21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I may have been mad to buy it..., March 3, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
I debated and debated and debated over this one. It is a bit expensive, yes. But it's Barbie and it's Disney and it's Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland. Of course it'll be a collectible. I am not a Barbie collector, so I had to look up what the different colored labels even mean -- for the record, for the uneducated like me, Pink Label just means it is considered a collectible doll but its release was NOT limited to a certain number.

I plan to keep mine in the box, so I had to guess about how "Durable" it is. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and decided that if you plan to keep it as a collectible in the box, as I do, the box and doll should actually hold up well. The cardboard box is thick and yet designed in such a way that it pops right open so you can examine the doll up close, then close it right up again without damaging the box at all.

Educational? No. Not for kids. But well, I'd feel bad saying 1 star. I don't hate anything about this doll. I'll give it three there because it could be educational for us big kids. Hey, c'mon, you could use it as a study of what dolls should be when trying to emulate a real person / character. Okay, I admit, a stretch, but it is one of the better ones I've seen recently. I've seen dolls based on people or characters that made me scratch my head and ask "Really? That's supposed to be *insert name here*?" But this one? They got Johnny Depp's Mad Hatter right on. Down to the spools of thread on his costume.

If you love Alice in Wonderland, Johnny Depp, or collect the collectible Barbies this one is probably a must have for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Mad Hatter Doll, April 17, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
Just to start off, this doll is a beautiful replica from Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland. It is very detailed and has many movable joints, which I was surprised to see. I haven't owned a Barbie since the early 1990's, but decided to get this one because I loved the movie.

It is not meant to be played with at all, this is definitly a collector's item. I bought the doll so I could enjoy it myself, not to resell it later, and I'm very happy I did. It looks better when you take it out of the box so you can see all of the intricate details on the figure. I rated how durable it was as a 3/5 because you wouldn't want to take the clothes off of him, and even the hat is held on by the plastic packaging ties. It was a difficult and tedious task to get him out of the box.

Overall, it is worth every penny if you are a big fan of the movie, Depp's performance as the Mad Hatter, or a collector. Would not recommend this for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Birthday Gift For A Friend, July 5, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
I purchased him as a birthday gift for a friend. She is an avid Johnny Depp fan. This particular doll is spectacular. The attention to detail is impressive. My friend was thrilled to receive him. The vendor shipped him promptly in appropriate packaging that ensured he arrived undamaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorably Mad, October 29, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
I did buy this product from Amazon and it did arrive in good time and in excellent condition.

And I actually bought him a year ago but only recently have I learned how to post reviews on Amazon.

First off I must say that I am a big fan of Disney's 2010 "Alice In Wonderland" and I loved Johnny Depp's portrayal of the Mad Hatter. This little guy has the costume in great detail, from his mis-matched socks to his lace cuffs and his chain of spools. His hair is soft but not really the neon red orange of the movie. The bow tie is large but not overly so. He has the embroidery flowers on his pants leg and the bundle of ribbons on his side The scarf on his hat is long and hangs below his waist. He has the hatpins on the side of his hat and the 10/6 tag. I wish he had a peacock feather but that might be easily torn or messed up.

He does look like Johnny Depp and has the make-up around his eyes and and on his lips, but his eyes could have been bigger and greener as that was a trademark of this character.

He is not a doll to be played with, but he is a very nice additon to any one's doll collection who likes Johnny Depp and Disney characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Just Like Johnny Depp!, September 14, 2012
By 
Ealswythe (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
What a great doll! So much detail and workmanship went into this beautiful 3D photo-like replica of the Mad Hatter! He is not to be played with! Only for avid collectors! Everything is perfect down to the last detail. He's worth every penny of the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars *****MAD HATTER MAD FAN*****, March 22, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
A TRULY SUPERB REPLICA OF JOHNNY DEPP'S MAD HATTER. NO DETAIL HAS BEEN OVERLOOKED.IF YOUR A MAD, MAD HATTER FAN,LIKE I AM THEN THIS DOLL IS FOR YOU. I CAN'T RECOMMEND IT ENOUGH.IT'S SIMPLY *FUTTERWACKEN* INCREDIBLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Hatter doll, December 24, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
This product was amazing it was shipped very fast. That item was better than its description. I was very pleased I ordered it for a gift for my daughter,but when it arrived I thought about keeping it for myself. I ended up giving it to my daughter for christmas. I would love to get another one for myself. This doll looks so real its an amazing product. I would recommend this to anyone who likes the Alice In Wonderland movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost a clone, April 28, 2010
By 
Rafael Zapata (Doral, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
Last day I received this figure and immediately the box was opened I was fulfilled. I can't deny in this case Mattel has made an excellent work designing this character costume, details such as , fabrics, colors turn great. What I most like is his head mold which is almost a clone of the image we saw in the film and posters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible likeness to johnny depp as the Mad Hatter!, August 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
I find it impossible to find decent looking male dolls but this is an absolute classic and a must have for any fan of Johnny Depp and his work in Alice in Wonderland. I just got mine today and I love him! He has very intricate details from his tiny buttons on his vest to his beautifully painted eyes to the colorful sewn design on his pant leg to his soft blue coat etc. I could go on and on. He is worth every penny I assure you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, August 8, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Tim Burton's Alice In Wonderland Mad Hatter Doll (Toy)
At first time I was a bit scared, because It was the first time I order something in Amazon, but when It finally arrived was great, the details are impressive, the quality is wonderful, and overall It is well characterized, It is bigger size as I expected, the only that I can criticize is that the hands are not fully detail, but the rest is wonderful. I really love this toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No