18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Display Doll, Sad it's not playable., July 14, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
I was a huge fan of Farrah when I was a small child and always wanted a Farrah made by Mattel. I did have two versions of a Farrah doll made by a different company at the time and they featured accurate facial sculpts, rendered somehow rather hideous with nasty textured hair and on a body with funny stork thin shapeless legs. The same could be said of yet another doll of Farrah rendered in miniature. But I took what I could get.

So, I was very excited to hear Mattel was finally going to issue a Farrah doll. I have a small child of my own now and we play Barbies together. I was looking forward to a version I could play with along with my daughter, after all these DECADES! Unfortunately Farrah is frozen in her famous bathing suit poster pose. She is for display purposes only and that limits my enjoyment of her.

However, adult collectors will appreciate the excellent facial sculpting. Some pictures make it appear that the head is disproportionately huge in relation to the body but in person, this is not the case. The head IS a little bit large but Farrah did have a large strong square jaw in real life.

They did an excellent job capturing her eyes, the shape of her brows, the unique hook of her nose, and her cleft chin. My doll has some dark streaks in her hair as in the original poster. I have seen photos of very platinum hair, which is highly inaccurate representation of Farrah's hair at that time. So, buyer beware if you are a stickler for accuracy.

The suit is accurate. The blanket is spot-on accurate. Her graceful signature adorns the front of the plastic box.

If you are thinking of, as some people have suggested on some forums, of popping her head off and putting it on a poseable body, be aware her eyes gaze off to her right, not straight ahead. And I'm not sure how her head would fit on existing body molds that I'm familiar with.

I started rating this doll only 3 stars because it's not poseable, but I realized that was not fair. In no way is this doll advertised as poseable. They state quite clearly she is frozen in position. The quality and sculpting are superb. They captured her look very well. The hair is not the true "Farrah Cut" that we all know and love, but it is pretty, and mine is the accurate color, which was a pleasant surprise.

Oh one last complaint--the paint for her "lipstick" slightly bleeds over onto the teeth. She has "lipstick teeth". Its at the periphery and can be overlooked unless you are REALLY particular.

Summary:

Pros: Accurate Hair color
Accurate facial sculpt
Excellent copy of the look on the original poster.

Peeves: Not poseable
Haircut is not the real Farrah style, not even close
Lipstick teeth.

UPDATE: I ordered two additional dolls. One to be kept fully mint in box. Another as a backup in case I totally messed up the first one in my "experiment". I looked up information on removing present-day Barbie heads. I got a Fashionista spare head & upper body segment (they are part of the new line of Barbies that enable you to switch heads by simply pushing a button and detaching the head and part of the torso). I pulled the ordinary Barbie head off of the Fashionista neck and torso assembly. To do this, heat the head under hot tap water for a minute to soften the head. Pull the head off firmly and STRAIGHT OFF. Do not pull at an angle or you could strain the small plastic post that holds the head onto the body. After the head is off, take some nippers and clip off the "fish hook" appendages from the post. These really are not needed to secure the head onto the neck and were not part of Barbie neck assemblies when I was a kid. If you remove the fish-hook type extensions it's much easier to get the Farrah head onto it's new neck assembly.

Farrah's head is easy to pull off of her non-poseable body. I just pulled firmly and straight. I didn't even need to heat the head, therefore not risking ruining her hair.

I now have a fully poseable Farrah doll that my daughter and I can actually play with!

FYI: Barbie is going to be issuing a new line called Barbie Basics 2.5. I think this new line may even be a better match for the Farrah head than the Fashionista body I'm using now. The Basics 2.5 doll will have fully articulated arms, unlike current Basics dolls. It will have a more detailed neck area similar to the one on the Farrah doll body. So I'll probably be transplanting poor Farrah's head once again.

The reason I'm not completely content with the Fashionista body is that there is a seam that cuts across the breasts (where the torso can be separated from the body for quick head changes) and it looks unattractive with Farrah's red swim suit.

I hope this bit of news helps anyone else who would like a poseable version of Farrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Farrah Fawcett Barbie!!, July 7, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
This Farrah Fawcett Barbie is gorgeous! Mattel did a wonderful job capturing Farrah's famous swimsuit poster, her dazzling smile and combination of girl next door innocence and blonde bomshell looks. The Famous Farrah poster has sold 12 millon copies since it's debut in 1976. The largest selling pin up poster to date. The poster sent Farrah into superstardom just before she landed her role on Charlies Angels. The Farrah Barbie comes with her famous red swimsuit, gold chain, and blanket. Her hair is pre- styled with a few tiny rubber bands and strings to hold it in place.It will easily fall into a bigger feathered hair look by carefully removing a few bands. The only con I can find is the body of the doll was made permanently posed, the legs and arms have no movement. This will be a problem for some collectors who want to change her outfit etc.. I'm happy to display her in the box. The box has three pictures of Farrah from her famous photo shoot in 1976 and a small bio on the back. The photo session was taken outside at the home Farrah lived at with her husband at the time Lee Majors in July 1976. This is a black label Barbie for the adult collector. It's wonderful to have such a lovely tribute for one of my childhood heros. Part of the sell from these dolls will be donated to the Farrah Fawcett Foundation. I think any Farrah fan and Barbie collector will be happy to have her. Rest in peace sweet angel Farrah!!!

I have added a few pictures to see closer up detail of this lovely doll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Facially, the doll looks like Farrah...., October 8, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
Mattel should be ashamed. Their dolls never totally look like the promo photos they provide to promote their dolls. The Farrah Fawcett doll is lovely, except her hair which is curled in ringlets like a Shirley Temple doll. Farrah's hair didn't look like this is her famouse 1976 poster, which has sold 12 million copies worldwide! If Farrah were alive, she wouldn't like it either. Mattel's Joan Jett doll had horrible hair too, nothing like the published prototype photos. Farrah & Joan deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Farrah Fawcett, one of the most beautiful woman in the world!, October 28, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
Her hair is all wrong!! So bummed. I thing Farrah was one of the most beautiful women in the world. I just wanted something fun to remember her by since I was such a barbie fanatic as a child. I still love it. I'm taking it to my hair dresser to doll up her hair. RIP Farrah. so sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Collector, June 13, 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
I don't have much experience with Amazon, so when my good friend asked me to order something for her, (she doesn't own a computer), I was hesitant. She had browsed your site & found the Barbie she's been looking for, as she is an avid collector.
I must say, I had a great experience! The product got here quickly, on schedule, and was EXACTLY what I ordered! The doll is beautifully posed, in New condition, and the plastic case had minimal scratches. I could tell,great precautions were taken in the packaging of the doll as well! It wasn't just thrown in a box & shipped! My friend was thrilled! I most certainly will be back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farrah Barbie!, October 14, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
I bought this as a gift for my mom. She's a big Farrah fan and I have
to say, she loves it. I too was quite impressed on how much it looks
like Farrah and is really gorgeous. If you are a charlie angels fan or a Farrah fan,
you will love this barbie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Farrah Barbie Doll, September 11, 2011
By 
Lynda Takara (HONOLULU, HI, US) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
Buying it as a collector, love the looks of it. Farrah was one of my favorite actress, so I really wanted to get one. Glad I did, nice to look at, but not to play with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Farrah Fawcett Doll Rave :-), August 13, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
I was so excited when I'd heard Mattel was putting out a Farrah Fawcett Barbie. I just wish it had happened while Farrah was alive. It's wonderful that a portion of the proceeds goes to her namesake foundation, and bound to be come highly sought after! I am privileged enough as to have shared a birthday with Farrah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent edition for Farrah Fans, August 9, 2011
By 
TBo (the burbs of PA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
The first thing about the doll is that most of the marketing pics are of the prototype. The market doll is not that and the hair is REALLY bad. Let's face it the poster was about 3 things and one was Farrah's hair! Having said that you can take a bit of time to restyle and mold the hair. It is jelled into curls and these can be gently pulled apart and manipulated. Also use a light hairspray to hold. I have attached pics of what I was able to do with mine.

This is an excellent reminder / collectors item for those that were fans of Farrah's.

The body is molded and not flexible but since I see this as more a collectors item and a tribute to the poster - I don't see why that would be such an issue.

If you are a fan than you will want this reminder of a woman gone way too soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Strong a Likeness as Amazon's Pics Show, July 20, 2011
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Collector Farrah Fawcett Doll (Toy)
Mattel's Farrah Fawcett Barbie comes in the clear plastic box that has become the standard for most Black and Pink label releases.

The window has Farrah's disctinct signature "Farrah Fawcett" in a goldish yellow. The doll is seated on a bench in the same pose as Farrah's famous swimsuit poster with a large aztec blanket hanging behind her and over the bench.

The back panel has a blue background with a blurb about Farrah and the poster. An image of the poster with two alternate poses from the same photo session also appear.

The doll itself is an ok likeness but only slightly better than the Mego and Hasbro dolls of the '70s. Farrah's hair seems to be a combination of her classic '70s do and the heavier curls style she was sporting for most of the 2000s. It's not feathered or layered enough. Also, there is something a little off about the face paint. The pictures shown here, particularly the first one, capture Farrah's essence much better than the end product, so I don't know what went wrong.

A nice purchase for fans, but be warned it's not as good as the original pics show. I also hope proceeds go to the Farrah foundation and NOT Ryan O'Neal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No