63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So close, yet so far..., October 14, 2003
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
I REALLY wanted to love this CD. I was looking for a complete Princess collection for the car. We already have (and love!) the Disney Classics 5 CD collection, and I get very tired of switching between all those CDs to find "princess songs" (it's VERY hard to remember which song is on which color CD!!). The trouble with this CD is that is just doesn't have enough songs. My daughter includes in the category "Princess Songs" the songs that aren't actually sung by the princess herself, but are in the movie (like Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo, The Work Song; Under the Sea, Kiss the Girl, Heigh-Ho, Be Our Guest, Belle, etc.) - she loves them all! I was expecting a long CD with 20 to 25 songs (like the Disney Classics), but this CD only has 12, which isn't enough for my family. The included songs (with the exception of "Home" from the B&B Broadway show) are the same gorgeous versions you already love, but if you're looking for complete group of Princess Songs on one CD, this probably isn't the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are never too old..., December 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
I will be 16 in 3 months although that may not sound like old to most people, a lot of people consider it too old to listen to Disney songs. Not true! If you love the songs from the Disney movies, this is the perfect CD. My friends and I love this CD; I gave it to one of my friends as a gift and it is always in her CD player. The songs are great and all are classics. They start out with songs from the more recent Disney releases and the latter half is full of great oldies. (I have been looking for ever for the Sleepy Beauty songs.) This is just a fun CD to listen to; it always puts me in a better mood when I listen to it. A must-have for every Disney fan! I can't wait to get my hands on Princess Collection II!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic musical moments from Disney, June 17, 2003
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
This beautiful album showcases the Disney princesses; Ariel, Belle, Snow White, Jasmine, Aurora, Cinderella and Pocahontas, with songs from the soundtracks of the classic Disney films in which they appear. This disc is a must-own for all Disney fans.
There are selections from POCAHONTAS ("Colors of the Wind" and "Just Around the Riverbend", sung by Judy Kuhn); ALADDIN ("A Whole New World" sung by Brad Kane and Lea Salonga); BEAUTY AND THE BEAST ("Something There" sung by David Ogden Stiers, Jerry Orbach, Robby Benson, Angela Lansbury and Paige O'Hara); SNOW WHITE AND THE SEVEN DWARFS ("Some Day My Prince Will Come" and "I'm Wishing/One Song" (sung by Adriana Caselotti and Harry Stockwell); CINDERELLA ("So This is Love" and "A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes" sung by Ilene Woods and Mike Douglas); and SLEEPING BEAUTY ("Once Upon a Dream" sung by Mary Costa and Bill Shirley).
Added for good measure is "Home", taken from the Broadway score of BEAUTY AND THE BEAST, sung by the original Broadway Belle, Susan Egan.
I love listening to this magical CD, which is, as the cover-blurb promises, the music of 'hopes, dreams and happy endings'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney song birds from Snow White to Pocahontas, January 13, 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
"The Lion King," a Disney animated male-oriented film, might have made the most money for the studio, but we all know it is the women who got the best songs to sing. That point is more than amply proven by this collection of a dozen songs by Disney's "Princesses." I suppose the title makes sense in terms of Princess Ariel from "The Little Mermaid," Princess Aurora from "Sleeping Beauty" and even Pocahontas in terms of birth, and can be applied to Cinderella, Snow White, and Belle by virtue of marriage, but even without the dictates of political correctness I wince a little at the idea that Disney heroines need to be princesses. Still, just because the Mickey Mouse marketing department got heavy handed with the packaging is no reason to ignore this collection of classic Disney songs song by the original artists (beware: there are several Disney collections where this is not the case). From Adriana Caselotti warbling "Some Day My Prince Will Come" from "Snow White" to Judy Kuhn singing "Colors of the Wind" for "Pocahontas," I think you will find most of the songs you would want to hear in a collection like this one while ultimately makes you think more of romance than of royalty. Besides, never pass up an opportunity to hear Lea Salonga sing. "Disney's Princess Collection" is a first-rate collection to add to your music library and having this is a lot easier than having to fast-forward to your favorite songs on your Disney videotapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Princess CD, March 30, 2007
By 
Holly (California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
I want to start off by saying that if you're looking to buy only one Disney Princess CD, this is the one to get. This CD contains 12 tracks featuring 7 princesses (at the time that this CD was made, Mulan did not yet exist, in fact, the Disney Princess line itself did not exist). Unlike many other Disney Princess CDs, this one contains a *complete* collection of princess songs. That means that all the songs that any Princess actually sings is on this CD. No, not every song from every Princess movie is on here, but I wouldn't expect them to be, nor do I think that they'd even fit onto this CD. Something that's nice about this CD compared to some of the other Disney Princess CDs is that there is no subversive advertising. That means no mediocre songs from Cinderella V or the Little Mermaid X are on it. There aren't even any songs sung by non-Princesses, all the songs that are sung partly by others are at least partially sung by a Princess as well. One of the most interesting things about the album, in my opinion, is that it contains 'Home' by Susan Egan as Belle. In Beauty and the Beast, Belle has no large solo songs of her own, so they included this track from the original 1994 cast recording of the Beauty and the Beast Broadway musical. This addition makes the CD more interesting and does not at all detract from the quality of the CD.

Again, if you are looking to buy only one Disney Princess CD or just find the best one, I would encourage you to buy this one. The selection of songs is complete and there isn't any annoying, mediocre album filler. I highly recommend this Disney Princess CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Princesses!, June 2, 2003
By 
Alice (Indianapolis, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
As one reviewer said, you're never to old to enjoy the Disney classics! I'm 18, just graduated high school, and just went out and purchased this CD a couple days ago. It's beautiful, gorgeous, and brings back memories! I was singing along with it while in the car and while doing housework--it's a great collection that anyone can enjoy, especially those of us who are kids at heart. The only thing I wish is that there were a couple more songs present, which detracts 2 songs, but overall, it's gorgeous! Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, March 31, 2004
By 
Steph (Rockford, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
I'm Also 18 and about to graduate HS and this is still one of my favorite cds! I actually bought this cd about 3 years ago (a different cover-same cd) and LOVED IT! I didn't give "Home" a chance at first but one day I listened to it and it is probably one of my all time favorite songs! I love broadway and I sing and its a very challenging song to sing! Susan Egan has a gorgeous voice! And none more gorgeous than Jodi Benson (Ariel!). My point is this is a great cd, don't ignore it becuase you don't know all the songs...you'll grow to love them as much as the favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First half- Great! Second half- Poor quality!, April 9, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
I have the cassette version of the collection. The first half is great. It features many of the beautiful high-quality recorded recent releases. However, the songs from the second half (the ones I enjoyed as a child) have not been rerecorded and I'm disappointed in the sound quality. To me it sounds as if it was recorded directly from the T.V. (Notice you aren't allowed to sample any of the second half.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter adores the Princess Collection, November 4, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Disney's Princess Collection: The Music of Hopes, Dreams and Happy Endings (Audio CD)
The Disney Princess Collection is perfect for any little girl who has a favorite Disney princess character. My daughter has seen just about all of the Disney movies and has a favorite character from each one. The music from these movies is really lovely. My daughter dances around to the music and pretends she is a princess from one of the movies. I often hear her singing the music to herself while she's playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HOPELESS ROMANTIC'S DREAM COME TRUE!, February 9, 2001
MAGICAL: I must say every song is absolutely lovely and extremely romantic--amazing music and even more amazing voices! Please listen to some of the sample tracks above and you'll see what I mean! Everyone who has a "romantic bone" in their body should own this music! And if you are a classic Disney princess fan, this is a must-own!
FUN: It is great to dance to. I carry my young daughter and dance to the music with her and we both cuddle, laugh and pretend the other is "our handsome prince." Then Daddy comes home so we are happy!
BUY: this today! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No