66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will Put a Smile on Any Young Tot !, August 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nov 12th, 2013 - I had a crappy electric car when I was three and remember it fondly, especially because of the hope I continually pinned on its poor performance. Now, the great Elton John Circle of Life has turned and my three year old son is ready to ride holy terror through the subdivision. After doing a fair amount of research, including a charming looking National Products fire truck (NP electric cars are made in Hong Kong) and some exotic Toy Toys Italian sports cars (Berchet Ferrari, etc..), I decided to go with the Fisher Price/Power Wheels Red Ford Mustang replica. The NP fire truck received only so-so reviews at other sites and the exotic Italian electric children's cars are very pricey and hard to find parts for here in the USA. Never been a fan of the Fisher Price series of toy lines, but took a chance with this buy (since I had the Amazon warranty at my back).

Before commenting on the PW Mustang specifically, I will say that if you decide to purchase an electric car for your child, you want the 12 volt standard (the American and European markets use the 6 volt, 12 volt, 18 volt (sometimes), 24 and 36 volt standards) and something for which you can find replacement parts (here in the USA, that means usually Power Wheels or Peg Perego brands). Six (6) volt cars are underpowered for children weighing more than 30 lbs (14 kg) and do not (unless modified after market) go faster than 2.5 mph (about 4 kph). The 12 volt standard ensures enough power for one or two children who weigh up to 65 lbs each (about 32 kg each) and allows the car to reach up to 5 mph (about 8 kph). The electric motors are also more powerfully built and can withstand more wear. 12 volt cars are also larger (but weigh more as well) and the usual price range is about $200 to $500. Basically, a 12 volt car allows for a longer use cycle with a child, as the parents can buy a 12 volt car when the child is about two years old and adjust the seats as they grow until they reach about 4 1/2 or 5 years old. The six volt cars are often out grown by children by about three years old and few of them have adjustable seats to allow for little growing legs and arms. And that means you have to spend twice to buy the 12 volt model anyway, once the three year old outgrows the 6 volt car.

As to this Mustang model itself, the box says thirty minutes to one hour to assemble the car for actual driving. (the car does not come fully built in the box). This is incorrect, as the actual time if you are meticulous and follow instructions carefully, is about 2.5 to 4 hours. (the decals themselves take a good 45 minutes if you want a spiffy look). It is not hard work, but you do need to take your time. You do not need a technical background or automotive experience to put the car together. This Power Wheels series of Mustangs has undergone several revisions since 2006 and fortunately, most of the bugs have been worked out. The front alignment and actuation, the steering rod, the rear electric motors, the battery connector and several smaller items are all good designs that have changed from earlier models for the better. When first building the car, you must charge the new battery 18-24 hours before first use. You also need to adjust the seat for the leg length of your little one. I purchased the bright red model with silver wheels for my son, but this same model comes in pink for little girls as well. The car is also designed for flat surfaces and if your home is on an incline, you will have multiple traction problems which will shorten your drivetrain (electric motors) lifespan. This Mustang is also not designed for rainy climates (although, mild amounts of rain will not hurt it), so you may want to consider some sealing if you live somewhere like Seattle, WA.

Overall, this PW Mustang works as advertised. It is not the most educational toy out there but it will generate a pure look of unadulterated joy on their face. It will go both 2.5 and 5 mph in the forward gears and 2.5 mph in reverse. The gear shift can be locked into the 2.5 mph mode until the parents decide to allow the higher gear. With the battery fully charged you get about three hours in the 2.5 mph mode and about 70 minutes in the 5 mph. (less if on an inclined surface or on grass) If the child removes their foot from the (gas) pedal, the car stops. I do wish this Mustang had a separate brake pedal and working side mirrors but that is what modding is for (more in a second on this). The only really needed item that Fisher Price forgot is the horn. And that is because, a horn really will help real adult drivers on the road notice a Power Wheels vehicle. Another minor complaint is the limited turn radius. This was done on purpose to make sure that little ones dont turn too fast and flip the vehicle over (cant blame 'em). One of the major complaints that many parents have is the slick plastic wheels which generate poor traction. A fairly simple solution to this is to drill small holes even spaced in the plastic wheels and insert small rubber bumps or o-rings. This will add just the right amount of traction without the rotational weight and problems of BMX tires. (do not try if you ride outside of paved roads)

If the battery or drive train ever break, you can fortunately find replacements fairly easy from places like HobbyMasters. Hope I dont need to find out, but there is a one year warranty on this Mustang from Power Wheels and as I understand it, the warranty is usually honored. Because of the popularity of this model and the amount of years it has been around, it also has a large after market for modders.

Modding - Since there are already two other PW pink Mustangs and one PW F150 electric truck in my subdivision, I decided to look into adding something fun to this model for my son. At first, I had nothing but Google to lead me, and I ended up at Modified Power Wheels . com. After spending some time there and gathering ideas, I decided to change what I did not like about the stock retail Mustang :

1 - It needed a working electric ignition key (with a simulated start up engine sound).
2 - It needed slight traction increases on the plastic wheels
3 - It needed working head, brake and tail lights.
4 - It did not need but we installed anyway, a cool 5 point racing seat belt harness.
5 - It needed working reflective side mirrors
6 - It did not need but I decided to splurge and install a working iPod dock with speakers for playing Bob the Builder tunes.
7 - It needed more power (18 volts with heatsinks for the electric motors)(24 volts will burn out the drivetrain and cannot be done without major modifications including pulse width modulation control)
8 - It needed a working brake pedal
9 - It needed a working horn.
10 - It needed an overall theme to tie everything together.

After considering photos of several real Mustang models, I decided to turn my son's red regular PW Mustang into a replica of the 2008 to 2013 red/black GT500 Shelby SuperSnake. I broke out the Dremel tool, the masking tape, some cans of plastic paint and several other supplies. It took about 72 hours of extra work and cost about $320 in materials and custom badging, but it has been fun for my son and myself to create something totally unique in our neighborhood.

Overall, this PW Mustang does what it advertises and is still going strong 15 months later. I give the stock version 4.5 stars out of five. For pure fun and the reaction on your child's face, it is five out of five stars. And if you are in to modding stuff, this is one of the easiest models to build upon. My small son is still enjoying his car most days of the week and it is holding up well. Would recommend to other interested parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun but poor traction, December 29, 2009
By 
Trevor Smith (Ocean Springs, MS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This is a very fun toy, and is quite durable and well-built. It is nice that it has room for two children. The one major drawback is the slick plastic wheels, which have very poor traction. On grass the car almost never gets going without an adult "shove" and it even slips quite a bit on concrete. I talked to other parents who have returned the car because of this problem. I have solved the problem by wrapping modified rubber bicycle tires around the wheels, but I don't feel that I should have had to do this. Our son doesn't weigh much, and traction may not be as big a problem with a heavier child. However, I do not recommend this if it will be driven in a yard and not on pavement unless you are willing to make the same wheel modifications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it!, July 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an awesome power wheels! Super cute and easily fits 2 kids. My 3 year old, his 7 year old sister, and all the kids in the neighborhood love driving it around. It's super fast, and the battery lasts for hours. I was sure to do the initial charge on the battery of 18 hours - I didn't with my last one, and I think it affected the battery life in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Awesome !, September 13, 2009
I ordered this car for my grandaughter's third birthday. It was the hit of the party! 24 children took turns riding
it. Her brother already has the red one. This car is so durable that it withstood their playing bumper cars with
them all afternoon.This car even comes with music and lights. What a toy!!! I will be buying another one soon
for another grandchild
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson loved it., August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved it and very easy to operate. Very well constructed. Battery life good. Easy to charge. Grandson loved the color
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Choice, January 1, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought this car for my neice. She got it christmas morning and was estatic! Jumped in and drove it all over the place. She really loved it. Was a little scared at first but once she got the hang of it, Lookout! It ran well and on all different types of ground. (grass, snow, pavement) I would totally recommend this little mustang. Great value and the kids will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, but wheels slip a lot, May 19, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Update.

Had battery in the car for 8 months and still have not had to recharge it once (barely used indoors only). Also, the wheel slip is kind of a good thing. My daughter drove the car into a wall and because the wheels slip, the impact was not too hard, but was slightly shaken. If I had rubber grips on this car, she definitely would have gotten hurt.
____________
Car is great, 2 year old daughter was thrilled with it, but she still does not know how to drive it well. Radio requires a separate battery which is kind of a pain to take apart, unscrew the cover & replace the AA batteries. Should have been wired to use the car's main battery.

Other anyoing thing about the car is the wheels slip, but that is the same for all powered vehicles for kids. There are aftermarket rubber tracks that can be added to fix this and they are relatively cheap.

Would have been nice if there was a remote control for it as in other makes, especially for a two year old (I know, the recommended age is 3+)

Otherwise, car is great, looks great, & battery lasts a long time. Has been in there for about a month & has not needed a recharge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amazon deal on ford mustang for kids, October 10, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MY GRANDCHILD'S EYES LIT UP WHEN SHE SAW THIS BRIGHT RED TOY THAT WAS ALL HERS. WHEN SHE STARTED TO RIDE IT I THOUGHT WE WOULD NEVER GET HER OUT AGAIN. WHAT A BEAM IN HER EYES WHEN SHE GOT TO PARK IT IN THE GARAGE. AND ALL AT A GREAT PRICE THANKS TO THE AMAZON PRIME DEAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WE KEEP HAVING TO REPLACE THE BACK WHEELS, July 21, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fisher-Price Power Wheels Barbie Ford Mustang (Toy)
I bought this for my daughters 4th birthday and she loves it! HOWEVER we have went thru 3 sets of rear tires in the last 2 1/2 months. After one month they split right in half. We had them replaced and they did it again after 3 weeks the last set that we have put on lasted another 3 weeks and we are going on our 4th set here in the next couple days. My daughters drive this everyday and absolutely love it. I am stuck between a rock and a hard spot. I would hate to return it and buy something different since they love it but I am really getting fed up with having to take it to the dealer (which is 40 min away from our house) every few weeks to have them replace the wheels. I would really recommend a different power wheels. It did come with a 1 year warranty but after the warranty is up I won't be buying the wheels for it. I would rather invest in something else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Inexpensive But Lots Of Fun -- Just Like A Real Ford Mustang!, September 26, 2014
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
If you want to be even more of a hero/heroine to your small child, niece or nephew than you already are and don't mind spending about $300 for a toy car, the Fisher-Price Power Wheels Ford Mustang Ride On in its sharp yellow color will definitely enable you to achieve that goal. Fisher-Price says the recommended age range for this car is 3-5 years, although my 7 year nephew fits in it fine.

The only problem that seems to exist with this car is getting the kid(s) out of it once they get into it.

After all, what's not to like about this car (other than, perhaps, its price tag)? Its sharp looking, its durable, it seats two relatively comfortably, it drives on both hard surfaces and grass, it's powerful (for a little kid) as it is powered by a 12 volt battery that can drive at two speeds -- 2.5mph and 5mph, it comes with a battery charger, it drives in forward and reverse, it has some safety features for beginners like high-speed lockout and Power-Lock brakes, it has a radio that plays a few melodies, and it has a pretend key that activates engine sounds.

As to assembly, it is relatively easy with a good set of directions. It only took about an hour from the time it was removed from the box to the time it "hit the road."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No