25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Doll, But Warnings, August 21, 2008
A Kid's Review
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
This doll was really fun, but first some warnings:
1. The dolls legs are pink unbendable plastic
2. Dress cannot be removed
3. Hair is not as shown in picture

Overall, the doll is nice, and when paired with Alexa, sings beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise, November 7, 2008
By 
SunnyD (Phoenix, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
My 4 year-old daughter could not think of anything she wanted more than this Liana doll and the Alexa doll when it came time to spend her birthday money. I wasn't thrilled because Barbie's in our house get kicked around and forgotten. I was surprised to find that these dolls are actually a lot of fun. She loves changing the dress around and listening to the dolls sing together. I like that you can stop the music by turning the knob that changes the dress. It makes a chime sound and the music stops. It's nice for when the two dolls are not singing the same song or if you don't synchronize them right. Some have complained that the dress doesn't come off, but I'm really happy about that. My daughter takes the dresses off her barbies and then asks me to put another one on because she can't do it herself. This doll does have mysteriously pink legs made of hard plastic, which makes it impossible to keep the shoes on, but I super glued them on and we won't have to worry about that ever again. We're happy with this doll, and I secretly enjoy trying to synchronize the dolls' singing perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liana Doll is Original, November 29, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
The Barbie & The Diamond Castle (B&DC) Princess Liana doll is the same height and proportion as the 90's 00's era dolls. However, one of the major complaints of the doll has to be how different it is from the rest of the Barbie collections.

First, Lianna has a wind up dress swapper on the back of the torso. It does not hide under the dress, and sticks out quite a way from the doll. Lianna will not be able to sit in any Barbie mobile. This also is feared to break within a short amount of use (hasn't happened yet). When that happens, the dress will need to be manually flipped.

Second, Lianna has pink legs underneath her dress. This perhaps helps to not draw attention to her lower torso when she's "transforming." However, it doesn't exactly fit in with life-type legs. More unfortunate is that they're solid--no bending in the knee joints. Again this will create problems with her ability to ride certain Barbie mobile things.

As with all Barbies, the shoes do not stay on. I have contemplated either super gluing them on the feet or removing them so my daughters don't lose them.

Another issue with the B&DC dolls is their accessories are few--this one has shoes, a crown, and a brush. Many less expensive Barbies come with more stuff. And all of these items are small, losable, and possibly a choking hazard.

Now for a critique on her "singing ability." It's nice to hear the first time, but the two songs very quickly lose their appeal, even if it's a former American Idol singing (McPhee). The Liana doll does do a nice duet with the Alexa doll, but again, it's a quickly fading novelty, and gets worse when you do not push the sing buttons at exactly the same time, or if the two songs are mismatched. !!IMPORTANT FIX!! If your Liana doll does not sing two complete songs when you take her out of the box and pull the tab out of her back, try this before you take it back--1) Find a thin piece of metal: paperclip, cake tester, needle, etc 2) Insert it into the hole in the back 3) pushing slightly in a downward motion skim the floor of the hole 4) About halfway in, the metal should catch the switch 5) pry this in an upward fashion (it will stay that way) 6) Remove metal tool from doll and press sing button 7) Assuming the batteries are not dead, the doll will sing again. I checked all over the internet for a fix, but none were to be found, including the mattel website. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but dress doesn't come off, September 9, 2008
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
I ordered this Liana doll and the Alexa doll for my daughter's 3rd birthday. The dolls can sing together and are dressed beutifully. However, my girls fight over the blue Alexa doll and neither wants this one. I don't know if it's the color of her dress or the fact that this doll just seems axward. As stated in previous review her legs are solid pink plastic (probably because the dress lays open at times.) It's hard to turn her dress around with a large handle in her back and it doesn't lay well once you've done it. If your daughter is a Barbie fan I'm sure she'll love this doll, but if you're chosing between the two I'd go for Alexa over Liana. Both my girls want to be Alexa for Halloween and I cannot convince either of them to be Liana even though Pink is their favorite color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Singing Barbie, November 3, 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
My 4 year old daughter got this doll a month ago when we were on vacation, and she has not put it down. She had seen the movie and wanted both the Liana and Alexa dolls when she saw them at the store. She chose to get this one first. She has played with this Barbie so much! She loves to sing the songs. She keeps asking for the Alexa doll, so they can sing together. I highly recommend this Barbie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Daughter didn't love it....., April 21, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
We recieved this doll and my daughter wanted to make her sing and change her dress around... but the batteries are dead and she can't. I've been to 3 stores looking for the batteries and they don't have them or they aren't in stock. But after paying $28 for a Barbie Doll, I do not think I should have to shell out another $6 to $8 to buy batteries to make the doll actually work. Not pleased and neither is my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars does not light up, March 28, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
My grand daughter has been asking for this doll for a long time. when she received it, she was very excited. sadly ,it did not work. I ordered another, and the second one did not work. Possibly, it is the battery,which is $15.00.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Castle Barbie, January 30, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
First one I ordered didn't work. Wouldn't play the songs. Returned it and ordered another. Second one arrived and that one didn't work either so I had to return it also. I wouldn't bother with this doll. Obviously there is a problem with them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love this doll, January 17, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
i have both dolls Liana and Alexa. I got Liana first her singing is beautiful along with Alexas.the only problem is i love Liana alot.when her battery went out i brought her to my grandmothers house to fix.it was really hard to find her new batterys for her. Plus her batteys are weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It came and it never worked, June 25, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BarbieŽ & The Diamond Castle Princess Liana Doll (Toy)
It came but it never worked. The skirt was supposed to puff up while it sang. The skirt puffed up but fell back down, and it never sang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No