15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't lose a shoe!!, January 9, 2012
By 
PiscesMarie (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my daughter, who is a big Barbie fan. While the product works as advertised, although it seems a bit flimsy-- our problem stems from the fact that her little sister (who is very sneaky and loves to get into her sister's business) lost one of each of the shoes for the two dolls that come with it. Once we realized what had happened, we were already back home from our Christmas visit to another state and had no way to continue to look for them in the house where we were staying.

This may not seem like a big deal, Barbie shoes get lost all the time. However, the dolls can't ride the bike without the shoes. The shoes are different sizes from each other. The shoes are not like any other Barbie shoes we have in our collection... Okay, I'll contact Mattel and see if I can order replacement shoes. After chatting online with two separate agents, they both inform me that there are no such thing as replacement shoes for this particular Barbie product. What? How on earth does that make sense? A $25 dollar toy that WILL NOT WORK if one of the tiny, one-centimeter long, easily-dislodged-from-the-doll shoes is not on the doll's foot?

Clearly a poor design, and poor customer-relations issue. I was totally willing to pay for replacement shoes, and superglue those darned shoes onto the dolls' feet. Mattel should either offer a way to purchase replacement shoes, sell the product with either the shoes permanently attached to the doll's feet or to the pedals, OR have the dolls be able to "ride" the bike without shoes.

So, for now, my husband "strapped" the feet to the pedals using twisty-ties from the packaging of another toy. It doesn't work very well, but my daughter can "play" with them a little before they start sliding out of the makeshift straps. I feel like an idiot for losing a doll's shoe and spending this much time trying to locate a replacement (unsuccessfully). Lesson learned, no more Barbies who need special equipment to function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE REPORT BROKEN SKIPPER LEG TO MATTEL, June 25, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
I had a problem with Skipper's leg breaking at the knee. I'm not really that mad at Mattel though. I contacted the company, and without question, they sent us a voucher for the retail price of the Sisters Bike for Two. So, we purchased a new one. The second Skipper broke her leg at the knee also. This happened to both dolls within the first hour of playtime. I contacted Mattel again and they are, again, sending me a voucher good for any Mattel toys.

***PLEASE contact the company and let them know you had this same problem with the Skipper doll. They can report it and maybe alter the design or recall the product.***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Entire thing falls apart. Don't waste your money., January 10, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
Don't waste you're money. Right out of the box one of the pedals was already off. My daughter has been playing quite a bit with the dolls themselves, but not really the bike, despite that the bike is falling apart. Every time you pick up the bike another piece falls off. Would be fine if it was about a $10-$15 item, but priced in the $25-$30 range it's ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Legs are wobbly, Breaks too easily, December 27, 2011
By 
MJS (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
We've had this product one day and the handlebars have broken off, as well as the support that holds the little doll up on the seat. Also, the dolls' legs are very wobbly when you take them off the bike. You can't hold them up and have them stand, since the legs immediately bend beneath them. This is what makes them able to ride the bike, but makes it hard to play with them when they aren't riding. I wouldn't buy this again, it is too hard to play with and breaks too easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concept, poor design quality, December 30, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
I bought this toy for my three year old because she started riding a bicycle herself and I thought she'd enjoy a toy depicting real-world play. The concept is outstanding, but the design is poor. In just one hour of play, Skipper's lower leg broke off at the hinge when she was trying to remove the foot from the pedal. She was really upset that I couldn't fix it. A snap-able joint would have been better ... now it's just ready for the trash. She's crying and crying. Thanks a lot Mattel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this!, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
This is so cute and our girls (4 and 5) love it! It easily hooks together and since we are avid bike riders, our kids like to play bike riding with their barbies. This was a huge hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What you'd get in the store, but broken!, July 26, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
My 9 year old is an avid Barbie enthusiast, and has amassed an army of Barbie's as well as her lesser known sisters and friends. This Skipper was what she needed to complete her camping collection, and it was all I heard about for the, roughly, 7 days we had to wait for it. That wasn't a problem for us, she's 9 after all, and impatient. When we got the product however, and opened the box, the little clear clasp that holds Skipper in the bicycle seat was broken. This is actually kind of important to the toy as it's the only real way to keep Skipper straight so she can pedal as the child pushes it along. Now this means something to me, because of the money it cost. This on the other hand means very little to my daughter who was all to willing to simply hold Skipper on the seat. So for me, the grown up shelling out money, I'm none to happy, but from the perspective of a 9 year old it was 5 stars. So to all of the money shelling parents out there, be aware of this minor problem, as it does seem to be common.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SO flimsy!, December 29, 2011
By 
Jennifer Gilbert (Missouri City, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
I'm fourteen and my little sister is seven, and we both love barbie dolls! I love collecting them and playing with them, and this set seemed so fun! Well, these dolls are so hard to play with! Skipper's legs are SO incredibly wobbly that you can't even hold her up to play. I tried to tape her knees together, but her hips are still so flimsy and she wobbles everywhere! I was very dissapointed with this and will be taking it back to get the regular doll that you can actually play with. I'm sure they do ride great on the bike, but I haven't tried. I was so excited to get the Skipper doll, and I'm so sad! :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loose legs, July 30, 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
I love this skipper and chelsea.Their bodies are flexible, though I must say the legs are way too loose. But when they are on the bike it really moves realistically. Just for the body mold I give it a 4 stars though. Not really good for younger children, the legs and hands slip off the bike easily. Skipper is very pretty and has a pert nose. Chelseas face is mischievious. Lovely toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Cute, but Strange Legs, July 8, 2012
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Sisters Tandem Bike Playset (Toy)
My two daughters have absolutely fallen in love with the Barbie Sisters series and sets. We have collected most of them between my two daughters, aged 7 and 4, and have been very happy. My 4 year old received this set for her birthday recently, and loves biking Skipper and Chelsea all around. She has also piled on Stacie and a couple of her other Chelseas to ride as well! The only problem we've had is that my 4 year old doesn't like the dolls legs. They are really wobbly to play with when they are off of the bike. We tried putting some tights on them and that helps, but in the end my 4 year old gave the dolls to her sister to play with. Now, other Skippers and Chelseas ride the bike, which satisfies my 4 year old. They don't pedal as cutely, but she's happy. Also, one of our handle bar grips broke off, but that happened when my daughter stepped on the bike. I am surprised that is all that broke, so maybe this is a sturdier toy than I originally thought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No