12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Set But Looks Nothing Like Doris Day, July 20, 2011
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
The "Pillow Talk" gift set consists of a Doris Day and Rock Hudson doll, encased in the clear plastic/cardboard box that all Barbie Pink and Black label releases have been packaged in the last few years.

The window features the "Pillow Talk" logo in pink and light blue, and there are black and white photos of Rock and Doris talking on the telephone inside the box behind the dolls. The back panel features alternate poses of them on the phone laying horizontal with a blurb about the movie.

The dolls themselves are ok but not necessarily the best likeness, although Rock looks much more like his living counterpart than Doris. Rock features the painted plastic hair like the Ken dolls of the late '60s and 1970s. He wears a white dress shirt with black tie under a black suit and dress shoes. The collar on mine is a little crooked and bunched up.

Doris sports a long white sleeveless evening gown with matching gloves and handbag. Her white pumps are barely visible and she has dangling emerald earrings and a brooch up by her left shoulder.

It's a nice set but Mattel has done much better and fans of Doris may be disappointed the doll looks nothing like her. I also wish the window featured their names underneath the logo. Still, I am happy to have this in my collection; it's just not one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP OF THE LINE!, February 29, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
I love Doris Day and watched her for years to enjoy her exquisite taste in clothes. My husband also watched anything that had Doris Day in it. I ordered this set for us both to enjoy because he is a big movie buff. It is so worth the money. Top of the line and I am very pleased to own it. A worthwhile addition for any Barbie collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cute, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
This set is for my sister that has always been a Rock Hudson fan. When she was a teenager, his pictures were all over her bedroom. It is a Christmas present for her and I am sure she will have a laugh over it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pillow Talk was my favorite movie, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
Although the dolls do not look like Rock Hudson and Doris Day, it is a wonderful souvenir for a Doris Day and Rock Hudson fan.
They had a special chemistry in Pillow Talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC FUN MEMORIES fROM HOLIDAYS andCHILDHOOD, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
My first DORIS DAY /ROCK HUDSON movie Pillow Talk saw thee movie with my cousins during THANKSGIVING HOLIDAYS 59or 60 I WAS about 10 yrs of age..
I bought these dolls for my niece Miss Tammy since she was born in 59 the year the movie was made..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I had to have them!!!!, January 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
I am a big fan of the movie Pillow Talk and I could tell by the clothes these two are wearing, they are Doris Day and Rock Hudson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Collector Set, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
Anyone who loved the movie and of course Doris Day and Rock Hudson will love having these dolls. I have the movie and having these dolls bring a lot of good memories back of my childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doris and Rock, December 23, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
What a fun way to preserve the wonderful
memories of Doris Day and Rock Hudson.
They made amazing contributions to the
baby boomer generation that we treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful set!, November 23, 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Pillow Talk: Doris Day And Rock Hudson Doll Gift Set (Toy)
I just saw this gift set at Walmart and I was shocked. I love the movie Pillow Talk and I couldn't believe there is Barbie set. The dolls are really beautiful and I love how the Doris Day doll looks exactly like her! Mattel did a great job. The Rock Hudson doll is a handsome replica but I think they nailed Doris' looks better. What a lovely set! This is going on my impractical wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No