454 of 463 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military wives, single moms, etc... Here's a review for YOU!, March 1, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
As it always seems to work out, my husband is deployed for my daughter's third birthday. I'd like to call myself a "pro" at putting together children's toys and furniture at this point. So I'm going to break this review down for all you military wives, single moms, wives whose husbands travel for business, and the ladies who just want to do it themselves!

Why I love Amazon.com -
They almost always have the best price! They offer free super saver shipping on many items. They ship things out very quickly and offer tracking on all of your packages!

Why I love KidKraft -
Almost every big item we have for our daughters is made by Kidkraft (kitchen set, various kitchen accessories, table and chairs, bookshelves, toy box, train set and table, wall shelves, and now the dollhouse!) The packaging of the hardware is excellent and easy to find pieces. Everything is always VERY sturdy. It's a much more eco-friendly option than the big plastic pieces you can find by other companies. The price is right for the quality item you recieve. The customer service is one of the best I've ever come across. They even have a place on their website where you can order missing or broken parts without the hassle of having to call. (I've only ever needed a part once out of all of our items! They shipped it quick, even around Christmas time.) I suggest ordering ahead of time if you can, just in case you are missing a part or something is broken. That way you're not disappointed! And remember.. mistakes happen, we're all human!

Why I love this dollhouse -
It IS HUGE! The children in the display photo are not scaled down. Some people may not like this, but I however; love it! We have two toddler girls, and needed something that would be big enough for both of them to play with to avoid future temper tantrums. For the price, you get double the dollhouse you get from other models that are just a small amount cheaper. It will accomodate Barbie dolls once my girls start playing with them instead of their other dolls. This is something we will have for a long time, and I am confidant that the girls will be able to grow into it, and that the construction will last!

Some tips for construction by yourself, ladies! -
1. You will need a big (+) screwdriver and a little (+) screwdriver. You may need a (-) screwdriver to hold in some pieces at points. Kidkraft supplies the allen key. If you need a glass of wine, I suggest white, just in case it spills ;)
2. You will need a large space to build this, since there are points when the house will need to be on its side.
3. Unwrap all of your pieces. Read through all instructions before beginning as well as check and count all of your parts. I personally go through step by step and place the parts I will need in bunches.
4. Make sure you have the time to do this all. You will only get frustrated if the kids are awake, or you set a time limit to get this all done by! I did this during naptime and once the girls were in bed. All in all I think it took me about 2.5 hours to get it done, but this is also coming from a woman who can do this stuff with her eyes closed at this point.
5. Take your time to really look at the photos in the instruction manual. Plan it all out in your head first, then do it.
6. If the screw's paint doesn't match the spot it's in.. it's in the wrong place.
7. If something needs to be forced, it's probably in the wrong place or you need a new part. Kidkraft's items usually go together seamlessly. This is another reason I am a huge fan.
8. The wall makes a good "partner." If you need to hold something up, just put it against the wall.
9. Take your time, and don't get frustrated. You'll be SO proud when it's all done!

Some more fun facts -
I am 5'1", and the house is almost as tall as I am. If you are short.. get a step stool to screw the roof on! The box is 70lbs. when shipped. If you can, get your delivery man to place it right where you are going to set it up.. especially if you're a pregnant momma!

I hope this helped!
Overall I would recommend this dollhouse to all of my friends and family. My daughter has not yet played with it, but I just know that from the moment she wakes up on her birthday that this house will be played with daily for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It IS really big. But SO great!, December 6, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I ordered this last week with no reviews to go off of. I was a little bit nervous to see if it would live up to expectation. I think it is really fabulous!! I am about 5'8" and the top of the house comes up to my collar bone. It is really big with more than enough room for my 3 daughters to play Barbie dolls and such. The furniture pieces are really sturdy, and I am really excited to give it to them from Santa. Yes, the box comes unwrapped unless you change the gift option. It is a LARGE cardboard box, but no color picture on the side. Just a printed drawing. I was concerned about the elevator not moving easily, so when I built the house, I didn't tighten the screws on the elevator all the way. It slides up and down pretty well. It's not really smooth, but better than tightening them so tight that it has to be forced up and down. I wasn't too sure about this house before I bought it, and I was fully prepared to send it back, but I am really pleased. If you are on the fence about this, I would say GET IT! Fantastic price for how big the house really is. It really does take a while to put together, and I would recommend two people, but no other problems to report.......except that now I find to find a place to put it after Christmas. It is really that big! Good luck all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS REVIEW WILL SAVE YOU TIME AND HELP YOU DECIDE PLEASE READ!, November 29, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
THIS ITEM IS AMAZING!!!! FOR STARTERS I PRICE WATCHED FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE PURCHASING IN EARLY NOVEMBER 2011 AND LUCKY ME I GOT THIS DOLLHOUSE FOR 165.00 WITH TAX AND FREE SHIPPING WITH THE AMAZON PRIME TRIAL SUBSCRIPTION (SO WORTH IT). THIS IS USUALLY SOLD FOR $250- TO UPWARDS OF $300 DEPENDING ON INVENTORY AND SELLER

SHIPPING- THIS IS QUITE HEAVY ESPECIALLY WHEN TRYING TO GO UP A FLIGHT OF STAIRS- SHIPPING WEIGHT IS OVER 60 LBS IT IS PACKAGED NICELY BUT MAKE SURE IT DOESNT RAIN WHEN YOUR EXPECTING THE SHIPMENT---ALSO KEEP IN MIND IT IS SOUROUNDED BY STYROFOAM SO CLEAN UP IS NECCESSARY WHEN DONE AFTER ASSEMBLY

PACKAGING-CONSISTS OF FLAT BOARDS SEPERATED BY STYROFOAM A CARDBOARD AND PLASTIC SEPERATER LABELED BY LETTERS FOR THE SCREWS& ALLEN WRENCHES- ALSO HAS SOME SMALL ADDITIONAL BOXES WITH ACCESSORIES (SET THESE UP ON A TABLE OFF TO THE SIDE)

DURABILITY- WHEN PUTTING IT TOGETHER YOU WILL HAVE MIXED FEELINGS...KIND OF FEELS FLIMSY AND CHEAPLY MADE UNTIL IT IS ASSEMBLED COMPLETELY...THIS IS THE TYPE OF ITEM WERE EVERY ADDITIONAL ITEM YOU ADD ON HELPS REINFORCE THE STRUCTURE MORE AND MORE...DON'T BE WORRIED THE BEGINNING MAY SEEM LIKE A FRAGILE STAGE

ASSEMBLY---THIS PART IS CRUCIAL!! I DID IT BY MYSELF...I AM A DO IT MYSELF TYPE OF WOMAN BUT AM VERY IRRITABLE AT TIMES AND I MANAGED JUST FINE. THE MOST IMPORTANT THING TO DO IS ASSESS THE PROJECT SIZE AND TO GET THE RIGHT TOOLS ....PHILLPS HEAD SCREW DRIVER (REGULAR SIZE) WOOD GLUE (TO HELP REINFORCE IF YOU FEEL THE NEED TO) PETROLEUM JELLY (I'LL EXPLAIN LATER = )
SOME KEY THINGS TO KEEP IN MIND ARE THAT THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL HAS NO WORDS..(PICTURES ONLY ) THE SCREWS FOR 80% OF THE PROJECT ARE COLOR CODED- MEANING THAT WHILE THEY DON'T REFER TO THEM USING COLOR, IF YOU ARE FOR INSTANCE SCREWING TO WALL PANELS TOGETHER ON THE OUTSIDE AND WHERE THE HOLE IS , THE WALL IS YELLOW MOST LIKELY THE SCREW IS GOING TO BE YELLOW
PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO WHICH LETTER SCREWS YOU ARE POPPING OUT AS TO NOW MIX THEM TOGETHER ON ACCIDENT (THIS WOULD BE A PAIN).

THE ELEVATOR- THIS IS THE FIRST THING YOU WILL PUT TOGETHER. WHERE IT SLIDES UP AND DOWN GREASE HEAVILY WITH PETROLEUM JELLY...IF NOT YOU WILL REGRET IT...CAN BE VERY HARD IF NOT DONE TO MOVE IT UP AND DOWN

***IMPORTANT***
WHEN YOU GET TO THE STEP WHEN SLIDING THE PANELS IN THAT END UP BEING THE BACK WALL OF THE DOLLHOUSE BE GENTLEEEEEEEEEE AT THIS POINT THE OTHER SIDE OF THE HOUSE HAS NOT BEEN ATTACHED IF YOU MOVE THIS THE WRONG WAY THE WOOD WILL CRACK! I USED STOOLS TO HELP KEEP THE FLOORS IN PLACED WHILE I SCREWED THEM IN..THIS WORKED WELL

MAKE SURE YOU ARE ALWAYS USING THE RIGHT SCREWS! IF YOU PUT THE WRONG SCREW IN AND IT IS TO BIG YOU WILL HAVE TO REPLACE THE PART OR PURCHASE WOOD FILLER TO HELP FILL THE HOLE AGAIN FOR A SNUG FIT

THIS WAS NOT OVERWHELMING UNTIL I GOT THE WHOLE HOUSE COMPLETED AND REALIZED I STILL HAD TO ATTACH THE LEFT SIDE WITH THE DOORS...AT THIS POINT A BREAK WAS NEEDED

SUPRISES-----THE FURNITURE WAS HUGE COMPARED TO THE PICTURES ON THE NET...TO GET A REAL FEEL LOOK AT THE SIZE OF YOUR PALM..ONE OF THE TABLES INCLUDED MAYBE SLIGHTLY BIGGER THAN THIS...THE FURNITURE MAKES IT ALLLLLLLLLLLLLL WORTH IT!

THIS DOLLHOUSE IS HUGE COMES UP TO MY SHOULDER AND I AM 5' 5'' ! A GOOD IDEA WOULD BE TO USE A LATCH SYSTEM TO ATTATCH IT TO A WALL OR TO DRILL IT (WILL DAMAGE LOOK) FROM THE INSIDE TO A WALL.

ALSO IF YOU NEED ANY REPLACEMENT PARTS (WITHIN 90 DAYS OF RECEIPT) DUE TO DAMAGED, BROKEN,CRACKED, CHIPPED PAINT CONTACT KIDKRAFT DIRECTLY THEY ARE GREAT ABOUT NO HASSLE REPLACEMENTS YOU DONT EVEN HAVE TO SPEAK TO A LIVE PERSON! HOW GREAT

CONCERNS: THAT IT WILL FALL ON MY DAUGHTER DUE TO ROUGH PLAY...IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR NEED HELP EMAIL ME AT RUSSELL.DANIELLEM@GMAIL.COM

FINAL THOUGHTS---THIS WILL BE THE BEST GIFT YOUR PRINCESS HAS EVER RECEIVED NEXT TO A PUPPY...I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MUCH OF JOY THIS IS!
THANKS FOR READING,

DIY GURU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big house, lots of rooms. make sure you have 3 hours to put it together., December 4, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
This house is everything you'd expect by looking at the photo. The furniture is great quality for the price. The big surprise was how poorly the elevator works. My daughter can't use it because it is so hard to move. You have to force it, and forcing it too much will break it. If they couldn't make the elevator right, they should have just left it off. Also, be sure to expect that it will take three hours to put it together. A piece of the steps was broken off then we got it that is used to connect it to the house. I will contact the manufacturer and try to get a new one. The steps do work, but if they are played with too much they will break off.

Besides that, it's a pretty cool house. My daughter enjoys playing with it. She is too short to play with the top floor, but again, she really enjoys playing with it. If I could go back in time and do it again, I would still buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything a little girl dreams of, April 15, 2011
By 
T. Kolbe "kolbe" (Chula Vista, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
This dollhouse is worth every penny! Comparing it against the Barbie houses and other dollhouses on the market, it offered the best price to feature/quality ratio I could find. I bought this dollhouse for my twin girl's 5th birthday and we were not disappointed what so ever.

This house is everything your little girl would expect: Durable, lots of wooden furniture, an elevator, lots of space for barbies and hours worth of enjoyable imagination everyday.

For the parents, this dollhouse comes packed in a thick shipping box, with Styrofoam inserts to prevent damage to the parts, easy to follow instructions with numbered pieces, a descent manual, basic tools, earthquake/tipping prevention straps, and a number to call with questions or for parts replacement printed in the manual. I recommend you have at least a good amount of space to build it, wood glue, quality Phillips screwdriver (not power as you can strip the holes or crack parts easily) and a good Allan wrench with some leverage on it to tighten things appropriately.

Building the dollhouse:
The dollhouse took me, a novice wood worker, a total of 4 hours and 29 minutes to build (Yes, I timed it). It may have been built quicker, but I used a lot of Elmer's E742 Waterproof Wood Glue to ensure things wouldn't fall apart or break (I highly recommend using wood glue on the non-MDF joints). As stated, each part is numbered with a sticker to help build the dollhouse, but the picture on the front of the shipping box was an invaluable aide in trying to determine the orientation of each MDF printed, Pine, or plastic piece. The hardest parts to build were the roof (don't screw everything down until you can align it correctly) and the garage/patio left side (lots of pine pieces).

The good:
- A very well made/durable and long lasting house with furniture
- Sturdy floors, roof and elevator parts
- Lots of printed detail on the MDF walls and floors
- Guaranteed to not disappoint your little girl(s)
- In case a part breaks within 90 days, KidKraft will replace it for free and without shipping charges
- Great customer support (M-F 8:30-5, Central Time)

The bad:
- The stairs do not stay in very well, is made of thin white plastic and will probably be the first to break for my kids
- The Elevator is stiff to operate, but works nicely if you put some dishwasher soap or petroleum based lubricant inside the rails
- The garage does not fit many of the barbie cars correctly as it is not deep enough to both put it in and shut the doors
- The chandelier comes off easily due to it being affixed with string around a piece of wood (I glued it in place instead)
- It wasn't free :P

Regardless of the downsides of this dollhouse as every product has them, my family is completely satisfied with this product and I completely recommend this dollhouse to anyone who wants something that will last for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very big, and better than any of it's competition., December 3, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I searched for the perfect dollhouse for my daughter before I ordered this one. In comparison to all the other ones this one is by far the best deal. It is ver large and the furniture pieces that comes with it fills the house nicely.
It does seem to be a little cheaply made, but all these wooden houses are made the same. The directions are pretty clear and easy to use when putting it together, however you'll need to pay attention to 'which side is up' on some pieces because it doesnt tell you. ((not a problem for most people probably, but I'm easily distracted :)) Allow yourself a few hours when assembling, it took me about 4 hours to do it alone. Another note I'll make is the elevator seems very tough to move up and down, but I'm hoping this will loosen over time after my daughter plays with it.

It does come in a box with a picture on the front, but it has no bearing on the quality of this product.

Overall a nce product, better than the plastic ones that are real Barbie products and much bigger bang for the buck than the other smaller houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!, December 8, 2010
By 
Erin B Woodall (Harrisburg, NC United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
I never, ever write product reviews but I felt I had to for this dollhouse. We bought it for my daughter's third birthday and she absolutely loves it. It does take awhile to put together, but we were expecting it to given its size. For the price, we were very impressed- it is well-made and comes with a ton of really cute furniture (would easily cost over $100 if you bought it separately given how expensive dollhouse accessories are). One thing I want to mention is that when the dollhouse arrived, two of the pieces of furniture were broken. If you look inside the instruction manual, there is a page describing what to do if you experience any problems. I called the number for KidKraft and someone picked up immediately- provided them with a batch number, the item numbers for the broken pieces and a name and address and they are sending replacements via FedEx today....no problems, no questions asked. Why can't every company respond this way?!?!? Will definitely buy from KidKraft again and know my daughter will enjoy this dollhouse for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Nice, great value...meant to be used., October 28, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Having read some of the reviews, I was on both sides of the fence as to what I expected. We were really happy with it. It assembled nicely, all the holes lined up well and the instructions were fine. They have no words...only pictures but pretty easy to follow. The assembly IS A PROJECT. It isn't called for in the instructions, but I'd highly reccomend using some simple carpenters glue throughout the assembly. I glued just about every single thing that touched something else...in addition to the screws/fastners that came with it and I ended up with a house that's built like a tank. Total assembly time from opening box to play time was about 5 hours or so. Maybe a coffee break or two was in there....but it's still a job better done. Two hands would help at a few points....but I managed fine solo. It makes a BIG...REALLY BIG IMPRESSION. It's so big that it's just a thing of amazement to my 2 year old. It's as tall as my mother (she's starting to shrink a bit) so she thought it was funny that it was taller than her. All in all it is a BIG hit....and a great value for the price. The furniture pieces that come with it are beautiful....all wood and painted really nice. Says it accomodates a 12" doll......which the ceiling height would allow.....but they'd look like giants based on the scale of the details and furniture. Ideally you'd have dolls about 6-8"....but then again my daughter is using stuffed penguins and Yo Gabba Gabba charachters anyway! GO FOR IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter's all time favorite gift!, November 12, 2012
By 
Susan Rogers (Napa, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
My eight year old granddaughter asked for the popular plastic barbie house for her birthday. While searching I found this beautiful wooden house,I let her decide which house she wanted and she chose the majestic doll house. My daughter in law put it together herself but not without frustration, now she claims it was well worth it. My granddaughter has spent hours playing with this house, it has become the must have toy for all her friends. I would add that the top floor is a beautiful baby nursery and evidently barbie babies are hard to find. I am going to order the caregiver barbie as a Christmas gift because it comes with a baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the trouble to put together, January 18, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: KidKraft Majestic Mansion Dollhouse with Furniture (Toy)
Do not wait until the wee hours of the night on Christmas Eve to put this together!!! My husband worked on it alone for about 4 hours until he was ready to give up and came and got me. It really is a 2 person job. If you don't have someone holding it together while you are attaching one of the 85 screws...it will break!!! We worked on it together for about 3 hours. The instructions have NO words and this makes it that much more challenging. Each piece is numbered and the screws/nuts/bolts are alphabetized. It is good for the neurons...maybe it will prevent Alzheimer's. Once we got it put together it was wonderful. I have a 6 y/o and a 2 y/o who absolutely love it. They have to use a step stool to get to the top floor nursery. It is worth the trouble to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No