7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Barbie Fairie That Doesn't Quite Work, December 24, 2009
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
As much as I love the Barbie line, the fairies always seem to suffer from design flaws. What you don't see in the pictures on amazon or on the box is that this fairy has all kinds of plastic pieces coming out her back. These pieces are so that the 'gimmick' of having the wings turn into a skirt in one motion of the arms would work. It makes the back of the doll kind of ugly and the skirt stick out weird in order to do the 'gimmick' movement.

I wish (and thought) this was more like the 3 musketeers barbies where the skirt does double duty (cape/skirt) but isn't attached to plastic pieces in the back. And like the Mariposa doll and other fairies, kids just don't like those plastic pieces in back. When you don't have wings permanently attached, they just fall off. All the time.

As others noted, getting this doll out of the package is a true pain. Getting the wings on the doll for the gimmick is even more annoying. Within 5 minutes, the wing gimmick trick no longer worked right and the crown fell off. I really wish they'd sew the crowns to the head.

So yeah, yet another failure. Instead of this doll, buy the new Mermaid dolls. Those have tails of soft vinyl that make the mermaid posable and much more fun to play. What girl wants to play with a toy that keeps breaking or has strange plastic pieces sticking out the back like a victim of strange experimentation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Last 2 Days without Breaking, November 30, 2009
By 
IK (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
When my almost-5-year-old daughter saw the commercial, she knew she wanted it. I ordered it for a reasonable price on Amazon, but to our dismay, the tiny little plastic piece where the wing attaches to Barbie's back broke in less than 2 days. Not fixable. Without the gimmicky wings/skirt, daughter quickly lost interest and asked to replace her with a $10 Barbie Mermaid from Target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious Design, I'm Very Impressed!, January 1, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
I was prepared to hate this doll, for it to be either non-functional or to break within a day or so. Boy was I wrong! IMHO the design and functionality of this doll are wonderful! While it's true that there's a bit of a learning curve to working the doll, it really wasn't too bad and the skirt/wings do seem to be fairly sturdy. I do agree with the other reviewer who said that some kids don't like plastic parts sticking out of the doll's back; I'm not sure my daughter is too crazy about them. But she does really like this doll overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Daughters Favorite Dolls, May 7, 2014
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
My daughter loves this doll. She got it years ago and still has it. The wings are beautiful and big and they have not broken. She has so much fun playing with it. The dress is pretty when it is down and you can change out her skirt if you like when the wings are up. It is easy and simple to use. When you put up the wings, were arms go up as well, which seems to get a little annoying but you can hold the wings up and slowly put her arms down so that she isn't awkwardly making a "field goal" sign. Very nice, well made doll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not too sturdy, January 4, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
This Barbie was nicey packaged and arrived right on time. It is not meant to be played with by kids under five. The wings are not sturdy, a very fragile toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its a fun toy, December 27, 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
It's fun, but the wings broke very easy. we had to do some sewing already and they never really worked all that great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work from the first moment, September 22, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
I just looked up the review for this Barbie to see if other people had the same problems we had. Apparently it's not just us.
From the moment we took it out of the box, the left wing/skirt would not attach. The plastic piece was completely missing the little "bump" to keep it snapped in. I tried keeping it in place with a plastic band, but every time my daughter tried to "fly" it around the room, the wing came off again. We finally glued the pieces in with heavy-duty woodworker's glue. Now she can play with it, but the skirt will not even begin to stay in place when put down. Not much fun for my daughter, or for me, who is constantly trying to fix this thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't even hold up one day, August 3, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
This doll is poorly put together! And don't try to tell me that it was just the one I got, because I have three girls who each got one.. and every single one broke! The first wing fell off putting it on the doll. I ended up having to sew the wing back together. We re-read the instructions to make sure that it was the correct way to attach it, and it was. When we put the other two together, of course the skirt didn't lay flat and the kids had a hard time working the lever on the back. Try explaining to a three year old "lift the arms up above barbie's head, pull the lever on her back, push the skirt down and adjust it until it actually resembles a skirt, put the arms back down, and press the skirt against the barbie's legs tight to hold it in place" just to make a cruddy skirt. Honestly, after one or two wings fell off each doll I tore off the remaining wings and bought doll clothes for what was left of barbie. On a plus side the wings are really pretty so I sewed the wings together with a thick center piece of felt material, and attached two elastic loops for my toddler's arms to go through. Now my kids have dress up butterfly wings for themselves, not the dolls, which remain in the bottom of the toybox with dress up clothes on that don't cover the levers sticking out of their backs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wings are hard to press open and are not durable., February 7, 2010
By 
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
Wings are hard to press open and are not durable. Daughter loves it though!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Function not good, January 9, 2010
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Fairy - Tastic Pink/Purple Princess Doll (Toy)
My daughter received this for Christmas. The design looks like so much fun, but when the wings turn back into the skirt, it never lays flat, and doesn't look attractive. One of the plastic pieces on the back of the wing is about to come off as well, and when it does, no more Fairy-Tastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No