81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Won't stay together, October 5, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Woodstock, GA United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
We bought this for my daughters 7th birthday. It took a little while to put together but falls apart CONSTANTLY. The wings won't stay on, the back falls off and the sides won't stay closed. The ice maker inside broke on the first use. My daughter is fairly gentle with her Barbie toys and we sat together to learn all the 'tricks' to it but it was constantly falling apart with even the slightest bump or touch. If I knew then what I know now about it, I wouldn't have wasted a chunk of money on it. Very much a waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Back and Side of Plane Won't Stay Shut. NOT Fun., October 3, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
If there were a zero, I would give this one. The back of the plane, the pool, was not closing out of the box. Neither was the side of the plane. They won't stay closed. This was an unopened box and only I assembled it.
The 99 Barbie plane had wings that fell off, but it was more fun than this. It too had the microphone. Plus it had 3 seats, including one for a pilot. This plane has no room for a pilot.
Shame on Mattel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT buy!!!, November 11, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
It makes me furious that Mattel can sell toys this poorly made. This is a darling plane and my kids love it, but it's constantly falling apart. Not a single piece of it actually stays together, so you can't do anything with it. I'm going to have to return it and my daughter will be crushed since she just got it for her birthday. It also takes several hours to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars High Price for such little value and such cheaply built item, December 11, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
This Jet is awful..we bought it for our daughters 6th birthday she has only played with it twice, I'm pretty sure the reason being that it's SOOOO HARD to play with. The island vacation door constantly pops open over the slightest movement. Barbies are crammed in the jet, their seat belts don't stay on. When u try and set up their food trays and the dining cart it's such a small space that once everything is in place one little thing causes everything else to fall down making you feel like a bull in a china shop. My daughter was constantly asking for adult help and everything kept falling down or coming apart. Not a fun toy, what a disappointment and a waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars barbie jet falls apart, January 15, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
My girls were so excited when we saw the box. But then after waiting an eternity for us to put it together (there are 7 million pieces), they were getting annoyed. It wouldn't STAY together. First the back fell off (the part that holds the pool). We put it back on, and off and on and off and on and off... annnnd finally off. In the next couple of days I waited for them to forget about it and then threw it out. Then there are the wings. They kept falling off initially, but after we told the kids not to touch the plane of course they stayed on ok. Who wants a jet that has to remain on the floor in the corner? They have abandoned it, it now sits like a big pink broken mess taking up space in my living room. The kicker? I can't even close it up because the doors and roof don't align correctly. I am giving the jet a couple more days and then tossing it in the playroom.... when that day comes I will be gladly removing the (child inappropriate!) martini glasses complete with olive, that came with the set. Barbie, pitching alcohol to a 4 year old.. how lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loves it but I do not see this lasting the year!!, December 27, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
My daughter loves all things Barbie, and her one major request this Christmas was this Barbie Jet. We were hoping she would change her mind as our experience with Barbie play sets has not been great and most items are flimsy, and barely last!

Sadly this is no exception!! Don't get me wrong - she was so excited to get this and has played with it non stop; but this has also meant she keeps appearing with another piece of plastic which has dropped off and needs to be reattached!! My daughter loves her Barbie collection and the toys that go with it - and treats them with care. We do not have an issue with other toys falling apart but this can be a common issue with some of the larger Barbie toys; and is certainly an issue with this.

It has plenty of accessories to keep your little one happy, and she loves the little microphone that allows her to play pilot. The sound effects and play pieces engage her imagination and this is also large enough to accommodate several Barbie dolls.

The main problem is the jet itself - its basically a large body of very thin plastic. Nothing is attached very well and the wings / pieces fall off will no effort whatsoever, so even minimal play will end up being a problem. However, for me, the biggest issue is I can already see that it is not closing properly. The plastic sides do not align well - this was the problem with the cruise ship set last year and that toy did not make it to the end of the year! I can see this one heading the same way which is very frustrating as these play sets are not cheap and my daughter really loves it!

Mattel has some fun, creative ideas and kids are really drawn to the toys - I just wish they would make the toys representative of the brand and price so parents can be happy knowing that their child is getting a toy they will not only love, but one that will last a reasonable amount of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXPENSIVE Barbie Toy, December 28, 2010
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
My daughter LOVES Barbie. We have the camper, the house, etc.. This jet is cute and it has a few cool features (ice cube machine, real microphone) and she is enjoying it. It is fun to watch her pretend to be the pilot (which by the way - why didn't they add a seat for a Barbie pilot???) My daughter asked why isn't there a bathroom like on a real plane? I don't know because there certainly is enough room. Few words of advice...if you are deciding on the camper or the jet - get the camper. Only 2 Barbies fit in the Jet! Or get the glamour house which I found on sale for $19.99 at Target. The Jet is adorable, but the only reason my daughter has it is because Grandma got it for Christmas - on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you, Mattel., January 3, 2011
By 
W. Fort "DoodleMom" (Birmingham, AL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
My daughter received this for her 5th birthday. Do not buy this toy. It is a huge, expensive piece of doo doo. The doors on the main compartment don't line up, so everything keeps flopping open. That section comes assembled right out of the box, so it's not a matter of "not putting it together correctly". There is no room inside to do anything more than sit the dolls down. There are 50 million tiny play pieces, including ****ice cubes!!!!**** (Picture how small ice cubes for a Barbie doll must be, yeah, they're half that size... and CLEAR. Half the cubes were missing by 7:00 that night.) None of the small food stuff stays where it's supposed to be, or even stays standing up. We've had it for two days and my kid's already had two frustration meltdowns trying to play with it. The best things about the whole toy are the sound effects and the PA system. She loves that, which added another star to my "fun" rating. But that hardly makes it worth the amount of money being asked for it, no matter what that amount is. Overall, it's just a really cheaply made piece of plastic (poorly) designed for displaying, not for playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the worst toy in existence, January 27, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
Usually I don't take the time to write a review unless, as in this case, a product really upsets me. This is the biggest piece of plastic waste I've ever seen. Every time you touch it, something breaks off. EVERY time. The back end, chandelier, hammock, all the light pink wings, front end, inside luggage rack, and steps have all broken off, sometimes all in one sitting. As I was showing my daughter how to use the ice maker, for the first time, the handle broke off. The stickers don't stick on the small bottles. The seats and table are poorly designed. The plastic silverware slides into the grooves for the chairs, and I'm afraid it might break into 1,000 pieces if I turn it upside down to try to shake it out; The silverware is therefore lost forever. Even my daughter says it is "jank". Luckily for me I didn't purchase it, my daughter got it as a gift. I would never, ever, ever pay almost $90 for this thing. In my opinion, it isn't even worth $20. It makes me wonder if they even tested this product? Absolutely horrible. Please do not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME...if you assemble it correctly!, December 29, 2010
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Glam Vacation Jet (Toy)
This is an unbeatable toy---if you make sure to snap the pieces in tightly, then everything works like advertised. The first time I attempted to put it together, I didn't use enough muscle, so things came off, a door stayed open, etc. Then I decided to really push it together and bang the pieces together with the back of a screwdriver----A TOTALLY SUCCESSFUL IDEA!!! Now my very rough 3 year old daughter is able to play with it happily. She is the only girl in a family of three boys, so this thing has taken a beating, but is staying together thanks to the force put into the assembly. This is a keeper and everyone who has had difficulty with the doors, should try pushing/banging the pieces together one more time (it will work). She loves pretending with it and it has provided hours and hours of fun. WE LOVE OUR BARBIE JET!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No