65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barbie is back to simpler story lines - kind of mix of Rapunzel/swan lake, September 10, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
How wonderful this movie is out in New Zealand already! This was good on two levels, my 3 year old daughter was entranced by it, and it had a clear story line to follow. It reminded me a bit of Rapunzel and Swan Lake maybe it was the flying horse? But a strong heroine again - it also returned to the use of classical music which I enjoyed listening to in the background.

All Princess Annika wants to do is skate, but her parents don't approve. Even so she sneaks out and does it - only Wenlock, an evil wizard hears about her beauty and comes to find her to take her for his bride. She resists and to force her to marry him Wenlock enchants her family setting them in ice as statues along with all the villagers. Annika is saved by a winged horse (her sister Brietta under enchantment). She has three days to try to find the key to breaking the spell - or the people and her parents will stay as statues forever. Along the way she finds love (in the form of the penitent Aidan who has lost all his family's money) and she finds friends and allies - as well as breaking her sister's enchantment. It has some simple and nice messages in it as well - sisterly love, taking only what you need, empathy etc.

It is nice to see a return to simpler storylines - Fairytopia (the last Barbie movie) had a complicated storyline and seemed to be all about marketing as many dolls as possible. With two main characters and a winged horse (who is 'Barbie's' sister but has been under enchantment), the story was easier for the kids to follow along. the costumes were more reminiscent of classical fairytales as well. I guess I will be getting a bit of grief from my kids about buying them the toys to go with this. I don't know if I will or not - but at least other barbie dolls can be used in the fray - Anneliese and Erika could be dressed up - even rapunzel, or using Marzipan from Nutcracker if you have any of them

The animation on tis was very good I loved the way the hair moved during the ice skating scenes for instance so it seems to be getting better with each movie. There were good bright colours. the 3D is great too and the glasses that come with this are Barbie branded, however, just watch out, the littlies don't like keeping them on their noses and are more interested in experimenting with everything else in the house - 4 pairs don't last long. you can order more but it is an expensive kind of novelty - I think I appreicated it more than they did!

This is a good movie, but all I would ask is that Barbie goes back to all singing all dancing like in Princess and the Pauper, that was a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the Barbie movies, November 30, 2005
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
This is definitely the worst of the Barbie series. I was leery at first about any of them, but the first three (Nutcracker, Swan Lake and Rapunzel) were good. A bit sugary but nothing offensive in them. This one however ... The heroine sneaks out and deliberately disobeys her parents on several occasions, yells at them disrepectfully and is generally smartmouthed. The hero (Aidan) is just as bad. Even the animated looks they give sometimes, turns my stomach as a mom. I wouldn't recommend this movie to little girls ... especially if they like to repeat what they hear! Screen it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES! YOU DO HAVE THE OPTION OF TURNING OFF 3-D effects!, September 26, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
SUPER SUPER movie. My nieces love it! YES! YOU DO HAVE THE OPTION OF TURNING OFF 3-D effects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, terrible 3-D!!, November 15, 2005
By 
C. Cunningham "Cris Cunningham" (Long Island NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
As far as the acting is concerned, this is a terrific Barbie movie, one of the better ones by far, but the 3-D effects leave much to be desired. I was very disappointed when we donned our glasses, only to have a very blurry visual with terrible discoloration. Moreover, the glasses were far from comfortable, but then again, they were probably made for much smaller faces!

Nevertheless, I loved the storyline -- a beautiful princess who is not only courageous, but never gives up hope in her quest to save her parents and her kingdom from certain destruction. To succeed she must secure three rare objects (not tangible) within 36 hours. Hope" is the central theme in this movie -- that one should never give up on it, and should always expect succeed with even the "teeniest" amount of it no matter what circumstances come their way. It's a very positive message for young (and perhaps not so young) audiences.

Cris Cunningham for Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Movie Teaches a Lesson, December 10, 2005
By 
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
I have read many of the posted reviews about this movie and it seems as though people stop watching when she disobeys her parents. I definately agree that is not the correct way for a child to act, but after she does this, there are consequences. She has to go through a lot of things to fix the problem that she has created by not listening to her parents. I think it is a very good movie, (as they all have been so far) and I think it teaches a very valueable lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on guys it's a really good movie!, April 12, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
I love barbie and i was saddened with all these past bad reviews. One person said that barbie looked like Paris Hilton. It's common for barbie to look like female celebraties that have blond hair. There was also a review that Annika was too snobby. She was acting like that to escape from the giant. And does saving your people and your family count as being a snob.No. There was also a review that Wenlock was scary and not comical. Come on he's funny to me. These reviews are just misunderstandings. And one more thing. BARBIE IS NOT WEAK. SHE"S BRAVE AND FEISTY! any way thats my opionion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Barbie Favorite!, January 21, 2006
By 
Smileypie (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
We enjoy watching all of the Barbie movies, and this one was enjoyable as well. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is due to the shameless marketing in this movie. It was a bit too much "buy this" embedded in the movie. The others were not as blatant, in my opinion. As a result, we HAD to buy the Pegasus head and the dolls. Besides the marketing, the movie was fun to watch. After 50 repeats of it since Christmas, I am not tired of it ....yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good movie/ decent adventure, December 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
This is not the greatest barbie movie but its not any worse or much different than "the little mermaid". Barbie disobeys her parents, gets in trouble with the local bad guy and her adventure begins to save herself and her friends and family. Its not one i can watch over and over again (not too entertaining for me) but its alright. The 3-d option is cool but a little too big of a concept for my daughter to understand (she's 3), but she loves the movie. She likes barbie, we own all the other movies and, really, she is thrilled with all of them. If your kid watches disney movies, then dont sweat this one. The story line is not much different. I think people just like to nit-pik whenever possible. Screen it first if you like though, and make your own decision if you think it may be a big deal:O)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget the MESSAGE!, November 25, 2008
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
First of all, if you're excited about the 3D effects, don't be. They're few and far between, and frankly, they're downright irritating. Put the 3D glasses back in the box, and put on a helmet, because the moral of the story will be pummeled into your head with Aidan's blacksmith hammer over the next hour or so.

Barbie as Princess Annika, voiced by Kelly Sheridan (as she should be!), seems to be an unlikely disciple of the "YES WE CAN NO MATTER WHAT!"philosophy. She sneaks out of the palace and gives her parents an attitude about being kept there all the time. She says it's not fair, they're ruining her life, et cetera... to be honest this is probably the most realistic Barbie character in any of the movies I've seen. When the quest gets going, she abruptly stops being a spoiled brat and becomes the Tony Robbins of children's video with a relentless touch of the Borg from Star Trek to give it that added annoyance factor. I think I preferred the brat to the unflinching, never ending MESSAGE.

Brietta, Barbie's sister turned into a flying horse, is the complete opposite and just as irritating. She wallows in self pity and even when she's been shown that things are not hopeless, she just mopes and whines. All the Barbie movies seem to be this way-- Polly Perfect must teach Negative Nancy some valuable life lessons. I'm sure it's done to make the movie easier for the kids to understand, but when the characters are so extreme, even the kids get tired of it. It would be nice to see two average characters with different strengths teaching each other for once.

Ken as Aidan is a bit of a darker character than the men in other Barbie movies, and I kind of like him. He gambled away his parents' money and now he's trying to set things right. If you have a problem with Ken playing poker, I think the important thing to remember is that he regrets what he did, and there were no positive consequences to it. It's also nice that they don't beat you over the head with it, but of course they were too busy doing that with the "CAN DO YAHOO!!!" stuff. If there had been text flashing on the screen that said "Here's the MESSAGE! Don't forget the MESSAGE!" it would have been less subtle.

Wenlock can be downright scary for kids at times, and the polygamy issue could have been avoided without hurting the story at all. I have to wonder if anyone making these movies stops to think about these things first. Even if a kid is familiar with Bible stories where polygamy plays an integral part, it's usually glossed over in children's versions. I don't want to be ambushed with something like this and have to explain it to a young child. These women could have been presented as badly treated servants without affecting the plot or bringing in the multiple marriage issue. Even more disturbing, after they're free, the wives are shown floating off into the sunset with Wenlock, implying that they are staying with an abuser, and that their forced marriages were permanent.

With no songs to temper the mood, and the only bright light at the cloud castle, the look and feel of the movie is very dark. The real comic relief comes at the end of the movie with the "outtakes" that play during the credits. Mattel (or whoever they pay to make these things) missed the mark on this one by going to too many extremes in too many areas. It's not a horrible movie, but it's made worse by the fact that it could have been really good had the various elements been handled properly. The producers would benefit from someone hammering "NO YOU CAN'T!" into THEIR heads a little and learning a lesson of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, December 27, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus (DVD)
Please vote on my review.Hi,I'm 'BARBIE LOVER'and I'm reviewing 'Barbie and the magic of Pegasus'.this movie is so cute!-SPOILER!- Barbie(annika)'s gone ice-skating again,and her parents are worried sick about her,so they forbid her to ice-skate, saying that ''It's for your own good''.But she goes out ice-skating anyway.But then Wenlock comes and asks her to marry him,and Annika says no,so Wenlock turns everybody(including Annika's parents)into frozen statues.so Annika flies to cloud kingdom with the Pegasus(winged horse)Brietta,and the polar bear cub,Shiver.It's very interesting -to me- to see breitta's past,when she was a human.Annika meets Rayla the Cloud Queen,who tells her to make a wand of light to defeat Wenlock.She goes to a variety of places like the Forbidden Forest,an ice cavern and finally Wenlock's Palace,where she defeats the bad guy and marries handsome young man(which,btw is Aiden in this movie) happy ending like every barbie movie has been.Pretty nice pegasuses in the movie,I love the Kelly cloud princesses! 3d ok,I like the 2d version a little better -there is an option of 2d or 3d before you play the movie-,but there is this scene in the movie when Aidan is battaling a griffin,that was scary and sad when the griffin pushed aidan over the cliff :0 .But it was cool when Annika made the wand of light break the spell over Breitta and when she went ice-skating and found shiver,that was cool too.This movie has sad and scary parts,but also pretty and beautiful scenes too. I sooo love this princess fantasy movie! Great Movie! 'BARBIE LOVER' Ps I got the Barbie magic of pegasus PC game and its great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No