13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be Aware, this is a Toy, Not a Musical Instrument... but the Kids Absolutely Love It!, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
We wanted to get our daughters a kid's guitar for Christmas so we did some research. It quickly became clear that pretty much every kid's guitar available in this price range has mediocre to terrible reviews. Without much to choose from, we gave this a try because it was on sale for $22 at the time. We bought two so that both of our girls, ages 3 and 6 could each have one (a.k.a. not fight over it).

On Christmas day they were very excited and both loved the guitars. They have played with them a lot since then and love "Rocking Out" with them. It is really cute to watch which makes it worth every penny. The guitar is easy for them to use and keeps them interested quite a bit.

As for the quality of the guitar, it is ok for a kids toy. It has a few different sounds and tunes that you activate with buttons on the neck of the guitar. My favorite is the applause button because it is great to see them wrap up and do their bows to the sound of applause. As for the actual function of the guitar, that is basically it. The "strings" don't do anything except make a light strumming sound. The sound does not go through the speaker. It is just the sound of wire strings vibrating. In other words, all the guitar playing really consists of is pushing buttons on the neck to play the prerecorded sounds. This is why I feel it can't be considered a musical instrument.

Overall, this isn't a great product. It is disappointing that the strings of the guitar really don't do anything, so you aren't actually playing a guitar. That being said, my girls absolutely love playing with them. So if you go into it knowing that you are getting a toy and not a musical instrument, you can be satisfied with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandchildren rock with Rock Star Guitar, August 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
I bought this guitar for my three-year old granddaughter. She absolutely loved and she and her two sisters (ages 6 and 9) give concerts together. It has been a great hit.

The only thing negative I can say is that three is too young. The six-year old immediately took over and helped the younger one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars noisy toy, October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
it is loud, does not turn off very well. volume controll is lacking. otherwise my grandaughter loves it., I just wish I could turn the volume down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wouldn't recommend, August 31, 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
My 6 year old daughter loves the guitar, but it is a cheaply made product. The end cap of the handle falls off easily. Also, to me, the operation of the guitar does not make sense. Guitars I am familiar with make sound when you strum the strings. This one makes the music when you press the buttons on the handle. There are wire strings but they make no sound. Seems like an awkward toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big letdown in spite of "bells and whistles", January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
My almost 4 yr old daughter wanted it for Christmas - because it was so pretty & she loves to pretend to sing. She and I were both disappointed with it & it has NOT been used as a toy since Christmas Day. The strings for strumming are only for show - flimsy wires with no sound. The sound comes from touching the frets (up the arm of the guitar). This of course doesn't make sense to a 4 yr old who sees on TV sound coming from a guitar that is connected to a motion with strumming. So she strums - and no sound. She doesn't understand the concept of frets, nor is it age-appropriate. Even if it was, I was disappointed that the pre-recorded sounds didn't allow me to play the frets on the right beat! So - for all the "bells and whistles"...it was sure a letdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbie Jam, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
My niece was very happy with this gift and could not put it down. I would recomend this for a child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A total hit, December 25, 2012
By 
C. Robinson (Utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
Bought this for Christmas for my 5 year old. She loves Barbie princess and the popstar.
This was the perfect guitar for her. Songs were fun, and it was easy to use. Not good for learning how to play a guitar, but I just wanted it for pretend play purposes and it is perfect.
Even her 2 year old and 7 year old brothers love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible....don't buy, January 3, 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
My daughter wanted a guitar from Santa and she got one HOWEVER the end was not made correctly and falls off every time she tries to "rock it out". I took it back to the store thinking this was was a defect and low and behold all of the guitars were made the same way. The end piece only has 3 prongs and it should have 4. Since it doesn't have 4 the end falls off easily!!! It's not worth paying $30 for a toy that breaks every time you touch it. VERY DISAPPOINTED in this because the features were exactly what we were looking for. Don't buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great toy for toddler, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
This toy is perfect for our toddler-aged daughter. I read many reviews before purchasing and am overall happy with this gift (for 3YO BD) considering the cost. It keeps her entertained and she happily "strums," sings and dances, putting on mini-performances for family and friends. Don't be mistaken. It is a toy, not a starter guitar. It is ridiculous for anyone to purchase this looking for a real musical instrument, and then review it negatively (which I found, shockingly) after they realize it doesn't have strings. Really? It's fun. It's Barbie-themed. It keeps a toddler busy and active. That's a winner in my book. Downsides: Consistent with other reviews, the head detaches easily. The shoulder strap detaches if there's no tension (but it stays on fine when the guitar is hanging on her and she's playing with it). We have not yet tested the MP3 jack but love that it's an option. No, there's no volume control, but again, it's a toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gift, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie Jam With Me Rock Star Guitar (Toy)
Awesome gift for my beautiful grandaughter, Looud But Hey that's OK! I think she really will enjoy it for a good while, it plays Barbie Girl..And has other awesome sounds too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No