63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie is back to simpler story lines - kind of mix of Rapunzel/swan lake, September 10, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
How wonderful this movie is out in New Zealand already! This was good on two levels, my 3 year old daughter was entranced by it, and it had a clear story line to follow. It reminded me a bit of Rapunzel and Swan Lake maybe it was the flying horse? But a strong heroine again - it also returned to the use of classical music which I enjoyed listening to in the background.

All Princess Annika wants to do is skate, but her parents don't approve. Even so she sneaks out and does it - only Wenlock, an evil wizard hears about her beauty and comes to find her to take her for his bride. She resists and to force her to marry him Wenlock enchants her family setting them in ice as statues along with all the villagers. Annika is saved by a winged horse (her sister Brietta under enchantment). She has three days to try to find the key to breaking the spell - or the people and her parents will stay as statues forever. Along the way she finds love (in the form of the penitent Aidan who has lost all his family's money) and she finds friends and allies - as well as breaking her sister's enchantment. It has some simple and nice messages in it as well - sisterly love, taking only what you need, empathy etc.

It is nice to see a return to simpler storylines - Fairytopia (the last Barbie movie) had a complicated storyline and seemed to be all about marketing as many dolls as possible. With two main characters and a winged horse (who is 'Barbie's' sister but has been under enchantment), the story was easier for the kids to follow along. the costumes were more reminiscent of classical fairytales as well. I guess I will be getting a bit of grief from my kids about buying them the toys to go with this. I don't know if I will or not - but at least other barbie dolls can be used in the fray - Anneliese and Erika could be dressed up - even rapunzel, or using Marzipan from Nutcracker if you have any of them

The animation on tis was very good I loved the way the hair moved during the ice skating scenes for instance so it seems to be getting better with each movie. There were good bright colours. the 3D is great too and the glasses that come with this are Barbie branded, however, just watch out, the littlies don't like keeping them on their noses and are more interested in experimenting with everything else in the house - 4 pairs don't last long. you can order more but it is an expensive kind of novelty - I think I appreicated it more than they did!

This is a good movie, but all I would ask is that Barbie goes back to all singing all dancing like in Princess and the Pauper, that was a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the Barbie movies, November 30, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
This is definitely the worst of the Barbie series. I was leery at first about any of them, but the first three (Nutcracker, Swan Lake and Rapunzel) were good. A bit sugary but nothing offensive in them. This one however ... The heroine sneaks out and deliberately disobeys her parents on several occasions, yells at them disrepectfully and is generally smartmouthed. The hero (Aidan) is just as bad. Even the animated looks they give sometimes, turns my stomach as a mom. I wouldn't recommend this movie to little girls ... especially if they like to repeat what they hear! Screen it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES! YOU DO HAVE THE OPTION OF TURNING OFF 3-D effects!, September 26, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
SUPER SUPER movie. My nieces love it! YES! YOU DO HAVE THE OPTION OF TURNING OFF 3-D effects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, terrible 3-D!!, November 15, 2005
By 
C. Cunningham "Cris Cunningham" (Long Island NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
As far as the acting is concerned, this is a terrific Barbie movie, one of the better ones by far, but the 3-D effects leave much to be desired. I was very disappointed when we donned our glasses, only to have a very blurry visual with terrible discoloration. Moreover, the glasses were far from comfortable, but then again, they were probably made for much smaller faces!

Nevertheless, I loved the storyline -- a beautiful princess who is not only courageous, but never gives up hope in her quest to save her parents and her kingdom from certain destruction. To succeed she must secure three rare objects (not tangible) within 36 hours. Hope" is the central theme in this movie -- that one should never give up on it, and should always expect succeed with even the "teeniest" amount of it no matter what circumstances come their way. It's a very positive message for young (and perhaps not so young) audiences.

Cris Cunningham for Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Movie Teaches a Lesson, December 10, 2005
By 
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
I have read many of the posted reviews about this movie and it seems as though people stop watching when she disobeys her parents. I definately agree that is not the correct way for a child to act, but after she does this, there are consequences. She has to go through a lot of things to fix the problem that she has created by not listening to her parents. I think it is a very good movie, (as they all have been so far) and I think it teaches a very valueable lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3-D Effects are O.K, October 11, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
I saw this movie for the second time today. I do agree with another reviewer, the 3-D ellements are poor. Bascically, the problem is the 3-D glasses. They are blue and red .making it had to see the picture, if only the people who made the Barbie movies just spent a few extra dollars ,and made the 3-D glasses clear. But as the storyline goes, this is a wonderful movie! For the first time ever, Barbie is a bit more independent. She starts to rely more on herself then other people. I love this Barbie movie and all the other ones too! Here is a complete list of all the Barbie movies in order of which they were made.

1.Barbie in the Nutcracker

2.Barbie as Rapunzel

3.Barbie of Swan Lake

4.Barbie as the Princess and the Pauper

5.Barbie Fairytopia

6.Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus

7.Barbie Fairytopia:Mermaidia (Spring 2006)

8.The Barbie Diaries (Spring 2006 This is a modern Barbie movie of when Barbie is a Sophmore in High School. Looks cool for older kids.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus, September 21, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
Good story line. Excellent graphics. Light violence during sword fight with griffin. Not just for girls my 8yr old son enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO evil red eyes, but has bad guy & griffin. But- 3D is well worth it, September 20, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
No evil red eyes. Yeah! The bad guy rides around on a flying griffin thing, but in the end it turned into a scruffy cat. There is a bald giant but he's kind of dumb, Barbie outwits him to escape. The bad guy's wives were troll like, but not nearly as nasty looking as the fungus from fairytopia. I hated Swan Lake for the scary stuff, but this one is not as bad. There is a slower pace or rather more transition time when the scarier parts are coming. No shocking upsets. My kids have time to react- to close their eyes. (no sudden-...star wars- when the sand people guy scares the pee out of you kind of stuff)

DVD's have 4 pairs of 3d glasses. The 3d is the best I've ever seen in my life. In the beginning, you choose the 2D or 3D viewing. The polar bear icon pops up to tell you to put them on, and again to take the off. There are 4-5 scenes that seem to last 3-5 minutes each? (we just got it-so that's a guess) My father was here to see the 3D. He used to go to the old movie theaters in the 50's for 3D's, and he could not believe how awesome this movie was.

Barbie's prince character (Aiden) is sort of a selfish jerk at first, but he lost his family's money in a poker game(flashback) and fled to the forest. He ditches Barbie with her -surpise, you have a sister, but she's a horse, spell broken...now human.- too early, to fight the bad guy by themselves. He comes to their rescue and says he shouldn't have left her. (sister just stands there while he digs her out from under the snow...)

The 3D is where 5 stars comes from. Without 3D, 4 stars. Realistic- if you have to talk to your child about an old family secret, gambling, courage, and more... it could be a very helpful tool.

Watch it with them the first time- if under age 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!!!, September 23, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
This film is completely enchanting! The graphics are incredible and the movement of the characters is very realistic. Kudos to the design team for coming up with a good story line. There's never a dull moment. My two year old daughter absolutely loves Barbie and I bought the DVD the day it came out in the US. The 3-D version of it was a little hard to watch, but that could just be because of eyesight problems and nothing to do with the film or 3-d glasses. I would highly recommend this movie for your children. It teaches about love, kindness, and understanding. My favorite part is when Annika apologizes to her parents, I think that bit is a great teaching tool for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, September 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
Well, I finally saw this movie on TV, and it was definitely better than Fairytopia, since that one was a huge disappointment. It still wasn't as good as Princess and the Pauper, which will probably forever be the best Barbie movie, but it wasn't bad.

Unlike the other Barbie movies, I thought this one felt the most like an action/adventure video game. Barbie keeps getting into sticky situations, like having to quest for a jewel, getting stuck in a giant's stew, and escaping from a collapsing dungeon. She uses her intellect and wit to escape from these situations, but even though it sounds like the storyline would be very choppy because of this, it actually seemed surprising fluid. That's because she goes on these quests to collect the pieces of one wand that she needs to save her family.

I actually could have done without the Pegasus aspect of the movie since it didn't make much sense that her sister was turned into a Pegasus as a teenager before Barbie's character was born, because then her sister would have to be in her 30s now, but I guess most people wouldn't think about that. The graphics were pretty well-done, and I would look forward to seeing this movie in 3D because I noticed several scenes would look nice in 3D.

Overall, it's a lovely movie with a very strong yet very feminine heroine (similar to the other Barbie movies), but I thought that some of the dialogue was very cheesy, and there were a few plotholes. It wasn't the best Barbie movie, but certainly not the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No