134 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Barbie Dream House, September 11, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
I recently bought this house from Amazon.com. I am very happy with my purchase. The best deal for this house is on Amazon, as shipping was free and no tax! It arrived super quick even with super saver shipping, and with nothing broken amazingly enough because it was simply shipped in the house's actual box and not put inside another shipping box--so beware if you are buying this as a surprise gift maybe ship it to a friend's house or work as your child will know what's inside!

The lights and sound work great--although I had to put the batteries in and out twice to get the sounds to work, not sure why. Another customer was right, the elevator is the trickest part to put together--but I discovered that I was trying the to fit the top clip in the opposite way, oopsy. Once I fixed that, it only took me another minute to clip in. I was reading some reviews on another toy website, and people were having trouble getting the fireplace to work--I did too until I realized that it was shipped with the fireplace not completely snapped into the back wall. As soon as I pushed the fireplace back into its clips on the back wall, it worked great! I am so excited about this doll house. It will make a great display for my collector dolls. The only problem I see is how in the world I am going to move this house if I move someplace else as it's extremely huge and doesn't look like it can easily be taken apart. It might be a one time assembly, but not sure yet.

It really is the best Barbie brand house I have ever owned, and I owned plenty as a kid--wish they had this when I was growing up--although I don't know if my parents would have sprung for it! However, I think it's worth the high price tag if your little one is a huge Barbie fan! Get this house today while you can! I think that once it hits the store shelves this Christmas, it will go fast and be a hard item to find!! Must have toy for Barbie girls this Christmas for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great house, with modernized accessories, October 25, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
We bought this for our 7 year old daughter this summer and it is still working great. She loves this doll house! We also still have my original 1975 Barbie Townhouse (3 story), and it sits right next to this one. My daughter has been using the 1970's house since she was 4. I'm not sure the new one would have stood up to the usage of a 4 year old. It requires gentler usage than the old style.

We actually like the way elevator on the old townhouse is moved better, but this one is okay. However, the placement of the elevator on the new one is in a better spot. It doesn't break up the rooms like the old one did. There is a little stand in the elevator to help hold up the dolls, but it's really not needed and makes it harder to use.

We have had some trouble with the lamp. It is easy to put in, and easy to knock off with a Barbie head. Not a big deal. Also, would have been nice if the roof of the top level was solid and not lattice type. She can't set anything on top, it all falls through.

The shower was a big hit, not sure why. It just plays a short recording of Barbie singing in the shower. The kitchen chairs are a little flimsy, hard to make them stay upright when the dolls try to sit. But really, none of the Barbie furniture is that great.

The door is hard to use when the elevator is on the ground floor. Not a big deal, just move the elevator. Still, props for adding the door with doorbell. That was also a big hit. The actual kitchen accessories are great, instead of just background pictures.

Assembly was pretty simple - so were the instructions. So, if you need more than just little pictures you're going to be in trouble. But really, you can almost figure it out just by looking at the picture on the box.

This house does feel flimsier than the old townhouse. I doubt it will last until my daughter has her own children like my house did. The plastic doesn't seem like it will hold up that long, like the old particle board house. Still, it was a good buy and my daughter really loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, September 4, 2009
By 
Fire Wife and Mom "A Mom who knows" (Mount Pleasant, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
I purchased this to give to my daughter for her birthday. The house is huge. It was quite simple to assemble. The hardest part and what took the longest was the elevator. I had a hard time getting this little plastic piece to snap into the top to make the elevator go up and down. I think I worked on the elevator for at least a half hour. That was almost as long as it took me to assemble the rest of the house and apply the stickers. It is sturdy and will hold up to hours of playing I am sure. The lights over the hot tub came with batteries. I will still need to buy some AA to make the rest of the lights and sound work. This is quite similar to the Barbie dream house I remember a friend of mine having in the 70's. I think it's a good value for the money and quite fun. I wish I had gotten to play with this growing up. I look forward to playing with it and my daugther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dollhouse, but a few tips.., December 27, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
I read a lot of negative reviews before purchasing this dollhouse, but I decided to purchase it anyway...mainly because it made me nostalgic of the dollhouse a friend of mine had when I was young. It was a bit pricey, but I got it when Toys R Us offered the free remote control corvette..so it was a great deal as my daughter loves it. We bought this for Christmas for my 3 year old daughter. My husband and I put this together on Christmas Eve and I have to say, yes the instructions are horrible. The most difficult part is the elevator. But just look at the picture on the box to guide you and pay attention to the columns. Some have slots for the elevator to slide up and down. Once you have strung the elevator, if it seems like the string is tight..make sure that the roof is on tightly and that will give you a little more leeway. There are working sounds and lights through out the house. On the 1st floor- the door bell rings, the chandelier lights up and the refrigerator lights up. We had a problem getting the chandelier to come on (as did many people), but found that you just need to make sure the chandelier is in tightly and properly. Also make sure you install the door tightly as well. There is a button in the top hinge that activates the chandelier when the door is open..so if it is not in good it will not work right. On the 2nd floor- the television pops up, fireplace lights and crackles, the shower makes water sounds and you hear Barbie singing and the toilet flushes. We had a problem with the fireplace. The Tv popped up when we pressed the button, but no light or sound from the fireplace. It seems that the fireplace is not completely installed. Check to make sure it is fitting snugly against the wall. There is a button behind the fireplace mantle that actives the lights and sounds. Click it into place so it is snug against the wall wand your lights and sounds should work. However if you are like us..once we did that the TV wouldn't pop up right. If that happens just fool around with it a bit to get the TV back on its track and you should be good to go. On the 3rd floor- the jacuzzi does not actually work unlike some of the pictures may lead you to believe. There is no bubbling mechanism. It does however hold water and the Tiki lights do work. The batteries for the Tiki lights were included, but I had to provide the ones for the house (I think 3 AA). Overall I think the house is really great. I think it was very sturdy unless your child plans to climb on it. No different from any other dollhouse made from Barbie. I was actually very pleasantly surprised at the space. There is plenty. I didn't expect the floors to be so wide. It is very tall and I don't think it will be very easy to take a part once put together, so make sure you pay attention. It is a beautiful house that best of all comes fully furnished. The furniture is not the greatest, but still nice. There are a lot of little pieces for the kitchen and bathroom, but you can always put them away like I did if you don't want your child to have them yet. If you want a beautiful house for your daughter with lights and sounds..buy it, follow these tips and I don't think you will be disappointed. I hope this helps someone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, January 22, 2010
By 
Deborah Gabsy (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
I have very mixed feelings about this product. My little girls love it because it's Barbie, pink, and has lots of fun features, at least potentially, since we still don't have all of the features working. However, from the point of view of the parents, for the money spent, it is not worth the cost at all. We still have not been able to get the shower working despite every effort, thus Barbie doesn't sing. Also, the fireplace doesn't crackle. My kids are content to believe these features will soon work, but I have my doubts, at this point.

Will your kids love this gift? They probably will, the advertising is obviously effective. Is it worth even $100? No. This was what my daughter wanted most for Christmas, but I wish I had gone with a good quality wooden dollhouse that would last through the years. The features were the selling point on this product for my kids, and I caved in.

Also, the instructions are the worst I've ever seen. They are a cheaply runoff black and white single sheet of poor quality. A $30 set of Lego blocks gets you a beautiful color booklet and explicit instructions. Everyone I showed these instructions to, just shook their head. Since the directions were so unhelpful, we had no choice but to put it together using the picture on the box.

We spent [...] for this dollhouse. For that money, I expected better quality and better instructions. Your kids will probably be elated with this dollhouse, as mine were, but, then again, they are too young to be discerning about quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish Barbie Home, December 11, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
My 4 year old daughter is getting this for Christmas this year. I've had in in the basement unassembled since this summer. After reading some of the reviews about the difficulty others had getting the electronics to work, I decided we better put it together prior to Christmas Eve. I agree that it is actually easy to put together...mostly snapping pieces with some stickers. You need to purchase 3 AA batteries that go in a compartment in the 2nd floor. These batteries work everything in the house. The tiki lights on the tub need 3 cell batteries but the house comes with these. They are already in the top of the tub frame, so you can just push the button on top and they'll work right out of the box. To put the columns in, follow the symbols on the drawings. They have to match. They are shaped like hearts, crowns, and ovals. We ended up with one extra column for some reason. The elevator string pops into the top and bottom phone cord style. Didn't have any trouble with this at all.

Now for the electronics. The fireplace took us the longest to figure out. You have to make sure it is pushed into the wall. The TV pops up if you push a button on the left of the mantle lightly. Push it a little harder and the fire will come on and crackle as the TV pops up. I saw someone had trouble with the 1st floor chandelier too. There is a very tiny button where the door hinges. The door must make contact there or the light doesn't come on. You can also push the button manually too. All of the electronics will work once the batteries have been inserted by simply snapping them into place. Most of them have some sort of "button" you need to push to activate them. You have the option to turn off the batteries when the house is not in use. There is a switch on the 2nd floor.

The house itself is very cute and I would have been in heaven to receive this as a child. I loved Barbie, but never had the house myself and always wanted it. All of the electronics on this are adorable. I love the singing shower and the fireplace with pop up TV. You can put water in the hot tub which I wondered about because it lifts off so you can empty it out. I think the quality will be fine. I still have some of my old Barbie things, and the quality is close as far as the plastic used. I wish the bed was more detailed. My canopy bed from my childhood came complete with a sponge mattress and satin sheets plus full bedding. This one has a cute pillow, but the blanket is cheaply made and the bed is just a mold. My old one which my daughter now plays with is much better although the style of this one looks cute. The top door of the fridge doesn't open (freezer). My four year old notices things like that and asks me why they don't open so this may disappoint her a bit. Also, the cupboard under the sink would be cute if it opened to store the dishes and glasses, but it does not. Love the light in the fridge though. I still have my 70s yellow fridge which was a little more detailed with opening drawers and removable shelving which this one does not have. Lastly, maybe I'm being picky but I would like to see the rugs and placemats made of fabric or felt. I'm disappointed these are cardboard at this price point, but plan to laminate them before Christmas so they'll last longer.
Overall, this house is stylish and cute and in a child's eyes I'm sure it's perfect. I can't wait to see my daughter's face on Christmas morning when she finds out her Barbie's have a home now! I would buy it again because, despite a few minor things, it's pretty adorable.

Now, I do have a request in case anyone from Mattel reads these. I think there are a lot of parents out there who would like to see you come out with another version of the yellow pool from the 70s. The new ones just don't compare. The only other Barbie pool I've ever thought was comparable was the fountain pool from the 90s. If you come out with one like the older versions, I'll be buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Girl's Dream Dollhouse!, September 15, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
Gave this to my daughter today, she's 3 1/2 years old, and she loved it. It has a lot of really nice features: the elevator, light up fireplace and chandelier, the tv pops up with a push of a button, flushing sound from the toilet, doorbell, kitchen timer, fireplace, and shower. There are lights on the tub and inside the fridge. It also comes with barbie accessories such as food for the the fridge, dishes and silverware for the kitchen, hangers for the closet, hairbrush, toothbrush, soap, tv remote,vase with flowers, and a laptop. It is pricey but comparable to most dollhouses. It has all the furniture you need (sofa/bed/a dining table with chairs/coffie table/tub/shower) included. My daughter has only played with it for a day but it seems really sturdy. I know she will have lots of fun with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Townhouse, December 25, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This was a Christmas gift for our daughter. I read all of the reviews before I ordered it. My husband put it together in an hour. Is is flimsy. I would not pay $244 for it. We paid $125. The lights around the gazebo has a short in it. All of the other mechanical stuff works find. I had the original townhouse from the 1970s and feel it was a lot sturdier. I was glad the furniture came with it...but it is flimsy. Overall I am happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware...Package NOT disguised upon delivery, November 28, 2010
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
I ordered this for my daughter as her main gift from Santa. Unfortunately the delivery person rang our doorbell and my daughter was standing next to me when I opened the door. She was THRILLED when she saw the box and immediately knew what it was because it was NOT in a plain brown box. This was delivered directly in the Mattel box with a huge photo of the townhouse on the outside of the box. I quickly closed the door and spoke to our FedEx person who was nice enough to put the box in our backyard. I told my daughter that the delivery was a mistake and meant for an address around the corner. While we were out a neighbor came and took the box for me. Let's hope she bought the story and will still be surprised on Christmas morning. I'm kicking myself for not having this delivered to my parents or a trusted neighbor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ATTENTION: HOW TO FIX FIREPLACE and CHANDELIER ! great toy !, December 23, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Pink 3-Story Dream Townhouse (Toy)
LADIES AND GENTLEMEN,

IF YOUR FIREPLACE DOESN'T WORK: simply check its connectors between the fireplace and the back wall. This part of the townhouse comes preassembled, and a lot of them aren't properly 'snapped in'. Doing this can be tricky and took me about 5 tries, so don't get frustrated and think it's broken. Once in place, your fireplace should work when you push the button that raises the T.V. GOOD LUCK !

IF YOUR FIRST FLOOR CHANDELIER DOESN'T LIGHT: I gave this product 4 stars overall because the first floor chandelier doesn't always work, even when using a screwdriver to make full contact with the door trigger. This is because of the microscopic solenoid used where the chandelier connects to the ceiling. While you have the door trigger tripped, gently bend the chandelier in all directions(this lets the metal plates make proper contact) until you see it light up. Voila!

The directions(written by a 3 year old) suggest that this is a "water play toy" ...
I don't see these electronics surviving many water encounters, but this townhouse is a very entertaining toy(you'd hope so for the price).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No