57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie for Little Girls, March 8, 2005
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
This is a nice movie for little girls. My four year old absolutely loves it. Of course it has Barbie and fairies so it was an instant hit. As any mom who has to watch movies over and over again I appreciate quality in children's movies and look for movies my daughter will love and I will not go crazy watching reapeatedly. My daughter truly enjoys the movie. It was a let down for me.

The movie is 70 minutes long (compared to 78 min for Nutcracker, 83 min for Rapunzel, 83 min for Swan Lake, and 85 min for Princess and the Pauper) and seems to be meant as a set-up for a series of Fairytopia movies and to sell fairytopia dolls. (if you see the feature in called Meet New Friends, or something along those lines, it shows many of the products related to the line, which is one the most shameless promotions I've seen for the series. No inspirational true life stories of girls achieving their goals or anything of the sort in this one, unlike some of the previous movies which did include some nice extras).

The movie introduces a lot of characters that are not at all developed and has a very flimsy story. I guess that is why I am not giving it 5 stars. I've seen what Barbie movies can be, and this one was not the best. The previous four Barbie movies based on classic stories are wonderful. I can watch them with my daughter every time and do not get tired of them. They are extremely well developed for this kind of movie. They used well known voice talents that brought a certain credibility to the movies which I had not expected when I first saw them advertised. This one is not in the same level as the previous four. It is sort of like the difference between Disney's Aladdin and the two sequels. The sequels were not bad, but they just were not as well produced as the first one. While the first four Barbie movies were almost flawless within their category of little girl movies, and actually raised the bar in quality animation and storytelling within said category, Barbie Fairytopia is just one more movie for your child's collection. Not really one to stand out.

After all is taken into consideration, Barbie Fairytopia is a cute movie with a nice message. Little kids will more than likely want to see it again and again. Little girls will probably want to dress up as Barbie - Elina for Halloween this year and want Fairytopia birthday parties. It is deffinitely not a waste of money. It is just not as good as the previous Barbie movies.

I just hope that Barbie's next movie, Barbie and the Magic of Pegassus (scheduled for fall 2005 release), is more like the kind of movie we have come to expect from the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!!, March 10, 2006
By 
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
I got this as a gift for a special little girl, but she already had one so I kept it. My son loves it. He watches it and laughs at Bibble. The cartoon is about Barbie saving Fairytopia. She is the only fairy in the place who doesn't have wings. The town gets into trouble and Barbie takes action. She saves the day of course and in the end she gets her wings. This movie is great for kids and for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Contrary to Someone Else's Review - this is the Worst Yet!, April 26, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
Someone who said this was a good movie because it was 'original' and the others were bad since they were loosely based on fairy tales sounded to me like a literature fan. And those fans are upset at how Barbie altered the plots of the movies.

I have one message for you. Moviemakers take a story, and they are NOT supposed to produce an exact movie clone of it. It's been done too many times before. How boring the movie world would be then!

The other Barbie movies I gave ratings of no lower than four stars. But this trash - one star!

Animation - It sucks. Big time. They look like they came out of the animation lab incomplete. The other Barbie movies are much better, and more realistic.

Character Development - None. From the beginning of story, the characters are either labelled as caring or wicked. Nothing else. Plus, Barbie, or Elina and Bibble REALLY irritated me with fake sweetness and innocence this time, and Barbie's never done that before. In fact, I wished the wicked fairy had more screen time than her!

Plot - Very predictable. The other movies always surprised me with unique plots - in the good way. Elina is a wingless fairy who must save her fairy world and earn her wings, and the bla...bla...bla... Not very original either. We've all seen this before. Plus, it's not smoothly flowing like in the other movies. Someone is an outsider, and must prove her worth to everyone, by saving the day - if you want to see this plot, watch Balto instead! It at least has a plot that makes sense.

What really irritates me about this plot is the fact that the queen or some ruler is kidnapped at the very beginning of the movie. That is NOT right. This is why there's no character development in the movie - the kidnapping does not allow time for that, so the characters are just labelled with traits and are forced to stick with them. The characters should at least be allowed some character development before the conflict begins!

Conflict - An outsider who is wingless must save Fairytopia from evil and earn their trust and her wings. Unoriginal. Period.

Humour - None.

Colour - Too bright to be as realistic as even traditional animation! Bad move, Mattel!

Overall - Bad movie with a good message. But it takes more than just a good message to make a good movie.

My sister, brother and I all got up in the first half of this movie, and turned it off. That's the first time we've ever done that with a Barbie movie.

My rating - 0.5 stars.

My sister's - 0 stars.

My brother's - 1 star.

I'm sorry I have to give this movie one star. I'd REALLY like it to be 0.5.

If you enjoyed the other Barbie movies as much as I did, avoid this one. Your kids will hate it, and so will you. You would've wasted money on this piece of junk.

It seem that when Mattel switched from traditional tales as base for a movie to original stories, they made a BIG BAD MOVE.

Mattel, your next movie had better be better than this one, or I'm pulling the plug on Barbie permanently. I'll always treasure the other Barbie movies, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Barbie Story, December 4, 2005
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
Both my daughter and son like this movie, and sit through it over and over. The animation is exceptional, the story is engaging (with no real scary scenes - even the henchman can be made laughable as to ward off any fears), and the characters are lovable. It is a well-told, benign story that can be watched, by child and adult, over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was good, April 25, 2005
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
It was good. It had an actually story, that someone sat down and wrote. I wasn't this remake of a fairytale. The other Barbie movies are hot too, don't get me wrong, I love them. This movie is different and unexpected. I expected to see another movie in the same style of the previous four. This movie doesn't have an intro that starts with a conversation between Kelly and Barbie. I don't know if I would have watched it if it had not been a Barbie movie, but then maybe it would have been better, but it was a pleasant movie to watch. They should have given you more background on Elina and Bibble and the whole gang. The movie should have been longer. The graphics were good, but what about Barbie's traditional romance. Any romance in this movie was very short. Just expected to get a good nice movie to watch. The characters were sweet, and Laverna's evilness makes it less of a fluff movie, and more of an interesting, exciting movie. You do get a preview to the next movie-Barbie & the Magic of Pegasus. Sounds hot. It was still a very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fungi? Yep- Ugly creepy guys. But no red eyes., March 9, 2005
My 5 year old liked it, but it's NO CLASSIC. There are ugly wart nosed guards(Big ears & noses), and bad birds that chase the good guys. The story requires the Barbie/wingless fairy to travel- to save Fairytopia. Because the bad lady has released a sickness gas out in the air that makes all the winged fairies ill. SHE is used to walking ( thanks Barbie people for making me actually think about fairies having muscle atrophy) so because the others aren't "used to it" -Barbie walks to get help. The "guardian" fairies are all kidnapped by the fungus guys and brought to the bad lady lair. She is trying to steal the power in their necklaces. There are creepy forests, but it's not too bad.

The colors are great, and there is a concept of "...the friends you haven't met yet." ( AWESOME)It teaches some anti-bully concepts and would be great for pre-kindergarten kids.

The boy mermaid (merman?) helps Barbie escape the stupid birds, you can tell he likes her-but there is no ending for that romance- expect more movies.

I hope she doesn't have bad dreams like she did with the red eyed villian in Swan Lake. I don't think our younger child will even want to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairyfabulous!, November 20, 2005
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
I read most of the reviews of this movie before I requested a friend purchase it for my now seven-year-old daughter for her birthday. I was skeptical about buying it, but am so glad we gave it a chance!

We received the DVD which includes the movie, movie scene selection, and other features including a couple of games: Boogie with Bibble, a game that allows you to watch Bibble dance to three different types of music; a simple matching game called Pixie Hide-and-Seek, and a feature called Fairy Friends, which is a short list describing minimal information about all of Elina's fairy friends. The games are suitable for children as young as the age of four. Older, computer-savvy children may find the games less challenging.

The movie lasts 70 minutes, yet the story, in my opinion, is a simple one. As a parent of four children ranging in age from 6 months to seven years, I think the movie best suits children between the ages of four and seven. Some eight or nine year-olds may become bored with the movie, unless they are die-hard Barbie fans! Then again, my daughter really likes science fiction, so I suspect she would enjoy it were she older. My four-year-old son even LOVED the movie, and laughed continuously at Barbie's furry sidekick, Bibble, despite the fact that he doesn't particularly like dolls. So, I think the movie is a cute, fantasy animation for children, and would recommend it.

A couple of other reviewers did not like the fairies teasing Elina in the beginning of the movie. Elina was teased for being a fairy without wings! In my opinion, this small clip painted a portrait of a girl who didn't fit in, but despite being picked on and teased occasionally, overcame that ridicule. I think the movie teaches a great lesson by illustrating this point. Elina was different, she looked differently, she couldn't fly like other fairies but instead had to walk to get around. Yet, she still had many wonderful qualities, and she still had loyal friends. Not only did she have true friends, but she made new friends along her journey. One of the key points reiterated throughout the film was in regard to the fact that Elina's journey involved "helping" friends she had never met. I found this subtle statement to be a very educational one. Sometimes the actions we take today will affect others tomorrow...including others we have not yet met. I took this example and ran with it, explaining cause and effect to my daughter. We also talked about self-confidence, courage, and consequence after watching this movie.

Do I think the movie was a marketing ploy for Barbie, as so many others have suggested? Perhaps, but what movie isn't? I don't think it would be fair to pigeon-hole Fairytopia as a marketing strategy when so many other movies do the exact same thing! I think the marketing is insignificant because parents are primarily responsible for purchasing toys for their children. If you don't want to buy the entire Fairytopia set, related Barbie dolls, furry Bibble doll, and flying Hue that is available, then don't! Don't blame Mattel for making these items available to Barbie fans and patrons.

All in all, I do think the storyline was a bit weak (it could have been more detailed regarding Elina's fairy gifts, like her rainbow-flecked eyes), but it was enjoyable for my children to watch. I thought the graphics were very good. I am looking forward to the next Fairytopia movie, and hope it not only expands on the first movie's storyline, but also hope it goes into more detail about some of each character's gifts. I found Fairytopia to be a different movie because it fit more into a sci-fi genre than other Barbie movies, like the Princess and the Pauper. Most Barbie movies revolve around a Princess, romance, or musical theme, this one did not. Instead of finding her soul-mate, Barbie obtained wings. I am giving the movie FIVE stars for NOT focusing on romance. So many little girls are inundated with romantic movie themes...I found this movie to be refreshing.

Fairytopia, like other Barbie movies, has the potential to teach children important character traits...given that parents use the movie to encourage discussion about these relevant traits. Some of the character traits one could discuss after watching this movie include: responsibility, courage, perseverence, respect, and caring, among others.

I would absolutely recommend this movie as a gift for children who enjoy fantasy stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good for under 5 year olds, they lose the story quickly, more product oriented, October 4, 2005
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
I was a bit frustrated by this movie. It seemed to be mostly product oriented - lots of fairys to buy, lots of flowers to buy, lots and lots of add-ons to buy - but not much of a story. It gets 2 stars for a story, but 3 stars for imagination and animation which I thought was pretty good.

I think this movie is better suited to older kids. It is actually quite confusing - Elina (Barbie) is a fairy without wings and teased mercilessly by the other fairies for it. She lives in a flower in a meadow with other fairies and her (annoying) side-kick bibble. Bibble never says anything, he just bibbles and babbles incoherently. I must say I prefer side-kicks like Penelope in Rapunzel, or the unicorn in Swan Lake who actually add to the story.

Anyway, evil comes to the meadow and it is up to Elina to fix it, she sets off with her friend, but all flying things are suffering from the fug over the meadow and she soon turns back. It is up to Elina alone.

The adventure takes her all over the place and finally she solves the puzzle and her strength and friendship overcomes all.

The things I really disliked about this movie - the teasing at the start from the other fairies, it was mean - and I know it is all fictional but I just hated seeing it, it just seemed wrong. The story was too disjointed, I think, Elina just seemed to go on endless voyaging rather than coherent story development (which was so good in Princess and Pauper and Swan Lake)

The things I liked were the colours and animation (except when elina walked, that is, everything but Elina walking which looked all wrong to me). Again, I really liked the fact that Elina manages to solve things on her own. She is able and ready and while not completely brave she is prepared to try what she has to.

This may be better for older girls but it is completely lost on my young ones, and I am quite grateful - buying all the associated toys would be a nightmare!

To the makers of these movies, please do another musical -Princess and the pauper is our all time favourite - great songs, great animation, great message and great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the kids like it, but it's not something I can sit through, June 17, 2009
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
My parents sent my two daughters (3 and 2) Fairytopia and they seem to really enjoy it. It has fairies, Barbie, and bright colors. However, those three things alone don't make a good movie. As an adult watching, I was disappointed. The animation is lacking as well as the script, character voices, and overall sincerity of the movie. I do like the messages sent throughout the movie, but it's still unbearable to sit through. We have Swan Lake as well and hope it's better than this one. I'd skip buying this one unless you enjoy collecting Barbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello!!!?Over Here!!!!, October 10, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Barbie Fairytopia (DVD)
Well,this is the best fairykind movie I'd ever saw!!! The graphic are good,the story is attractive,and the characters are pretty too!Elina,the main character of the movie,has to save the whole Fairytopia from the evil fairy,Laverna.In the movie,Elina went to different places,and met different fairy friends.One of her friends are Azura.She's a guardian fairy.She's my favorite character in the whole movie!!Oh!And,Elina is a fairy without wings.In the story,you can figure out how she got her wings!!!Hope this helped!!!!Bye!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No