24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS!!, March 24, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Frankie Stein looks absolutely gorgeous in her Skull Shores outfit. Yes, it is really in gray-scale, doll and packaging. What a great idea! Whoever designs these dolls is extremely talented! The Frankie Stein comic-con doll is also in gray-scale but is an expensive collectors item. This doll, is a wonderful way to get the beauty of the gray-scale Frankie for a low price. The other thing I LOVE about this doll, is her hairstyle. They have given her a cute bob that curls under. She normally has long straight hair. I am an adult collector, and this doll is staying in her box, so I can't review the durability. But collector-wise, she is a MUST! I would suggest snapping this doll up fast before she gets as hard to find as some of the others and the price starts to go up.
*side eyes certain amazon sellers*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and Poseable, April 26, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
Monster High is a toyline full of gorgeous dolls, and this greyscale version of Frankie is no exception. She comes with a swim-suit, sarong, shoes, jewelry, and stand (no other accessories). Seeing as she's the daughter of Frankenstein's monster and his bride, she has neckbolts and painted stitches on her face and body. Her shoes, earrings, and bracelet are designed to look like bolts; the shoes are exceptionally detailed and creative. Her face is painted nicely, one eye darker than the other to represent her normal green and blue eyes. The greyscale looks terrific on this doll and her box.

This doll has articulation in her knees, hips, neck, shoulders, elbows, and wrists; giving her a wonderful range of motion in her arms and the ability to 'hold' small objects. Her hands and arms can be taken off for ease of putting on her clothes; I found this difficult to do on the doll I recieved. I had to pull fairly hard to get one hand off, and it slipped snugly back in.

It is fairly easy to slip the doll onto her stand and pose her. She can also stand unassisted if you keep her legs straight.

The only issue I had with my doll is her hair. Her gelled bob was haphazarly cut and styled; random chuncks of the hair were too long in the back, and one piece was gelled smushed and tangled in the front. I was able to fix her hair by rinsing it in warm water with conditioner to get the gel out, cutting it and putting in a little smoothing gel to straighten the smooshed hair in front. Now she looks exactly like the box art.

I have read on Monster High doll communities that the dolls made in Indonesia have their hair glued in instead of rooted, and this glue seeps out through the doll's hair over time. I will edit this review if this happens with my doll.

I have taken off one star for the sorry state my doll's hair came in, but I still recommend her as a nice toy or display piece. (She was $10 after shipping when I ordered her.) Just be prepared to give a little TLC if you are buying online!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie minus color = COOL!, January 29, 2013
By 
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
I was really bummed that the other grayscale Frankie was expensive and hard to find. So, I was VERY happy when this much more affordable version came out. I had a Toys R' Us gift card and I ordered it as soon as I saw it because I KNOW the price of this one is going to go up. Of course making any Mattel item a different color automatically makes scalpers buy them all and sell them for 10 times the regular price, even though the doll is just a regular Monster High toy. She should cost about 10 to 20 dollars, so DON'T pay some rip-off price! The doll only comes with the clothing she is wearing and a black doll stand. No extra accessories are added, so be aware of this before buying.

I make doll clothing and furniture as a hobby so I am always looking for unique dolls to inspire me. I have to say, I was really impressed when I received this doll in the mail! She is TOTALLY gorgeous and even prettier than in the pictures. The photo here on Amazon is an accurate one but it doesn't fully capture the beauty of the doll. She actually looks much better in natural light and in person. Especially when I held her up to my other normally colored Frankie doll, I realized just how cool she looks. Both versions of the doll are pretty but the grayscale one is amazing when you first open it and look at it up close. It is JUST like seeing an old Black & White monster movie!

Frankie's outfit is a black and silver swimsuit with a matching bikini wrap. The bikini wrap is removable and the swimsuit underneath is a connected halter one-piece style which is black on top and metallic silver fabric on the bottom. The top and the wrap are black with a gray and silver storm cloud and lightning print. The shoes, bracelet and earrings are gray and slightly opaque with a matte surface. The stitching on Frankie's body is painted on with black and silver and the lipstick is a metallic steel gray color. Frankie's eyes are both gray BUT one is a slightly lighter gray and the other darker, suggesting they are mismatched just like the original Frankie (the original colored doll has one blue eye and one green eye because all her body parts probably come from different people) and I found this tiny detail cute. This Frankie version is made to look like the one from "Skull Shores" and it is a very accurate rendition of the way she looked in the cartoon. The color of the doll DOES actually relate to the "Skull Shores" plot but you have to see the cartoon to understand.

A few people did complain about the stiff hair but as a collector and someone who likes to dress the dolls and take photos, I actually DO understand why they do this to the hair. The boxes get tossed around a lot during shipping. Long hair can be sewn or secured into the package but short or curly hair can be a WRECK once you get the toy out of the box! To prevent this, they put a thick coating of "hair gel" to preserve the short and slightly flipped-under hairdo. If you want to take good photos, many dolls need the hair washed and re-set. There are tons of Monster High hair tutorials online and it is so easy, kids are making most of the how-to videos. With this doll, all I had to do was rinse the hair in warm water, blot it dry with a towel, reshape it and leave it to dry undisturbed overnight. The result was a hairstyle that looked exactly like the cartoon and mine didn't need any extra trimming or styling.

Overall, this is a great toy! As far as durability, I will just say this: It's a Monster High doll, so handle it with care! As many parents have probably discovered, they are not the most durable toy. They also have body parts that come off, making them a poor choice for very small children. If you are a parent, heed the warning labels and note the age recommendations. If you are a collector or a hobbyist, have a spare doll for measuring, trying clothing on and trying out poses. Too much wear and tear and the joints get loose and parts start to fall off randomly. My first Cleo doll is so wobbly she droops like a wet noodle when you try to stand her up. The joints of this Frankie doll seem to be a little tighter but I guess time will tell. She is beautiful, I have made a lot of cool stuff for her and as far as the "fun" factor she gets five stars! Even more fun was the fact I got this doll for the right price. Maybe Mattel IS finally getting a clue and making enough dolls for everyone. Let's hope so! For now, this doll is still pretty easy to find online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, May 1, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
Got here when it was suppose to in great condition. She is a great addition to my collection and I look forward to all the pictures I would take of her. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good, some bad, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
I purchased two of these monochrome Frankie dolls with the intent of using them for personal art projects, but I'll try to keep my review relevant to other possible buyers as well.
Here's an overview:
Pros: Unique colors, great look, decent price, ships quickly from Amazon facilities, consistent face paint
Cons: no accessories, hair is very stiff/hard (though this can be fixed), joints may be slightly loose, box may be dirty or slightly damaged

First things I noticed were that she really, truly is 100% greyscale. She comes with her one-piece swimsuit, a sarong, a bracelet, shoes, and a doll stand. (The shoes I received are the same from the out-of-box display image on this site; the boxed images show her with her first wave shoes. This may be an error.)

The gel used for her hair is VERY hard, most likely to help it stand up to kids' play without going frizzy within a day. However, if you would prefer softer, brushable hair, it can be removed by (carefully) pouring boiling water over her head.
The dolls I received appear to have no problems with overspray or uneven spraying of the faces.
Their joints occasionally will not hold a pose, and will "sag" slightly after being posed.

The boxes, yes both of them, had a dingy look to them, with some tearing at the cardboard where it met the plastic window in the front. Said windows had many small scratches, which could be a concern for collectors who want the best-looking product they can find.

Bottom line: Yes, I would recommend... Just know there may be a few issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barebones Frankie, April 18, 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
This b&w Skull Shores Frankie is my 6.5 year old's first Monster High doll. With all the Friday the 13th hype, I couldn't resist ordering her when she was less than ten bucks on Amazon, and then ordered another for my niece when Amazon offered her for sale for $4.13 for a flash sale on 4/13 (despite the fact that no brick and mortar stores within 50 miles of us offered the $4.13 price).

Frankie is really cute and sassy, and the bob is the (black, white, and silver) icing on the cake. Her hair isn't quite as perfect fresh out of the box, but its very easy to comb and style. Frankie seems well made and her monokini and heels are both stylish and fashionably monochomatic. Love having the doll stand and frankly (no pun intended) I might shop around for deals on basic MH dolls while they still are packaged with stands. Sadly unlike the other dolls in the series, Frankie does not have any accessories like the standard MH hairbrush (talk about cheap, no hairbrush??), the Skull Shores map card, a fruity beach drink, sunglasses or "floppy" beach hat. Considering that Skull Shores is about her, Mattel could have at least included one of those Frankie-head statues in the packaging or a cute tiki necklace or something. There isn't even any reference to the new character Andy that was featured on the show! Are they together? Just friends? What???? Anyway, when compared with the other MH Skull Shores dolls, it's obvious that Mattel omitted some major details to balance the planned lower price.

All in all, great doll if you can find a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Steps Out of the Silver Screen, April 17, 2012
By 
Astral "Astral" (Magnolia, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
The black and white Frankie Stein that was made in limited quantities for San Diego's 2009 Comic Con were very popular. So popular, in fact, that Hasbro has released this doll in "limited quantities" for a very low price ($4.13 at most big box stores). She is NOT the same doll as the Comic Con collector's one, that is based off the original Frankie design, with the longer hair and the school girl outfit.

HOWEVER, this is a beautiful doll, and worth picking up for your collection. As the story goes, the beach has bleached the color right out of Frankie, so she appears in classic movie monster silver screen fashion - black and white. The monochromatic design makes for an interesting and unique doll for your collection, and she is very attractive, with her sassy short haircut and beach ready attire. Frankie is priced so low that if the kids break one, it's not the end of the world. She comes in a very attractive black/white slim box, as the lower priced dolls do (Skull Shores, Gloom Beach).

As with all Monster High dolls, the arms and hands become detached easily so care should be taken with play. These are not dolls to roughhouse with. My two girls are careful to play nicely but sometimes a hand does fall off (and is easily popped back on). I have seen their friends' dolls that are sometimes just torsos, so a word of caution if this is to be a child's toy. At a $4-5 price range for this particular one, it's not such a big deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Beautiful Frankie doll!!, March 29, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
Like the previous reviewer I was also miraculously able to find Frankie black and white Skull Shores (not confusing with the comic-con exclusive black and white edition)at Wall-Mart today for $4.13...She is absolutely beautiful...Just an update on other dolls I'm having hard time finding Gil if anyone has any suggestions on how to find him I thank you in advance...The new 3 pack Fear Squad that includes Cleo, Ghoulia, and Draculara are still at all Toys r Us stores as well as Ghoulia with her pet owl and notebook...they have tons of the twin Werecats who I really don't care for as the last 2 dolls Nefera and Toralei are the girls enemies and I think Operetta was sort of an enemy but I guess the writers of the series changed their minds on her and started to make her nice..So I'm good with these "villians" for now...all of the above dolls can still be found in stores...the sweet 1600 dolls are fully stocked as well...I was able to find Lagoona with her hydration station at toys are us as well...they have overstock on Cleo's vanity set and Frankie's bed...all the Targets and Toys r Us have the majority of the plushies as well...and like I said in my last review the 5 pack Gloom Beach is till in stock at Target just keep a look out...Good Luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful doll and hair is fixable, April 10, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
I'm an avid collector of Monster High dolls and to say that I was thrilled to find this one at Kmart for only $4.13 is a major understatement! Monster High dolls in general are beautiful, extraordinarily detailed and have really great overall concepts. I have all the other dolls in the Skull Shores set and my only complaint about this one is that it was the only one in the collection that didn't come with a little drink accessory. Her hair comes plastered down, which I hate, but a bit of shampoo and warm water and it was soft, lovely and brushable.

Please note that these dolls are fragile and come with VERY small pieces. I would recommend these for collectors and older children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster High Skull Shores Black and White Frankie Stein Doll (Toy)
She's really pretty. Love the black and white theme of this doll and sort of wish more would turn to the grayscale theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No