to play and I am so happy to see her enjoying this gift. She makes up little scenarios with the dolls (Ariel doll is having lunch at the kitchen table with the penguin) and its wonderful to see her being so creative and engaged.
The dollhouse itself is extremely well crafted. All the little furniture pieces are sturdy and nicely painted. My only tiny complaint is that this is a bit time consuming to put together. My husband is very handy, and it took over 3 hours. Note to self: do not put together elaborate Christmas gifts on Christmas eve! But, it came together nicely and we are very happy with it.
I hope my daughter enjoys this dollhouse for years to come. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything a little girl dreams of, April 15, 2011
By 
T. Kolbe "kolbe" (Chula Vista, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
This dollhouse is worth every penny! Comparing it against the Barbie houses and other dollhouses on the market, it offered the best price to feature/quality ratio I could find. I bought this dollhouse for my twin girl's 5th birthday and we were not disappointed what so ever.

This house is everything your little girl would expect: Durable, lots of wooden furniture, an elevator, lots of space for barbies and hours worth of enjoyable imagination everyday.

For the parents, this dollhouse comes packed in a thick shipping box, with Styrofoam inserts to prevent damage to the parts, easy to follow instructions with numbered pieces, a descent manual, basic tools, earthquake/tipping prevention straps, and a number to call with questions or for parts replacement printed in the manual. I recommend you have at least a good amount of space to build it, wood glue, quality Phillips screwdriver (not power as you can strip the holes or crack parts easily) and a good Allan wrench with some leverage on it to tighten things appropriately.

Building the dollhouse:
The dollhouse took me, a novice wood worker, a total of 4 hours and 29 minutes to build (Yes, I timed it). It may have been built quicker, but I used a lot of Elmer's E742 Waterproof Wood Glue to ensure things wouldn't fall apart or break (I highly recommend using wood glue on the non-MDF joints). As stated, each part is numbered with a sticker to help build the dollhouse, but the picture on the front of the shipping box was an invaluable aide in trying to determine the orientation of each MDF printed, Pine, or plastic piece. The hardest parts to build were the roof (don't screw everything down until you can align it correctly) and the garage/patio left side (lots of pine pieces).

The good:
- A very well made/durable and long lasting house with furniture
- Sturdy floors, roof and elevator parts
- Lots of printed detail on the MDF walls and floors
- Guaranteed to not disappoint your little girl(s)
- In case a part breaks within 90 days, KidKraft will replace it for free and without shipping charges
- Great customer support (M-F 8:30-5, Central Time)

The bad:
- The stairs do not stay in very well, is made of thin white plastic and will probably be the first to break for my kids
- The Elevator is stiff to operate, but works nicely if you put some dishwasher soap or petroleum based lubricant inside the rails
- The garage does not fit many of the barbie cars correctly as it is not deep enough to both put it in and shut the doors
- The chandelier comes off easily due to it being affixed with string around a piece of wood (I glued it in place instead)
- It wasn't free :P

Regardless of the downsides of this dollhouse as every product has them, my family is completely satisfied with this product and I completely recommend this dollhouse to anyone who wants something that will last for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big house, lots of rooms. make sure you have 3 hours to put it together., December 4, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
This house is everything you'd expect by looking at the photo. The furniture is great quality for the price. The big surprise was how poorly the elevator works. My daughter can't use it because it is so hard to move. You have to force it, and forcing it too much will break it. If they couldn't make the elevator right, they should have just left it off. Also, be sure to expect that it will take three hours to put it together. A piece of the steps was broken off then we got it that is used to connect it to the house. I will contact the manufacturer and try to get a new one. The steps do work, but if they are played with too much they will break off.

Besides that, it's a pretty cool house. My daughter enjoys playing with it. She is too short to play with the top floor, but again, she really enjoys playing with it. If I could go back in time and do it again, I would still buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!, December 8, 2010
By 
Erin B Woodall (Harrisburg, NC United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I never, ever write product reviews but I felt I had to for this dollhouse. We bought it for my daughter's third birthday and she absolutely loves it. It does take awhile to put together, but we were expecting it to given its size. For the price, we were very impressed- it is well-made and comes with a ton of really cute furniture (would easily cost over $100 if you bought it separately given how expensive dollhouse accessories are). One thing I want to mention is that when the dollhouse arrived, two of the pieces of furniture were broken. If you look inside the instruction manual, there is a page describing what to do if you experience any problems. I called the number for KidKraft and someone picked up immediately- provided them with a batch number, the item numbers for the broken pieces and a name and address and they are sending replacements via FedEx today....no problems, no questions asked. Why can't every company respond this way?!?!? Will definitely buy from KidKraft again and know my daughter will enjoy this dollhouse for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very big, and better than any of it's competition., December 3, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I searched for the perfect dollhouse for my daughter before I ordered this one. In comparison to all the other ones this one is by far the best deal. It is ver large and the furniture pieces that comes with it fills the house nicely.
It does seem to be a little cheaply made, but all these wooden houses are made the same. The directions are pretty clear and easy to use when putting it together, however you'll need to pay attention to 'which side is up' on some pieces because it doesnt tell you. ((not a problem for most people probably, but I'm easily distracted :)) Allow yourself a few hours when assembling, it took me about 4 hours to do it alone. Another note I'll make is the elevator seems very tough to move up and down, but I'm hoping this will loosen over time after my daughter plays with it.

It does come in a box with a picture on the front, but it has no bearing on the quality of this product.

Overall a nce product, better than the plastic ones that are real Barbie products and much bigger bang for the buck than the other smaller houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth as a baby bottom., December 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I just ordered this for Christmas for my 5 and 6-year old girls. What I found is that the price on Amazon fluctuates frequently. Over a period of two weeks, I saw this listed as over $200 to the lowest of $99. I picked it up at $129 plus free shipping. I'm guessing this is a hot product for Christmas, and as the holiday draws closer, the price drops. At $129, I feel like I got a steal, even though less than a week later it dropped another $30! That said, it came in a large brown box and was delivered within a few days. The box said what the item was but didn't have any photos on the outside. Fortunately, I read many of the reviews on this site and was prepared beforehand with some lube for the elevator, some wood glue, a hand drill with phillips head bits, a regular hand phillips head, and alcohol. I put this together alone, with a wide open work space, low stress (no kids around), and with a nice frothy beverage. From the time I started cutting the box until the time I was done putting it together was right aorund four hours. Anyone who says they did this in an hour and a half alone is a stone cold liar - yes I said it. I'm a pefectionist, but it's just not possible for a first-timer. If I'd put together a few of these, I could probably cut the time some, but I hardly think I could cut it in half. With two people and one of those two being skilled, maybe two to three hours...maybe. That said, I did not have a single hiccup in building this thing. The directions have no words, but the pictures are very clear. There were a total of 29 steps...by the time I hit step 5 I was glad I had beer on hand. But it was not hard by any stretch, just time consuming. I wish the pictures in the instruction manual had some color photos...this would have helped on one or two of the steps, but I just looked up pictures of the product on Amazon on my phone and that was good enough to guide me. All the parts were clearly labeled and numbered with a little white sticker, which was really important to the ease of putting this together. The screws were all separated in a little vaccuum pouch, and were even color coded. Again, this was extremely important. All of the holes in the wood were in the right places and all of the wood was cut to the right dimension. When contructing the wing on the left, there was one piece that didn't match just perfect, but I made it work with little effort. When I started, I wood glued the elevator pieces, but stopped gluing there. By the time I had the whole thing put together, honestly I don't think it needs the wood glue. This thing is very sturdy, it's huge, and it's beautiful. I'm totally impressed with myself. I knew I was awesome, but I'm now in awe of myself for selecting this product and putting it together all by myself. I can not wait to see the look on my girls' faces come Christmas morning. Kidkraft made an awesome product in this doll house. I did purchase the Kidcraft Professional Doll Set as an accessory. Biggest warning I have for a prospective buyer is this thing is huge!! Like if it falls on a kid, you seriously have to worry about brain bleeds and hospital copays. I plan to anchor this to the wall, which likely will take more beer to do. I have to transport this from my mom's house to my house now, which will require keeping the main house split from the wing and using a pick-up truck bed. I have to admit, when I first opened the box, there was an alcohol-fueled tirade of choice expletives echoing throughout my mom's home, but once I set my mind to it, it went smooth as a baby bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter's all time favorite gift!, November 12, 2012
By 
Susan Rogers (Napa, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
My eight year old granddaughter asked for the popular plastic barbie house for her birthday. While searching I found this beautiful wooden house,I let her decide which house she wanted and she chose the majestic doll house. My daughter in law put it together herself but not without frustration, now she claims it was well worth it. My granddaughter has spent hours playing with this house, it has become the must have toy for all her friends. I would add that the top floor is a beautiful baby nursery and evidently barbie babies are hard to find. I am going to order the caregiver barbie as a Christmas gift because it comes with a baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No