62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay Game but a Little Confusing, January 2, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This Christmas we decided to buy a Nintendo Wii game system and wanted to purchase a Wii game for each of our children. Our daughter is 5 years old and loves horses. After reading reviews on different horse games, I decided that most would be too hard for her. At the time, I couldn't find a review for the Barbie Horse Adventures, but took a chance anyway and purchased the game for her.

The game starts with Barbie arriving at Riding Camp which has lots of storm damage. She is instructed to pick out some riding clothes and a horse. Afterwards, she is shown how to care for her horse by feeding it and grooming it. This is all easy to follow but somewhat time consuming. Next, the riding instructor gives Barbie her first adventure, to ride around the arena in a timed race. From here, the player finds adventures such as riding events, storm clean-up events, and horse care events. At the completion of each adventure, camp credit is given for purchasing riding clothes and horse gear. You also earn awards for riding events.

Some things about the game were very intuitive and easy for my daughter to pick up. Controlling the horse isn't too bad although my daughter tends to over steer with the Wii remote but I blame that on "operator error". My reasons for giving the game an "Okay" rating is the confusion of finding your way around the island for the adventures. The map is hard to read on the screen and I found myself going back to the game paper insert for help. There are signposts occasionally but they are hard to read when you are riding past them on a horse. I have found that I need to play the game prior to my daughter playing it so that I can help her navigate and pick adventures that she will want to do. That said, it took me a couple of times of play to find our next adventure at the Racetrack. Another downfall of the game is relying on vocal instructions during game play to tell you about different items. For the first few days of playing the game, a virtual cell phone would ring. We had no idea of how to answer it. During one game, we happened to go a route and the instructions for cell phone use popped up as a helpful hint. We found that the cell phone was very important to the game (including how to exit the game) yet we hadn't known how to access it for the first few times we played.

After several hours of play, I think that I can navigate fine through the game but my 5 year old would rather take care of the horses and ride throughout the pastures and not take on the adventures. She does seem to enjoy the game now but it has taken her a while to warm-up to it. In some ways, Barbie Horse Adventure: Riding Camp is like the PC software game, Let's Ride which my daughter loves to play. I think that my daughter does better with the Let's Ride game but of course there is more riding interaction with the Wii controller than with a PC mouse.

I believe this game is for a 6 to 8 year old. Some of the adventures were quite easy and would likely bore someone older than 5 or 6. I think someone much older would find the whole game on the dull side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'A purchase I wish I hadn't made, August 21, 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
We have a wii and the 7 year old never uses it. Most of the games are too fast, too confusing, or too frustrating for her. This game was her pick, and she is still very excited about it. However, after about 4 hours of play (half with her father and half with me), I'm ready to hang myself. As another reviewer has pointed out, the directions are fairly unclear and the map very hard to read and follow. The controls can be frustrating - even for me. The directions are very little help. My daughter would like to earn ribbons that would let her ride another horse, but how this is accomplished is not addressed in the directions. The directions also tell me that the cell phone is useful for a number of different functions, but unless someone calls, the cell phone doesn't seem to be available. Already, she seems to simply be riding her horse all over the fields and trails but not doing anything to actually play the game. I can't imagine that any child could use this game without parental assistance. Overall, a frustrating ride through the brush and into a tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for ages 5+, January 1, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is a good game. I can see it getting old if you have finished the "assignments". It really is very easy but I think you might need to be 5+ to play without frustration. You basically just ride around and ask your instructor what to do. Hell give you assignments like "run this trail" or "go find the water to water your horse". But my 5 year old probably would give it a 7 out of 10 stars and I think its decent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the young horse lover!, January 22, 2009
By 
Sammie J. Henson (Pike Road, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This was part of my 7 year old granddaughter's Christmas. What a big hit! She is turned off by many of the WII games; they just don't hold her interest. Logan Grace loves horses and so Barbie's Horse Adventures is the perfect video game for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Average Horse Riding Game for the Wii, December 15, 2009
By 
Rinn Andale (Northeast United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I purchased Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp in the hopes of finding a good game for the Wii that let me enjoy riding around on a horse. I had low expectations to start with, but found the game to be better than I imagined. It has enough direction to allow you to progress through the quests relatively easily, yet it also allows you to ride around with no set goal. This game is recommended mainly for the target audience of young girls. However, I think it has enough elements to warrant a play-through for those looking for an open-ended horse riding game. Just be aware that its playability is limited: Once you finish the game, there really is little else to do.

POSITIVES
- The amount of open space available to ride around in is very varied and vast.
- The controls require some getting used to, but are relatively straight forward after mastering them.
- There are many side quests throughout the game, adding to the content.
- The customization options are limited, but should appeal to many players.

NEGATIVES
- The graphics are not very good, even for the Wii.
- Many of the activities require a simple button click, rather than actual actions with the Wii remote.
- Some parts of the game can be tedious and too repetitive.
- The main storyline appears to be too simple at times, and makes the game seem too easy.
- The voice acting can get annoying and repetitive.

Overall, I would say that the game lives up to what it is advertised as, and does not offer too much more. Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp does not disappoint, but expect an average game designed to entertain younger players. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 yr old loves it!, April 26, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
A bit tricky to get the hang on w/ some of the activities but she's not one for giving up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what we had hoped it would be, January 4, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
As many have said this game is not appropriate for the 5-6 year old girl. My daughter got frustrated just trying to get Barbie to walk where she wanted her to go. Then the horse riding frustrated her even more. needed to be there every minute to help her with the controls. She got bored feeding and watering and grooming the horse. She was mildly interested in looking for the green "sparkly" things.

You can access the cell phone by touching one of the less used buttons, I can't remember if it's + or - or 1 or 2. That was helpful to figure out. Even so, the map in the corner is difficult to follow. The riding tests were difficult for me and impossible for her. When I was unable to complete the second "race" she pretty much got tired of it and wandered out of the room. I may try this again with her sometime, but I doubt it will go much better than the first time.

I was disappointed that she chose a game and then was basically unable to play it without me operating the remote.

I did not get to research the game before it was bought since she was with my husband at the time. Had I done any research I would not have bought the game. I am writing this review mainly to let other mothers of 5-6 year old girls know that it is not something that can be played without adult help/supervision. I know there are Wii aficionados out there who might tell me that controlling the remote isn't that difficult. I would have to say, that it is difficult.

Overall I would not recommend this game to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp, April 29, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Quick shipping and a great price on this fun game for our girls. Great for our 8-year-old, slightly advanced for our 4-year-old, but they all enjoy it nevertheless!
Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for 6 year old girl, January 18, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game has been great for my 6 year old. She is able to control it fairly well and the play area is big enough to challenge her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, February 12, 2010
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Horse Adventures: Riding Camp - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I bought this game for my 5 year old neice who had never played a Wii before. The reviews I read made it sound like it would be simple enough for her to play but it's not. It is very hard to control the Barbie character, I had trouble with it myself. All she wanted to do was pick out clothes and horses and after that she lost interest, and so did I. I would recommend this for an older child, maybe 10-12 years old and with lots of Wii experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No