24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, January 1, 2008
By 
T. Gleason (Maryland, United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I purchased this for Christmas, since my 5 year old daughter loves Barbie Island Princess. The video preview made it look attractive, and age appropriate, but the game is such a let down. The game play is VERY slow, you are always waiting for the next screen or game to "load", and the games are too basic. The constant pauses for "loading" makes the experience very boring, and my kids got tired of this very quickly. Worst game I've experienced on the Wii, by far. I definitely don't recommend buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing and frustrating on the Wii, December 30, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "matiasduarte" (Mountain View, CA United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My mother in law bought this for our 5 year niece old. She was very excited as she loves Barbie and she loves playing Wii Sports, Carnival and Making Miis. However this game is terrible on the Wii and she was soon frustrated and angry.

The Wiimote is only used in about 25% of the games and cannot be used to navigate the game menus. Our niece was very frustrated and confused because she could not understand what controller to use when. It is clear that this game was designed for another platform and just haphazardly ported to the Wii. It is a real shame because the graphics are very attractive and the games appropriate for young girls. I strongly recommend against buying this game for the Wii, maybe it is better on another platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for 5 year olds., February 10, 2008
By 
Mitch S. (Bartlett, TN) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I don't know about these other reviews; maybe parents interjecting on their kid's behalf. My 5 year old daughter loves this game and has no troubles. She can play it by herself just fine. This and Mario Party8 are her favorite choices amongst the games we own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay for a 5 year old girl, January 7, 2008
By 
B. Jarvinen (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I have a 5 year old daughter and she likes the game; she doesn't love it nor does she hate it. She does like the mini-games because some of them are simple. There are some that are a bit more challenging for a 5 year old and she tends to panic and give the remote to me in those instances (but then again she's only 5 years old). Her 7 year old brother will even play with her a bit on it. It's not a deep game but it does hit close enough to the 5 year old girl range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skip it and save your money, September 11, 2008
By 
CassieJWJ (Great Lakes area of the United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I read some other reviews (on other sites) and so was forewarned about this game. Still, I rented the game for my four and seven year old daughters. They both hated it and asked me to return it the same day! They complained that the game was too difficult. I offered to help them play it, but they were so frustrated that they had lost interest.

Try Disney Princesses instead, if you need a game for girls ages 4 to 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 6-yr old daughter loves it, I'm not annoyed by it, August 8, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This is one of my 6-yr old daughter favorite Wii games (others she likes are Disney Princess, Wii Sports Resort, Endless Ocean, Super Smash Bros.). I've read complaints that the load times are too slow (true, they are slow, but the max wait time for us was about 30 sec. for the dressing room to load up -- we just used the time to take breaks), and that the games are too basic, while other say the games are too hard, etc. etc. I think if a 5-7 year old girl likes Barbie, likes games, and is reasonably adept at video games, she will like this game. The mini-games provide variety (and allows you to play the game in nice little bite-size chunks) and the story and unlockable items provide fun incentives. In fact, I (the dad) enjoy playing the games with her and seeing if we can top our high scores. We did "finish" the game quickly, but my daughter doesn't care, she just has fun with the games and the dressing room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for kids, November 28, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I got this for my 8 year old step daughter and it is just easy enough and challenging enough to keep her attention. I would recommend it for ages 5 - 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Product not as described, March 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This was to be a new copy and was definitely not. When it arrived it was not shrink wrapped and there was goo down the side of the box. Very disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for a 4 year old, September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My 4 year old niece loved the game....seriously could not beat it for the price...she was a very happy lil lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for little girls, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie: Island Princess - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
My grand daughter loved this and she is 5 yrs old. It does take an adult standing by to help her through some of the parts, at least for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No